ClassLink
Identity and access management, secure SSO, rostering and learning analytics for K-12 schools
By ClassLink · HQ Clifton, US · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- K-12 districts standardizing single sign-on for students and staff across thousands of apps
- IT teams that need automated rostering and account provisioning driven by the student information system
- Schools with heavy student-privacy obligations that must publish approved third-party vendor lists
- Districts that want visibility into edtech usage, equitable access and technology ROI
Ideal size: District IT team of 2-20 people · K-12 district or higher-ed institution with a managed SIS and central IT
Not for
- Organizations outside education; the product, integrations and commercial model are built for schools
- Buyers who want transparent self-serve pricing and instant online signup
- Teams looking for a general workforce IAM or developer-first identity platform
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 2-6 weeks
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Quote-based annual subscription scoped per school system or district; no pricing is published on the vendor site
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; scoped per district or institution rather than per seat
Add-on costs
- Analytics+ (extends usage analytics to school-owned devices)
- DataGuard (protects PII when sharing data with third-party vendors)
- ThreatScan
- AppTrack
- QuickCards
- OneData
Company & support
Who is behind ClassLink, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 1998 · 28 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Clifton, US
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Vendor states current customers can talk directly with a ClassLink team member 24/7 and points technical support to help.classlink.com; helpdesk email and phone extension are published on the status page. No plan-tier detail is given.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where ClassLink sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- ClassLink
- Coursedog
- Kangarootime
- Skyward
- Lillio
- Jenzabar
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including ClassLink. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What ClassLink ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Industry verdicts
How ClassLink speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
EducationFewer admin hours, more learning hours.
Best for in Education
- Districts with thousands of students and hundreds of digital resources
- IT teams automating SIS-driven rostering and account provisioning
- Schools facing insurance or privacy audits that need MFA and SSO coverage
- Higher-ed institutions that need fast SSO and MFA rollout
Not for
- Very small schools with no dedicated IT staff
- Non-education organizations
ClassLink is built exclusively for education: K-12 districts, charter and independent schools, and higher-ed institutions. Its value is highest where a school system manages hundreds or thousands of digital resources and an SIS-driven roster, so LaunchPad SSO, Roster Server and OneSync remove manual account work. Published case studies skew to U.S. districts of roughly 1,000-20,000 students with small IT teams, plus one higher-ed example using SSO and MFA for an insurance audit. Buyers facing state privacy legislation value the Public Portal and DataGuard. Schools without central IT will likely find the suite broader than needed, and non-education organizations are not targeted.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
ClassLink is an education-focused identity and access management suite: LaunchPad single sign-on to 6,000+ learning apps, Roster Server and OneSync for automated rostering and provisioning, Analytics and Analytics+ for edtech usage, plus MFA, DataGuard and ThreatScan for security. It reports 3,000+ school systems across 50 states and 42 countries, SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 audits, private-cloud data isolation and open OneRoster/1EdTech standards. Pricing is quote-based and not published.
Frequently asked questions
What problem does ClassLink solve for a school system?
It consolidates the identity work schools do by hand: single sign-on into 6,000+ digital resources through LaunchPad, automated rostering and account provisioning from the SIS via Roster Server and OneSync, MFA and threat protection, and analytics on which tools students and staff actually use. The vendor positions the outcome as secure day-one access for students and staff with less IT overhead.
How is ClassLink priced?
Pricing is not published. The website directs buyers to request a demo, and licensing is quoted per school system or district rather than per seat. Budget for a district-wide annual subscription and expect add-ons such as Analytics+, DataGuard, ThreatScan, AppTrack and QuickCards to be scoped separately.
How long does implementation take?
ClassLink does not publish an implementation timeline. Because deployments depend on SIS integration, directory/ADFS or SAML federation and roster data quality, expect a phased rollout over roughly two to six weeks for core SSO and rostering, with analytics and add-ons following. Confirm the schedule and any services cost during the demo.
Is ClassLink secure and compliant enough for student data?
The security page states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 audits plus CSA STAR assessment, AES-256 encryption at rest and in transit with rotated keys, HTTPS/SSL everywhere, token-based API access, regular third-party penetration testing, defined incident, risk and change management, and cyber liability insurance. Data is kept isolated per customer rather than co-mingled.
Does ClassLink offer AI features or an MCP server?
The vendor pages reviewed do not describe AI features, model providers or a Model Context Protocol server. Integration is instead through open education data standards such as OneRoster and the 1EdTech standard, SIS connectivity, and directory/SAML/ADFS federation. Treat AI and MCP claims as unevidenced until the vendor publishes them.
What support is available?
ClassLink says current customers can talk directly with a team member 24/7, publishes a help centre at help.classlink.com, and lists a helpdesk email and phone extension on its status page. A public status page with email, SMS, Slack, Teams and webhook subscriptions covers incident communication.