Skip to main content
Dext logo
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 4 yrs on market

Dext

AI bookkeeping software that captures receipts, invoices and expenses, then syncs them to your accounting software

By Dext · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Small and medium businesses that want receipts, invoices and bank statements captured and coded automatically
  • Accounting and bookkeeping firms processing documents for many client ledgers from one workspace
  • Teams claiming employee expenses and mileage with approvals and a digital audit trail
  • Businesses already on Xero, QuickBooks, Sage or Zoho that want data published straight into their ledgers

Ideal size: 1–50 people · SMB or accounting practice already running cloud accounting

Not for

  • Enterprises needing full ERP, procurement or general ledger functionality
  • Businesses with no cloud accounting software or no appetite to change document workflows
  • Teams wanting a fully outsourced human bookkeeping service rather than automation software
  • Very low document volumes where manual entry is cheaper than a subscription

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About a week

~7 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$302/yr

Starts at $302 · Business plans priced by documents and users, billed monthly or annually (up to 20% cheaper annually); practice plans priced per client per month

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.6

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Business: 5 users and 250 documents per month baseline; practice plans: 10-client minimum

Add-on costs

  • Dext AI Assist custom guidance: $7 per client per month
  • Data health & insights add-on: $7.50 per client per month
  • Commerce Lite add-on: $7.50 per client per month
  • Extra extraction credits for bank statements, line items and supplier statement reconciliation

Company & support

Who is behind Dext, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
48 hours median time to first response

Support answers technical questions by chat or email; 250+ tutorials available in the Help Centre; onboarding guidance offered. Phone and in-person support are not documented.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Dext sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$190/yr$820/yr$4k/yr$9k/yr$24k/yr2d3d6d7d8dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyDextAgendrixPlayrollactiTIMEPayFitAzuga

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Dext is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Dext
  • Agendrix
  • Playroll
  • actiTIME
  • PayFit
  • Azuga
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Dext. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Dext ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Document processingNLP automation

Dext markets AI-driven capture, extraction and categorisation of receipts, invoices, bank statements and line items (claimed 99.9% accuracy), plus Dext AI Assist guidance for practices. Core extraction and categorisation are included in plan prices; AI Assist custom guidance is a per-client add-on. The privacy policy names Microsoft Azure (OpenAI) as a generative AI sub-processor.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Never trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

AI bookkeeping automation: Dext captures receipts, invoices and bank statements by mobile app, email or auto-fetch, extracts line items with claimed 99.9% accuracy, applies categorisation rules, and publishes to 36+ accounting platforms including Xero, QuickBooks and Sage. Employee expenses, mileage and a ten-year document vault are included. A 14-day free trial needs no card; business plans start at about $302 per year for 5 users and 250 documents a month, while practices pay per client.

Frequently asked questions

How long does it take to get value from Dext?

Most teams connect Dext to their accounting software during the 14-day free trial (no credit card required) and start capturing documents from the mobile app, email or auto-fetch within days. Published items sync into the ledger, so the first clean month-end typically follows the first subscription cycle.

What does Dext cost for a mid-sized business?

The business plan shown on the pricing page is $25.21 per month billed annually ($302.50 a year, excluding tax), covering 250 documents a month and 5 users, with sliders to raise both allowances. Accounting practices price per client per month with a 10-client minimum, and optional add-ons such as Data health & insights and Commerce Lite cost $7.50 per client per month.

Is our financial data secure and compliant?

Dext states it is certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and is GDPR compliant. Data is encrypted in transit with TLS 1.2+ and at rest with AES-256, hosted on AWS across multiple availability zones, with annual third-party penetration tests, SSO/2FA on production access and documents retained for at least ten years.

Does Dext replace our accounting software?

No. Dext is a pre-accounting and bookkeeping automation layer that syncs your chart of accounts, suppliers, customers, tracking categories and payment methods with 36+ platforms such as Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and Zoho, then publishes coded documents and expenses into those ledgers.

What support is available?

Dext support answers technical questions by chat or email, with a stated median of 48 hours to first response, plus 250+ tutorials in the Help Centre and onboarding guidance. Enterprise-style phone support and named account managers are not documented on the pages reviewed.

How does Dext handle customer data with AI?

Dext's privacy policy states that third-party generative AI tool providers used in its services, named as Microsoft Azure (OpenAI), are not allowed to use customer data to train their models. Dext presents extraction and categorisation accuracy as a headline product claim rather than a guarantee.