
Bottomline
Modern, connected business payments and cash management for banks and businesses.
By Bottomline · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Banks and financial institutions modernizing commercial digital banking, payments and cash management
- Mid-market and large enterprises automating accounts payable, payouts and receivables
- Finance and treasury teams needing multi-bank cash visibility, FX, liquidity and financing oversight
- Risk and compliance teams requiring sanctions screening, payments verification and insider threat monitoring
Ideal size: Mid-market to enterprise people · Established finance/treasury function running multi-bank payment flows
Not for
- Small businesses seeking self-serve signup and published per-seat pricing
- Teams wanting a lightweight standalone AP tool with no bank connectivity or payment network
- Consumer payment apps or card-only products
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
3-6 months (enterprise rollout)
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Quote-based; no public list pricing on the vendor site - buyers must contact sales.
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; scoped per organization and product line.
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Bottomline, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The vendor support page lists support contact email and phone number by product and region, with a phone-hours column; hours are not enumerated in the supplied page text.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Bottomline sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Bottomline
- MeridianLink
- Jack Henry
- Sapiens
- Socotra
- Ocrolus
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Bottomline. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Bottomline ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Bottomline is a global business payments and cash management vendor serving banks, financial institutions and large corporates. Its portfolio spans AP and receivables automation, the Paymode B2B payment network, payments connectivity and message transformation, commercial digital banking, and fraud, sanctions and insider-risk compliance. With 35+ years in payments and $16 trillion moved annually, it sells quote-based enterprise deployments rather than self-serve plans, so buyers should expect a heavier procurement and implementation cycle.
Frequently asked questions
What does Bottomline actually do?
Bottomline provides business payments and cash management software and services for banks and corporates. Offerings include AP automation, payouts and receivables automation, the Paymode B2B payment network, payments connectivity and message transformation, commercial digital banking, global cash management, plus fraud and compliance products such as payments fraud defense, sanctions screening and enterprise case management.
How is Bottomline priced?
Pricing is not published on the vendor site. The public path is a sales conversation (contact form or sales phone line), and packages are scoped per product line, region and organization size. Expect an annual contract quoted on volume and modules rather than a per-seat list price.
How long does implementation take?
Bottomline does not publish an implementation timeline on the supplied pages. Given enterprise banking and treasury deployments, message-standard work and bank connectivity, buyers should budget months rather than days and plan for a structured onboarding with the vendor's delivery teams.
Does Bottomline offer AI features?
Bottomline markets an AI-driven Payments Fraud Defense platform and a CFO Suite described as bringing together governed AI and cash flow management, and it advertises AI-related industry recognition. The supplied pages do not document specific AI capabilities, model sourcing or AI action logging, so buyers should validate scope and auditability directly with the vendor.
Does Bottomline publish security or compliance certifications?
The supplied vendor pages do not state SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 status. Buyers in regulated segments should request the vendor's trust and security documentation, plus evidence for sanctions screening and payments verification controls, during due diligence.
Who typically uses Bottomline?
The vendor reports roughly one million businesses using its solutions, 90 Fortune 100 companies as customers, and $16 trillion in payments moved annually. Primary buyers are banks, financial institutions and large corporate finance, treasury and AP teams with multi-bank payment flows.