SchoolStatus
K–12 family engagement, attendance, literacy and educator-development software for districts
By SchoolStatus · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- K-12 districts and schools working to reduce chronic absenteeism with early-warning data
- District and school teams that need personalized, two-way family communication in 130+ languages
- Literacy and assessment teams that want to share reading progress with families
- Administrators digitizing registration, staff onboarding and approval workflows
- Instructional leaders running classroom observations, evaluations and coaching cycles
- District communications teams needing ADA-compliant, no-code school websites
Ideal size: District-wide; 1,000–20,000+ students people · K-12 district with student information and assessment data ready to connect
Not for
- Corporate or non-education organizations
- Districts that want published, self-serve pricing or a free trial
- Teams looking for a generic CRM or marketing automation platform
- Buyers who require a public SOC 2, HIPAA or ISO 27001 attestation page before shortlisting
- Higher-education institutions; the products are built for K-12
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~60 days of school data
~60 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Quote-based annual district licensing; pricing is not published and every product CTA routes to a demo request
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind SchoolStatus, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Technical support is available by email ticket, a toll-free phone line (855-978-2887) and a self-service help portal. No plan tiers, support hours or response-time SLA are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where SchoolStatus sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- SchoolStatus
- Canvas LMS
- Jenzabar
- Panorama Education
- Infinite Campus
- ParentSquare
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including SchoolStatus. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What SchoolStatus ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The vendor describes predictive insights and Early Warning Insights that flag students likely to end the year chronically absent after roughly 60 days of school data. No AI assistant, model-provider arrangement or AI audit/export capability is described on the pages reviewed.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Industry verdicts
How SchoolStatus speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
EducationFewer admin hours, more learning hours.
Best for in Education
- K-12 districts and charter networks reducing chronic absenteeism
- Title I and high-poverty schools needing proactive family outreach
- District literacy programs sharing reading-level data with families
- School systems digitizing registration and staff onboarding forms
- Instructional coaching, observation and teacher-evaluation programs
- District communications and ADA website accessibility needs
Not for
- Higher-education institutions
- Individual tutors or single teachers without district procurement
- Corporate training or HR learning teams
- Schools that require published per-seat pricing before a demo
SchoolStatus targets US K-12 districts and schools, reporting 1,000+ districts, all 50 states and 22.5M students served. Its products map to six district priorities: attendance, family messaging, literacy, forms and workflow, instructional coaching, and ADA-compliant websites. Case studies skew toward public districts ranging from under 1,000 to over 20,000 students. Evidence is vendor-reported; there is no public security, trust or compliance page and no published pricing, so security review and budget discovery happen during the sales process. Competition typically comes from point solutions for attendance notifications, mass messaging, SIS portals and website vendors rather than a single suite.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
SchoolStatus is K-12 software that connects educators and families to improve attendance, literacy and engagement. Its suite covers early-warning attendance analytics, personalized family messaging, literacy progress updates, digital school forms, instructional coaching and ADA-compliant district websites. The vendor reports 1,000+ districts, 50 states and 22.5M students served, plus a 36% two-year chronic absenteeism reduction across 89 partner districts. Pricing is quote-based via demo; no public security or compliance page was available.
Frequently asked questions
What does SchoolStatus actually do for a district?
SchoolStatus sells a suite of K-12 products: SchoolStatus Attend (early-warning attendance analytics with automated letters and texts), Connect (personalized family messaging), Literacy (sharing reading progress with families), Forms & Flows (digitized forms and approvals), Boost (observations, evaluations and instructional coaching) and no-code ADA-compliant district websites. The vendor reports 1,000+ districts, all 50 states and 22.5M students served.
How is SchoolStatus priced, and is there a free trial?
Pricing is not published. The /pricing page returns a 404 and every product call-to-action routes to 'Request a Demo', so districts should expect quote-based, annual district licensing negotiated with sales. No free tier, free trial or per-seat list price is stated anywhere on the vendor's site.
How quickly do districts see results?
SchoolStatus reports that 89 partner districts across nine states cut chronic absenteeism by an average of 18% in year one and 36% cumulatively by year two, and that its early-warning model flags likely chronically absent students after roughly 60 days of school data. Individual case studies cite 15% and 35% single-year reductions. These figures are vendor-reported, not independently audited.
What integrations and technical requirements should we plan for?
No public integrations page is available (the /integrations URL returns a 404). The vendor states that SchoolStatus Literacy integrates with existing assessment platforms and that the platform consolidates student data and form responses into one view. Districts should confirm SIS, assessment and identity integrations directly with the vendor during evaluation.
Is SchoolStatus compliant with SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA?
SchoolStatus does not publish a public security, trust or compliance page, and /security, /trust and /compliance all return 404. No SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, FedRAMP, HIPAA or GDPR attestation is stated on the vendor's site, so any certification claims should be requested directly and verified in writing before signing.
Who is SchoolStatus not a good fit for?
It is built for US K-12 districts and schools, not higher education or corporate learning teams. Districts that require published list pricing, a self-serve trial, or a public security attestation page before shortlisting will need to complete a full sales and security review. Small single-school deployments may find the six-product suite broader than they need.