Skip to main content
Rippling logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2017 · 9 yrs

Rippling

AI that knows your company, and acts like it

By Rippling · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • HR, IT and Finance leaders consolidating many point tools onto one employee system of record
  • US and global companies that want payroll, benefits, device management and spend on one platform
  • Teams that want AI answers grounded in real workforce data with permission-aware access
  • Organizations that need identity-driven access control across 600+ connected apps

Ideal size: 50–1,000 people · Scale-up or mid-market with a dedicated HR/IT ops function

Not for

  • Small teams wanting a free, self-serve HR tool
  • Buyers who need public list pricing before speaking to sales
  • Companies already locked into a competing HCM suite they will not migrate
  • Buyers needing FedRAMP or HIPAA commitments, which are not published in these sources

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

3–6 weeks

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$36,000/yr

Starts at $2,400 · Quote-based: most products billed per employee, per month; some products carry a monthly base fee; no public list price

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.8

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Custom quote by employee count (1–10 through 1001+ bands); core Rippling Platform required

Add-on costs

  • Each HR, IT and Finance product (payroll, benefits, devices, spend) is purchased separately on top of the required core platform

Company & support

Who is behind Rippling, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2017 · 9 yrs in business
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Administrators reach support through the Rippling Help Center; MCP and Rippling AI for Slack questions go to [email protected]. No support hours or response-time commitments are published on these pages.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Rippling sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$8k/yr$13k/yr$17k/yr$33k/yr$50k/yr11d21d30d31d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyRipplingEmployment HeroLattice360LearningFrontSmartsheet

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Rippling is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Rippling
  • Employment Hero
  • Lattice
  • 360Learning
  • Front
  • Smartsheet
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Rippling. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNative

AI & MCP readiness

What Rippling ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsAI search

Rippling AI answers natural-language questions over HR, IT and finance data, automates workflows and reporting, and via the official MCP server lets external agents such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Gemini act on Rippling data under the requesting user's own permissions. No vendor statement was found on the underlying model, model choice, or AI training-data policy.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 IAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Rippling unifies HR, payroll, IT and finance on one employee data model, with 600+ integrations and an AI layer that answers questions and runs governed workflows. Buyers adopt it to replace overlapping point tools and cut admin work. Pricing is quote-based per employee per month, with the core platform required alongside each product. Credentials include SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001.

Frequently asked questions

How is Rippling priced, and is there a public price list?

Rippling does not publish list prices. You tell Rippling which services you need and it sends a custom quote. Most products are billed on a per-employee, per-month basis, while some products may be charged at or include a monthly base fee. Each HR, Finance and IT product can be purchased separately, but it must sit alongside the core, required Rippling Platform.

Can we buy only payroll, or only device management?

Yes. According to Rippling's pricing FAQ, each HR, Finance and IT product, such as Payroll, Expenses, Benefits or Device Management, can be purchased separately. The one constant is the core Rippling Platform, which is required on every plan because the products share a single employee data model.

How painful is migrating from our current payroll provider?

Rippling states that you do not have to wait until year end to switch. Its team imports and analyzes your year-to-date payroll information from the previous provider so quarterly and annual taxes are filed and paid without interruption. That said, payroll and identity migrations are the heavier part of adoption, so plan for a multi-week rollout.

What does Rippling's AI do, and does it respect permissions?

Rippling AI answers questions and runs analyses across Rippling data, automates workflows and reporting, and is also delivered inside Slack and Microsoft Teams. Through the official Rippling MCP, external AI tools such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Gemini can work with Rippling data. Requests are governed by the requesting user's own Rippling identity and permissions, which update automatically when roles change.

Which compliance certifications does Rippling hold?

Rippling's security page lists SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27018 and ISO 42001 certifications, and states that Rippling complies with applicable privacy and data protection laws including GDPR and CCPA. FedRAMP and HIPAA commitments are not published on the pages reviewed.

Does Rippling work with our existing AI tools and integrations?

Yes. Rippling offers an official MCP server plus 600+ out-of-the-box integrations, and it publishes developer kits for building custom integrations and listing them in the Rippling App Shop. Connectors bring third-party data into Rippling for reporting and workflows, while plugins let Rippling AI query or take targeted actions in the source system under the user's existing permissions.