
Postscript
SMS marketing and sales for Shopify brands
By Postscript · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Shopify and Shopify Plus DTC brands that want SMS/RCS to become a top revenue channel
- Retention and lifecycle marketing teams running campaigns, flows and list-growth programs
- Brands that need TCPA-style consent guardrails and audit-ready consent records
- Teams wanting AI-driven message testing and 1:1 conversational commerce
- Brands migrating from another SMS provider or adding SMS to an existing email program
Ideal size: 3–50 marketing/retention staff people · DTC ecommerce brand with an established subscriber list
Not for
- Brands on non-Shopify platforms without in-house development resources for the SDK
- B2B or non-ecommerce businesses that do not sell to consumers by text
- Buyers wanting one all-in-one suite covering email, SMS, support and CDP today
- Organizations needing published enterprise certifications such as SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~2 weeks to first campaign
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$6,000/yr
Starts at $588 · Monthly plan tiers (Starter $0, Growth $100/mo, Professional $500/mo, Enterprise custom) plus per-message SMS/MMS/RCS and carrier fees; contracts optional.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat-based tiers published; tiers differ by message pricing, analytics, API access and support level.
Add-on costs
- Postscript AI Plan: paid upgrade bundle for Brand Center, Infinity Testing and Shopper
- Dedicated short code: $750/month, passed through to carriers at cost
- Fondue CashBack and Postscript Plus managed service are optional add-ons
- Per-message SMS/MMS/RCS fees plus carrier fees (average US $0.00330 SMS, $0.00799 MMS)
Company & support
Who is behind Postscript, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPaid plans
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Help Center access is listed on all marketing plans; Growth and above add live chat and email support, with priority live chat/email on Professional and priority live chat on Enterprise. Enterprise also includes an Onboarding Launch Specialist.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Postscript sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Postscript
- Recharge
- Rebuy
- Loop Returns
- PrestaShop
- Refersion
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Postscript. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Postscript ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor markets an AI-native Agentic Context Platform and three AI products: Brand Center (trains AI on brand voice, knowledge base, catalogue and offers), Infinity Testing (hundreds of message variants) and Shopper (1:1 shopping assistant). No vendor page names the model providers, states whether customers supply their own keys, or documents AI action logging.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Paid add-on
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Postscript is an SMS marketing platform for Shopify ecommerce brands, now adding RCS and email. It pairs campaigns, automations and list-growth tools with an AI suite (Brand Center, Infinity Testing, the Shopper 1:1 assistant) sold as a paid upgrade. Plans run from $0/mo Starter with a $49 monthly minimum spend to $500/mo Professional and custom Enterprise, plus per-message and carrier fees. Onboarding is app-based and self-serve; paid plans add live chat and email support. Fit is strong for DTC retail; published security certifications are limited.
Frequently asked questions
What does Postscript cost per year for a mid-market ecommerce brand?
Postscript's platform pricing runs from a $0/mo Starter plan with a $49 monthly minimum spend, through Growth at $100/mo and Professional at $500/mo (about $6,000 per year), up to custom Enterprise pricing. Per-message SMS, MMS and RCS fees plus carrier fees are billed on top, and a dedicated short code costs $750/month passed through at cost. Contracts are optional; month-to-month billing is available.
How long does it take to get live on Postscript?
Postscript installs as a Shopify app or via an SDK, so a brand can start sending quickly inside the 30-day free trial. Migrating an existing subscriber list requires a review by Postscript's compliance team before upload, and reputation ramp-up is managed by the vendor, so most teams see value within the first few weeks as list growth and automations come online.
Do I have to be on Shopify to use Postscript?
Shopify is the core focus, but Postscript offers a software development kit that includes desktop and mobile popups, an opt-in checkbox for checkout, and TCPA-compliant language for merchants running other storefronts.
How does Postscript reduce SMS compliance risk?
Compliance guardrails are built into the product, including Quiet Hours and opt-out trap playbooks, and Postscript keeps message and consent records for subscribers collected through Postscript-powered popups, ready if a brand needs them. All customers also get a free Ecommerce Innovation Alliance membership and access to TCPA litigators at pre-negotiated discounted rates.
What AI does Postscript include, and is it an extra cost?
The AI suite covers Brand Center (training AI on brand voice, catalogue and offers), Infinity Testing (hundreds of message variants) and Shopper, a 1:1 shopping assistant. The Agentic Context Platform is described as included with every plan at no extra cost, while the Postscript AI Plan is presented as a paid upgrade bundle. Model providers and data-training terms are not stated on the vendor's public pages.