Skip to main content
ADP, Inc. logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 1949 · 77 yrs

ADP

Cloud-based payroll, HR, tax and HCM solutions for businesses of every size.

By ADP, Inc. · HQ Roseland, US · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • US and multinational employers that want payroll, tax filing and HR from one accountable vendor
  • Midsized and large firms needing HCM breadth plus PEO or managed outsourcing options
  • Companies that value compliance depth and global payroll experience over the lowest price

Ideal size: 1–1,000+ employees people · Any size; strongest for midsized to global enterprises with multi-state or multi-country payroll

Not for

  • Buyers who need published, self-serve pricing before a sales conversation
  • Teams wanting a fast, lightweight payroll-only point solution
  • Startups optimizing purely for the lowest monthly cost

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Not published; multi-week payroll setup typical

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$0/yr

Starts at $0 · Custom quote; ADP does not publish list pricing — cost depends on employee count, pay frequency and selected modules

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Quote-based; no public seat tiers

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind ADP, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
1949 · 77 yrs in business
Headquarters
Roseland, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support page separates individual-employee help from company-administrator help, offering automated phone support and self-service guides, tax forms and login support.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where ADP sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr20d25d30d39d48dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyADPTrolleyPayworksPaychexAlignOpsSchoolStatus

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

ADP is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • ADP
  • Trolley
  • Payworks
  • Paychex
  • AlignOps
  • SchoolStatus
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including ADP. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What ADP ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for ADP yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

ADP is one of the largest payroll and HCM providers, serving more than 1.1 million clients and paying 1 in 6 U.S. workers. It bundles payroll, tax filing, time and attendance, benefits, talent and PEO services across small, midsized and large businesses, backed by 75+ years of compliance expertise and around-the-clock security operations. Pricing is quote-based rather than published, and implementations run over weeks, so buyers should scope modules and service levels carefully before committing.

Frequently asked questions

How much does ADP cost?

ADP does not publish list pricing on its site. Quotes depend on employee count, payroll frequency and which modules you buy, such as payroll, tax filing, time and attendance, benefits administration, talent or PEO. Expect a sales conversation and the vendor's Get Pricing form rather than a self-serve price list.

What compliance certifications does ADP hold?

ADP's trust page states it issues SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports over select products and services, and maintains ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 27701 certifications for select services and locations. Report and certificate availability is generally restricted to clients who have signed nondisclosure agreements.

How long does implementation take?

ADP does not publish an implementation timeline on the pages reviewed. Payroll and HCM rollouts typically involve data conversion, tax registration and parallel runs, so plan on weeks rather than days and confirm the cutover schedule and responsibilities in your contract.

Does ADP support employees as well as administrators?

Yes. The support page separates individual-employee questions from company-administrator questions, with automated phone support at 1-844-227-5237 plus self-service guidance for W-2 and 1099 access, password resets, tax guides and login help. Published support hours and response-time SLAs are not stated.

Can ADP replace our whole HR stack?

ADP positions itself as a comprehensive global provider of cloud-based human capital management that unites HR, payroll, talent, time, tax and benefits administration, plus PEO and outsourcing services. Breadth is modular, so the answer depends on which modules you license and how they integrate with your existing systems.