Skip to main content
B
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 5 yrs on market

BILL

AI-powered financial operations platform for AP, AR, spend and expense

By Bill.com · HQ San Jose, US · 4.2/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • SMB and mid-market finance teams that want AP, AR, spend and expense on one platform
  • Businesses paying many vendors that need ACH, check, card and international payment options
  • Accounting firms managing client books through the BILL Accountant Partner Program
  • Teams already running QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct or Microsoft Dynamics

Ideal size: 10–500 people · Growing SMB to mid-market with an existing accounting system

Not for

  • Enterprises that want a fully custom ERP-owned AP stack with no per-transaction payment fees
  • Companies needing broad multi-country local payment coverage beyond the US, Canada and UK
  • Teams looking for a free tool with no per-payment charges
  • Organizations requiring publicly documented HIPAA or FedRAMP compliance

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2–4 weeks

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$7,800/yr

Starts at $588 · Per user per month for AP & AR (Essentials $49, Team $65, Corporate $89); Spend & Expense free; Enterprise custom pricing; per-transaction payment fees apply

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.2

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Per-user pricing; Essentials and Team bill every user as a standard user; Corporate and Enterprise add lower-cost approver-only seats

Add-on costs

  • ACH/ePayment $0.59 per payment; check $1.99; instant payment 1.0% ($9.99 min, $100 max)
  • International USD wire $19.99; Pay Faster ACH $11.99; Pay Faster Check $14.99–$24.99
  • Procurement add-on required on Essentials and Team plans
  • 1099 e-filing $1.99–$2.99 per form; void check $25.00

Company & support

Who is behind BILL, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
San Jose, US

How you get support

  • PhoneAll plans
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatAll plans
  • Support portal / ticketsAll plans
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Business hours
Response time
Not stated

Live chat and phone support are advertised for all plans, though another support page says phone is for select customers after verification. Live chat hours: Mon–Fri 5am–6pm PT, Sat–Sun 6am–3pm PT. Accounting firms get dedicated Accountant Care support.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where BILL sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Implementation friction × Verified buyer score

1.0/52.0/53.0/54.0/55.0/50.0/51.3/52.5/53.8/55.0/5Friction ← betterBuyer score ↓ betterLoved & EasyLoved & HeavyRisky & EasyRisky & HeavyBILL
BILL is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What BILL ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Document processing

Vendor describes an Invoice Coding Agent for automatic AI multi-line bill coding, a W-9 Agent, and AI-powered receipt capture, matching and transaction coding in Spend & Expense. No model-provider or AI governance details are published.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Industry verdicts

How BILL speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.

Best for in Professional Services

  • Accounting and bookkeeping firms managing many client entities through the Accountant Console
  • Advisory practices that want to offer clients bill pay plus spend and expense services
  • Firms whose clients already run QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite or Sage Intacct

Not for

  • Practices needing deep vertical-specific regulatory workflows
  • Firms that want a single in-house ledger rather than an automation layer on top

BILL markets heavily to accounting firms through its Accounting Firms navigation, the Accountant Partner Program and the Accountant Console plus entity model, which lets a firm add or remove client entities instead of paying per firm user. Support for partners is routed through Accountant Care. The platform automates bookkeeping-adjacent tasks such as bill entry, W-9 collection, approval routing and 1099 filing, and syncs two-way with the major small-business accounting systems. Buyers should weigh per-user AP/AR seats plus per-transaction payment fees against the labour saved, and confirm that the client's accounting system is on the automatic two-way sync list.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

BILL is a financial operations platform that unifies accounts payable, accounts receivable, spend management and expense tracking. Finance teams import bills, route approvals, pay vendors by ACH, check, card or international transfer, and sync automatically with QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Microsoft Dynamics. Per-user plans start at $49 per user per month, and Spend & Expense is free, with per-transaction payment fees on top. The vendor reports 500K+ businesses and $345B in annual payment volume.

Frequently asked questions

How is BILL priced for a mid-market finance team?

BILL Accounts Payable and Accounts Receivable are sold per user per month: Essentials $49, Team $65 and Corporate $89, with custom Enterprise pricing. Essentials and Team bill every user as a standard user, while Corporate and Enterprise distinguish full-feature users from lower-cost approver-only seats. BILL Spend & Expense carries no subscription or per-user software fee, but payment types carry per-transaction charges regardless of plan: ACH/ePayment $0.59, check $1.99, instant payment 1.0% ($9.99 min, $100 max) and international USD wire $19.99.

How long does BILL implementation and integration take?

The vendor says self-boarding is simple and quick for leading systems such as QuickBooks Online and Xero, and that setting up a BILL Spend & Expense integration from scratch takes about 10–15 minutes including connecting and mapping. Customers with larger or more complex deployments, or non-syncing ERPs, meet BILL solution specialists to configure, test and document the import/export process. Automatic sync runs every 24 hours, with on-demand sync also available, so plan a few weeks for a mid-market rollout rather than days.

Does BILL meet enterprise security and compliance requirements?

BILL states it undergoes an annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audit by a national CPA firm, partners with a PCI-certified vendor for card payments, and runs an AML/OFAC program. Application controls include strong password policy, 2-factor authentication, role-based access, separation of duties and a timestamped, unalterable AP audit trail covering bills, approvals, payments and remittance details. The security centre does not claim ISO 27001, ISO 42001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or GDPR certification, so regulated buyers should validate those separately.

Which accounting systems and tools does BILL sync with?

Automatic two-way sync covers QuickBooks Online, Pro and Premier, QuickBooks Enterprise, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, Acumatica and Rillet, with Enterprise-only sync for several of the larger ERPs. Any other system can exchange CSV files, or customers can use the BILL API Platform to build custom integrations. BILL also lists HR syncs, a Slack integration, and connectors such as Tallie, HubDoc, Tax1099 and Earth Class Mail.

What support is included with BILL?

BILL advertises live chat and phone support for all plans, plus a Help Center knowledge base, in-product chat, and email or callback requests submitted through the Help Center. Live chat agents work business hours: Monday–Friday 5am–6pm PT and Saturday–Sunday 6am–3pm PT. Phone availability is described as being for select customers after account verification, and premium phone support appears as a Corporate and Enterprise extra. Accounting firms and partners receive dedicated assistance through Accountant Care.

Does BILL offer AI features, and can we bring our own model?

BILL markets AI-powered AP, expense and coding assistance. Documented features include an Invoice Coding Agent that performs automatic AI multi-line bill coding, a W-9 Agent for collection and verification, and AI-powered receipt capture, matching and transaction coding in Spend & Expense. BILL does not publish which models it uses, whether customers may supply their own model provider key, or whether AI actions are individually logged or exportable, so treat those questions as open until the vendor confirms them in writing.