Mambu
Cloud-native core banking that connects core, payments and agentic AI into one Intelligent Core.
By Mambu · HQ Amsterdam, Netherlands · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Banks and credit unions replacing legacy core banking with a cloud-native, API-first platform
- Fintechs and neobanks launching lending, deposits, wallets or personal banking products
- Lenders and retailers embedding finance such as purchase finance or buy-now-pay-later
- Institutions that want to connect their own AI models to core banking under governed access
Ideal size: 100–1,000 people · Bank, lender or fintech with product, engineering and compliance teams
Not for
- Small businesses that are not financial institutions, lenders or telcos
- Teams wanting a self-serve product with published pricing and no implementation project
- Organisations unwilling to run a multi-month core migration or replacement programme
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
3–6 months to production
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Custom enterprise pricing negotiated per institution; no public price list (the pricing page returns a 404).
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; contracted per institution and product scope.
Add-on costs
- Implementation and systems-integration services delivered with Mambu partners
Company & support
Who is behind Mambu, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Amsterdam, Netherlands
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The site footer links to Mambu support, the Mambu User Guide and API Reference; no support tiers, hours or SLAs are published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Mambu sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Mambu
- ShipHero
- MeridianLink
- Brightpearl
- Jack Henry
- Celonis
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Mambu. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Mambu ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The MCP page describes connecting customer-chosen AI models and agents to Mambu operations, with permissions off by default, per-user limits, and automatic usage tracking where every invocation is traceable and auditable.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Full audit trail
Industry verdicts
How Mambu speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Fintech & Financial ServicesMove money fast without moving risk.
Best for in Fintech & Financial Services
- Digital banks and neobanks launching deposits, lending or wallet products
- Fintechs needing cloud-native core plus SEPA or SWIFT payment connectivity
- Embedded-finance providers connecting to partner banks
Not for
- Pre-product startups with no banking licence or partner-bank arrangement
- Teams wanting a turnkey app with no core build or integration work
Mambu's customer hub lists fintechs such as Rabbit Cash, which has launched four lending products on Mambu since 2021 and passed 3 million app downloads, Global66, which uses Mambu for the deposits foundation of a multi-currency wallet, Triple-A, which launched instant collections and payouts in under a month, and BCB Group, which started with expanded SEPA connectivity. The common pattern is a fintech using Mambu as a cloud-native core plus payments layer while it builds its own front end and product experience.
Retail & CommerceSell everywhere, stock nothing twice.
Best for in Retail & Commerce
- Retailers embedding purchase finance, BNPL or wallets for their customers
- Large consumer brands adding financial products alongside their core business
Not for
- Retailers that only want a plug-in checkout widget
- Merchants without a licensing, capital or partner-bank strategy
Mambu states it serves retailers and telcos alongside banks, lenders and fintechs, with solutions for embedded finance, banking-as-a-service, purchase finance, buy-now-pay-later and wallets. This makes it relevant to retailers that want to own the customer relationship and hold or move balances, rather than simply resell a third-party credit product. As with all Mambu deployments, the work is a platform programme with implementation effort, not a same-week add-on.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Mambu is a cloud-native core banking SaaS platform used by banks, lenders, fintechs, credit unions and telcos across 65+ countries. It combines lending, deposits and payments with an agentic AI layer, including a native MCP server that connects customers' own AI models to 300+ core operations under per-user permissions and full audit tracking. Pricing is not published and deployments are implementation projects typically running several months, often delivered with Mambu partners.
Frequently asked questions
How long does a Mambu implementation take?
Mambu does not publish a standard timeline. Its customer hub shows a wide range: Triple-A launched instant collections and payouts in less than a month, Defacto reached beta in five months, and Western Union took seven months for a greenfield launch across four European markets. Large core migrations at established banks are longer programmes. Plan on several months and an internal implementation team.
How much does Mambu cost?
Mambu does not publish pricing. The pricing page returns a 404 and no plan tiers or seat rates are shown on the site, so cost is negotiated per institution based on products, volumes and services. Buyers should expect a licence plus implementation and integration fees delivered with Mambu partners, and should budget for a business case review rather than a self-serve trial.
Does Mambu support AI agents and the Model Context Protocol?
Yes. Mambu publishes a Model Context Protocol page describing an MCP server that is built, hosted and maintained by Mambu. It exposes 300+ Mambu operations through one token-efficient interface to the AI models a customer already uses, with permissions off by default, per-user limits, and automatic usage tracking so every invocation is traceable and auditable.
Is Mambu certified for SOC 2, ISO 27001 or similar standards?
We could not verify this. The security, trust and compliance pages we checked did not return usable content, so no certification is claimed here. Mambu does state that its MCP access layer is governed by default and meets regulatory standards expected of it, but buyers should request current certificates and audit reports directly from the vendor.
Which institutions use Mambu?
Mambu says it is trusted by hundreds of financial innovators in 65+ countries, and its customer hub shows 94 stories spanning traditional banks, neobanks, credit unions, lenders, fintechs and telcos. Named examples include Western Union, Akbank AG, OYAK ANKER Bank, BCB Group, Global66 and Eiendomskreditt across EMEA, APAC, LATAM and North America.