Skip to main content
U
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 5 yrs on market

Upper Route Planner

AI dispatch and route planning software for delivery and field-service teams

By Upper · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Multi-driver delivery and field-service teams that need fast multi-stop route optimization and one-click dispatch
  • Operations that have outgrown Google Maps but are not ready for $50,000+ enterprise routing suites
  • Teams that want route planning, live driver tracking, proof of delivery and customer notifications in one tool
  • Owner-operators driving their own route (Upper Solo)

Ideal size: 3–50 people · Growing delivery or field-service operation running daily multi-stop routes

Not for

  • Businesses with no recurring multi-stop routing or delivery need
  • Enterprises needing deep ERP, WMS or TMS integration without buying the Enterprise plan
  • Organizations requiring on-premise deployment or FedRAMP-level certifications
  • Teams wanting an all-in-one field service CRM plus billing, not just routing and dispatch

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Same day to 7 days (free trial)

~7 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$8,640/yr

Starts at $480 · Per user, per month, billed monthly or annually (20% annual discount). 7-day free trial. The vendor states there are no setup, hidden or cancellation fees.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No fixed seat cap or minimum seat count. Driver profiles: 10 (Starter), 15 (Professional), 30 (Optimize), unlimited (Enterprise). Up to 5 users free during the trial.

Add-on costs

  • Customer SMS notifications from $0.01 per text
  • Live tracking for customers: $20 per driver
  • Capacity optimization: $25 per driver
  • Barcode scanning: $50 per company
  • In-app turn-by-turn navigation: contact sales

Company & support

Who is behind Upper Route Planner, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPaid plans
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Enterprise plan includes SLAs (terms set with sales).

Self-serve help centre is listed across plans and is available 24/7. Email support appears from the Starter plan; live chat is listed on the Optimize plan. Dedicated success manager, custom onboarding and SLAs are Enterprise-only.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Upper Route Planner sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Implementation friction × Verified buyer score

1.0/51.4/52.0/52.3/52.6/54.7/54.4/54.1/54.0/53.8/5Friction ← betterBuyer score better →Loved & EasyLoved & HeavyRisky & EasyRisky & HeavyUpper Route PlannerRetoolSupabaseTalentLMSRoutificDocusign

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Upper Route Planner is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Upper Route Planner
  • Retool
  • Supabase
  • TalentLMS
  • Routific
  • Docusign
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Upper Route Planner. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Upper Route Planner ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Agentic workflows

Upper's AI Dispatcher recommends stop-to-driver assignments using skills, equipment, capacity and travel, with reasoning and a confidence score. Autopilot auto-accepts routine matches under configured rules; critical or uncertain matches go to dispatchers. Agent activity can be reviewed and paused. The vendor does not disclose its model provider or a BYO-key option.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Basic visibility

Industry verdicts

How Upper Route Planner speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Logistics & Field ServicesMove more, dispatch faster, idle less.

Best for in Logistics & Field Services

  • Multi-stop last-mile delivery and distribution fleets
  • Medical courier and time-window-sensitive delivery runs
  • Dispatch teams that must balance driver skills, vehicle capacity and working hours
  • Operations needing live tracking, geofenced customer notifications and proof of delivery

Not for

  • Long-haul truckload and freight brokerage planning
  • Businesses needing out-of-the-box WMS/ERP integration (API is Enterprise-only)

Upper's core market. The vendor says it serves 650+ operations across waste, medical courier, distribution, catering and field service, and the pricing page adds territory management, avoidance zones, multi-driver load balancing and vehicle profiles. Route Planner covers multi-driver teams while Solo targets owner-operators. The main gating factors are per-route stop caps (250 to 3,000+) and API, webhooks and custom integrations being Enterprise-only.

HealthcareMore patients, less paperwork.

Best for in Healthcare

  • Medical courier and specimen or equipment delivery with strict time windows
  • Field visits that need geotagged photo and signature proof of delivery
  • Teams tracking driver hours and route compliance

Not for

  • Clinical scheduling, EHR or patient record workflows
  • Organizations needing a signed BAA and an explicit HIPAA claim before handling PHI

The vendor names medical courier among its served segments and ships time windows, geofenced 'you are next' notifications, geotagged delivery verification, driver hours tracking and route compliance features that suit specimen and equipment courier runs. However, Upper publishes no HIPAA statement or BAA information, so any PHI-handling workflow should be validated with the vendor before adoption.

Hospitality & TravelFill rooms, keep guests coming back.

Best for in Hospitality & Travel

  • Catering and prepared-food delivery fleets with recurring stops
  • Hospitality operators running their own drivers and wanting customer SMS/email updates
  • Event and multi-day delivery runs grouped into regional routes

Not for

  • Restaurant POS, ordering or table management
  • On-demand gig dispatch marketplaces

Catering is listed as one of Upper's customer segments. Recurring routes, customer time windows, branded SMS and email notifications, proof of delivery and multi-day route grouping fit catered and prepared-food delivery well. Upper is routing and dispatch software only, with no POS, ordering or kitchen workflow, and customer SMS is metered per text as a paid add-on, so notification volume should be modelled before committing.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Upper is route planning and AI dispatch software for delivery and field-service operations. Teams import stops from a spreadsheet, optimize multi-stop routes, dispatch to iOS/Android driver apps, track drivers live and capture proof of delivery. An AI Dispatcher recommends assignments with confidence scores and can auto-accept routine work under your rules. Paid plans run $40–$71 per user/month billed annually, with a 7-day free trial and no setup fees.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Upper cost per year?

Upper is priced per user per month: Starter $40, Professional $48 and Optimize $71 when billed annually (20% off monthly rates of $50/$60/$89). Enterprise is custom. For a 15-user Professional team that is roughly $8,640 per year before add-ons such as SMS notifications, customer live tracking, capacity optimization and barcode scanning.

How long does it take to get to first value?

There is a 7-day free trial with no credit card required, covering all Professional-plan features except customer SMS notifications. Stops and team details are imported from a spreadsheet, so most teams are planning and dispatching real routes within days rather than weeks. The vendor states there are no setup fees and no implementation project.

Does Upper automate dispatch decisions with AI?

Yes. The AI Dispatcher recommends which person should handle each stop, considering skills, equipment, workload, working hours and travel, and shows a reasoning explanation and confidence score. Autopilot can accept routine matches that meet criteria you configure, while critical conflicts and uncertain matches are routed back to your dispatchers for a manual call.

What integrations and API access are available?

Native and connector integrations shown by the vendor include Shopify, WooCommerce, GrazeCart, Monday.com and a Zapier connector that reaches 3,000+ apps such as Salesforce, HubSpot and QuickBooks. API access, webhooks and custom integrations are listed under the Enterprise plan only, so mid-market buyers should confirm their integration needs before choosing a lower tier.

What support is included in each plan?

A self-serve help centre is listed across plans and the vendor advertises 24/7 customer support. Email support appears from Starter, live chat on the Optimize plan, priority support on Professional, and a dedicated success manager, custom onboarding and SLAs on Enterprise. Larger rollouts should budget for the Enterprise tier to get a named contact.

Is Upper suitable for regulated or compliance-sensitive deliveries?

Upper publishes no SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or FedRAMP claims on the pages reviewed, so it should not be selected on the strength of compliance certifications. It does provide operational controls such as geotagged proof of delivery, driver permissions, live location and breadcrumbs, and route compliance rules, which help with auditability of delivery activity.