Skip to main content
A
Cost ReductionFounded 2015 · 11 yrs

Airwallex

The intelligent financial platform for global businesses

By Airwallex · HQ Singapore and San Francisco (dual headquarters) · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Global businesses that need to collect, hold and pay out in 20+ currencies from one account
  • US companies expanding abroad that want local accounts, payouts in 200+ countries and interbank-linked FX
  • Finance teams consolidating corporate cards, expense management and bill pay on a single platform
  • Marketplaces and software platforms embedding payments, accounts or card issuing through Airwallex APIs
  • High-growth SaaS and usage-based businesses billing customers across borders

Ideal size: 20–500 people · Scale-up or mid-market with multi-currency revenue and a finance ops team

Not for

  • Companies that need a full general ledger or ERP — Airwallex syncs to Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite and Dynamics rather than replacing them
  • Businesses that cannot complete cross-border KYC/KYB and entity verification
  • Domestic-only merchants with no multi-currency revenue or FX exposure
  • Buyers needing on-premise or self-hosted deployment of financial infrastructure

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Days for accounts; 2–6 weeks for API builds

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$7,200/yr

Starts at $0 · Freemium: free Explore plan; Grow from $12 per active Spend user per month plus a platform fee; Accelerate is custom priced. Transaction fees still apply on FX, transfers and payments.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Explore includes up to 10 free Spend users; Grow allows a maximum of 250; monthly fees are charged per business legal entity.

Add-on costs

  • SWIFT transfers to 200+ countries: $15–$25 per transfer
  • Card acceptance: 2.8% + $0.30 domestic; 4.30% + $0.30 international cards
  • Local payment methods: $0.30 plus the payment method fee; 160+ methods supported
  • Subscription management and usage-based billing: 0.50% per successful transaction
  • FX conversion: 0.5% above interbank rates on major currencies, 1.0% on all others
  • Centralized management of finances beyond 3 global entities: $1,000 per additional entity

Company & support

Who is behind Airwallex, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2015 · 11 yrs in business
Headquarters
Singapore and San Francisco (dual headquarters)

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

The pricing page Support section lists help centre articles and FAQs, email support, and — on the Accelerate plan — a dedicated account manager with onboarding support. No support hours or response-time SLA is published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Airwallex sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$6k/yr$10k/yr$16k/yr$28k/yr$50k/yr2d17d30d32d34dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyAirwallexBrexRampNorthbeamNavanUmbrella

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Airwallex is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Airwallex
  • Brex
  • Ramp
  • Northbeam
  • Navan
  • Umbrella
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Airwallex. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Airwallex ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsDocument processingAnomaly detection

The homepage names Kai, an AI assistant giving real-time answers on global cash flow, and dedicated AI agents for expenses and accounts payable that match receipts and process invoices. The pricing page adds AI receipt matching, AI bill coding, an AI expense policy agent, AI-powered three-way matching on Accelerate and Optimize 360 for AI payment optimisation and fraud prevention. No model…

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Airwallex is a global financial platform that combines multi-currency business accounts, corporate cards, expense management, bill pay, payment acceptance and billing with API-first infrastructure. Businesses in 200+ countries collect and hold 20+ currencies, convert at interbank-linked FX rates and pay out locally. The free Explore plan carries no monthly fee; Grow costs $12 per active Spend user per month. AI agents handle receipt matching, bill coding and expense checks, while Airwallex APIs power embedded finance.

Frequently asked questions

What does Airwallex cost?

Explore is free, with no monthly fee, no setup fee and no minimum balance, and includes up to 10 Spend users. Grow is $12 per active Spend user per month plus a platform fee, capped at 250 Spend users. Accelerate is custom priced with a dedicated account manager. Transaction fees still apply: FX conversions at 0.5% above interbank rates on major currencies (1.0% otherwise), SWIFT transfers at $15–$25, card acceptance at 2.8% + $0.30 domestic, and 0.50% on subscription and usage-based billing.

How long does it take to get live?

Airwallex says you can apply for a business account in minutes with no setup fee, so Business Accounts, corporate cards and payment links can go live quickly for self-serve use. API and embedded-finance builds take longer because they involve KYC/KYB onboarding, sandbox testing and engineering against Airwallex's APIs, SDKs and webhooks. Budget weeks rather than days for a production integration.

Which systems does Airwallex integrate with?

Accounting and ERP: Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage, Odoo and Rillet. Commerce and payments: Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento, PrestaShop, Shopline, Shoplazza, Salesforce Commerce Cloud and Zapier. Ops and HRIS: HubSpot, BambooHR, Workday and ApprovalMax. The integrations page describes bank feeds, expenses and bills syncing automatically rather than manual data stitching.

Can Airwallex replace our accounting or ERP system?

No. Airwallex is the money-movement and spend layer: it maintains bank feeds, syncs transactions, expenses and bills into Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite or Dynamics 365 Business Central, and lets teams code expenses and bills to their existing chart of accounts. Your ledger, statutory reporting and consolidation stay in your accounting system, which is why the integrations matter more than feature parity.

What AI capability is included?

The homepage names Kai, an AI assistant for real-time answers on global cash flow, plus dedicated AI agents for expenses and accounts payable that match receipts and process invoices. The pricing page adds AI receipt matching with email forwarding, AI bill coding, an AI expense policy agent, AI-powered three-way matching on the Accelerate plan, and Optimize 360 for AI payment optimisation and fraud prevention. Airwallex does not publish model sourcing or AI audit-log details.

How is Airwallex regulated?

Airwallex states it holds 85+ licences and registrations across 27 international offices and supports businesses in 200+ countries. Its US Yield product is offered through Airwallex Capital US LLC, a registered broker-dealer and FINRA/SIPC member. The pages reviewed here do not publish SOC 2, ISO 27001 or similar security certifications, so procurement teams should request security and licensing documentation directly.