Skip to main content
Extend Enterprises, Inc. logo
Cost ReductionEstablished · 5 yrs on market

Extend

Virtual credit cards and spend management for business

By Extend Enterprises, Inc. · HQ New York, US · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • SMB and mid-market finance teams that want virtual cards and expense control on business cards they already hold
  • Companies whose card program runs with a preferred bank partner such as Amex, PNC, BMO, HSBC, Regions or SVB
  • Teams that need receipt capture, auto-match and two-way accounting sync (QuickBooks, Sage Intacct, Xero, NetSuite)
  • Finance or product teams that want to embed virtual card issuance through the Extend API

Ideal size: 5–500 people · SMB to mid-market with an existing business card program

Not for

  • Buyers who need a full ERP, procurement or sourcing suite
  • Enterprises requiring on-premise deployment or a global multi-currency card program outside Visa, Mastercard and Amex
  • Companies with no corporate card program at all

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$1,079/yr

Starts at $0 · Freemium: Starter free up to 5 users; Pro $11.99/user/month monthly or $8.99/user/month billed annually with a 10-user minimum; Enterprise custom.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.7

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Starter up to 5 users; Pro 10-user minimum; Enterprise unlimited users

Add-on costs

  • Enterprise-only API-key card issuance, custom reporting and integrations quoted separately
  • Virtual cards require a card issued by a preferred bank partner

Company & support

Who is behind Extend, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
New York, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatAll plans
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Starter includes email and chat support; Pro adds priority support; Enterprise adds a designated account manager and custom implementation. Billing questions go to [email protected]. No support hours or response-time SLA is stated.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Extend sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$680/yr$3k/yr$11k/yr$17k/yr$27k/yr4d8d14d43d120dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyExtendITILITEClaraPayhawkNetstockWebexpenses

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Extend is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Extend
  • ITILITE
  • Clara
  • Payhawk
  • Netstock
  • Webexpenses
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Extend. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPIntegration
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Extend ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflowsDocument processingNLP automation

Pricing lists AI receipt auto-match, AI receipt verification for manual uploads and AI expense category coding. The vendor also markets custom AI agents that call its virtual card API from customer agentic workflows. No model provider, key-management or logging detail is published on the pages reviewed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Extend is a virtual card and spend management platform layered on the business credit cards a company already holds. Starter is free for up to five users; Pro costs about $1,079 a year at the ten-user minimum and adds approvals, receipt automation, AI receipt matching and accounting sync. Enterprise adds API-driven card issuance and custom integrations. Virtual cards require a card from a preferred bank partner; expense tracking works with any Visa, Mastercard or American Express business card. Buyers are SMB and mid-market finance teams.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Extend cost?

Starter is free for up to 5 users and includes 100 virtual cards per month, budgets and receipt uploads. Pro starts at $11.99 per user per month on monthly billing or $8.99 per user per month billed annually, with a 10-user minimum, and adds approval workflows, up to 500 virtual cards per month, auto-matched receipts, reimbursements and accounting sync. Enterprise is custom priced and adds API-key card issuance, unlimited categories, custom reporting and a designated account manager. Subscriptions are non-refundable.

Do we have to switch banks to use Extend?

Not necessarily. Virtual card issuance is only available with corporate cards issued by Extend's preferred bank partners, including American Express, PNC, BMO, HSBC, Regions, City National, Silicon Valley Bank, Banc of California, Corpay and Texas Capital. If your bank is not on that list you can still register a Visa, Mastercard or American Express business card and use Extend for expense tracking, receipt management and automated expense reporting.

What does implementation look like and how long does it take?

Starter and Pro are self-serve: you register or connect your company cards, invite users, set budgets and rules, and start issuing virtual cards. Vendor reviews describe setup as fast and simple, with an initial production use typically inside one to two weeks. Enterprise adds custom implementation, custom user-defined fields and integrations, which lengthens the rollout. No mandatory implementation fee is published.

What AI features does Extend actually ship?

Vendor pages list AI receipt auto-match, AI receipt verification for manual uploads and AI expense category coding, plus an API that customers can call from their own custom AI agents and agentic workflows. Extend does not publish which model providers it uses, whether customers manage their own model keys, or how AI actions are logged, and it states that AI is a supporting tool rather than the product's core.

Which accounting and finance systems does Extend sync with?

Pro supports two-way sync with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Sage Intacct and Xero, plus automated monthly expense reports. Enterprise adds two-way sync with NetSuite and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, custom reporting and API-driven card issuance. Extend also works with SAP Concur, which embeds Extend payments into its customer experiences.

What compliance certifications does Extend hold?

Extend publishes a Trust Center and an API documentation site, but the vendor pages reviewed for this profile do not itemise certifications such as SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA, so no compliance flags have been set here. Buyers with audit or regulated requirements should request the current reports and penetration-test summaries directly from the vendor before signing.