Skip to main content
P
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 13 yrs on market

Plaid

Enabling all companies to build fintech solutions on the largest financial data network

By Plaid Inc. · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.3/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Fintech and consumer apps that need one API to link 12,000+ financial institutions across 20 countries for payments, underwriting and PFM data
  • Product teams chasing onboarding conversion, where Plaid cites 25% higher conversion from its Link flow
  • Lenders, neobanks and proptechs that need KYC, AML/PEP screening and income or asset verification from a single vendor
  • Fraud teams that want network-level risk scores and ML models instead of rules-only tooling
  • Teams that want to start on a free sandbox and month-to-month usage pricing before committing to a 12-month Growth plan

Ideal size: 10-500 (product, risk and engineering) people · Funded fintech, lender or bank with in-house engineering and compliance staff

Not for

  • Non-financial businesses looking for general workflow, CRM or ERP software; Plaid is financial data infrastructure only
  • Buyers who need published list prices or per-call rates before procurement, since most products are quoted by sales
  • Organizations that require on-premise deployment or self-hosted data processing; Plaid runs as a cloud network
  • Hobby projects needing Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report or Protect, which are excluded from Pay as You Go

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Hours in sandbox; 1-3 weeks to production

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$0/yr

Starts at $0 · Usage-based: one-time fee per connected account, monthly subscription per connected account, or flat fee per successful API call; plans are Pay as You Go, Growth (12-month) and Custom

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.3

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No seat minimums published; Growth adds a 12-month commitment and Custom is volume-priced

Add-on costs

  • Volume discounts based on contract length and/or minimum monthly commitment
  • Platform support package, SSO for the Plaid Dashboard and account management come with the Growth plan
  • Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report and Protect are not included in Pay as You Go

Company & support

Who is behind Plaid, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Public Help Center plus articles and guides. Developers and existing customers open cases via the Plaid Dashboard. Growth adds a platform support package and account management; Custom adds premium support and account management.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Plaid sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr9d32d104d140d200dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyPlaidBlendClariAlkamiThought MachineQ2 Digital Banking

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Plaid is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Plaid
  • Blend
  • Clari
  • Alkami
  • Thought Machine
  • Q2 Digital Banking
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Plaid. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Plaid ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Predictive analytics

Plaid's fraud and compliance pages describe predictive scoring and machine-learning risk models, which is the one AI capability stated explicitly. The homepage markets an 'AI infrastructure' layer without naming features, and Docs' 'Bill' is a documentation assistant rather than a product copilot.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Industry verdicts

How Plaid speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Fintech & Financial ServicesMove money fast without moving risk.

Best for in Fintech & Financial Services

  • Neobanks, lenders and wealth apps that need account linking, ACH funding and balance data from one API
  • Risk and compliance teams requiring KYC, AML/PEP screening and income or asset verification in the same vendor
  • Fraud teams that want network-based trust scores and ML risk models rather than rules-only tooling
  • PFM and budgeting products that need up to 24 months of categorised transaction data (Transactions, Enrich)
  • US and Canada teams that want usage-based pricing with a free sandbox before committing

Not for

  • Fintechs with no engineering capacity; Link, the API and webhooks are a build project
  • Firms requiring on-premise deployment, self-hosting or advertised data-residency controls
  • Small teams that need Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report or Protect, which sit outside Pay as You Go
  • Buyers who need published per-call list prices before procurement sign-off

Plaid's own materials cite fintech, consumer tech, proptech and banking coverage, with customer stories from Robinhood, Uphold, Varo Bank, Stash, Wave and Zip. Fintechs buy Plaid for account linking (Link), ACH funding (Auth, Transfer), KYC/AML (Identity Verification, Monitor, Beacon), transaction-risk scoring (Signal, Protect) and underwriting data (Assets, Income, Consumer Report). The network covers 12,000 financial institutions across 20 countries, and Plaid says roughly 80% of transactions sent to Signal come from accounts already linked to the Plaid Network. Main constraints: engineering effort, sales-quoted pricing and no advertised on-premise option.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Plaid is a financial data network and API platform connecting apps to more than 12,000 financial institutions across 20 countries. Products span bank payments (Auth, Transfer, Signal), identity and fraud (Identity Verification, Monitor, Protect) and credit data (Assets, Income, Statements, Consumer Report by Plaid Check). Pricing is usage-based across Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans, with a free sandbox. Plaid Docs also references an official Plaid MCP Server.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Plaid cost?

Plaid does not publish list prices. Pricing is usage-based and quoted by sales, using one of three models: a one-time fee per connected account, a monthly subscription per connected account, or a flat fee per successful API call. You can start on Pay as You Go (month-to-month, paying only for what you use), commit to a 12-month Growth plan for discounted rates and account management, or negotiate a Custom plan with volume discounts.

Can we evaluate Plaid before signing a contract?

Yes. Plaid offers a free sandbox and a Limited Production service allowing up to 200 API calls per available product against live data. Pay as You Go is month-to-month with unlimited live API calls, so teams can reach production without an annual commitment, though Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report and Protect require a Growth or Custom plan.

Which products are excluded from the entry-level plan?

Pay as You Go includes Auth, Balance, Identity, Identity Match, Investments Move, Assets, Income, Statements, Enrich, Investments, Liabilities, Transactions, Identity Verification and Monitor. Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report and Protect are listed as not included and require Growth or Custom pricing.

Does Plaid publish security certifications such as SOC 2 or ISO 27001?

Plaid's security page describes encrypted APIs, 24/7 monitoring and proactive fraud detection, but the pages reviewed do not claim SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, ISO 42001 or individual AIGP certification. Buyers in regulated industries should request current attestation and audit reports directly from Plaid during procurement.

Does Plaid support MCP or AI features?

Plaid Docs references a Plaid MCP Server that plugs into an IDE, which is the clearest official MCP statement available. On AI, Plaid documents predictive scoring and machine-learning fraud models (Signal, Protect, Monitor), but it does not state which model provider is used, whether customers can bring their own keys, or whether AI actions are logged for audit.