
Orb
Orb automates usage-based billing, streamlines pricing strategy, and gives teams the tools to accelerate revenue growth.
By Orb · 4.2/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- AI and cloud infrastructure companies monetizing tokens, credits or per-action usage
- Finance teams that need usage billing tied to revenue recognition and ERP sync
- Engineering teams replacing brittle in-house metering with a scalable billing engine
- Product and pricing teams that iterate on packaging and run frequent price migrations
Ideal size: 50–1,000 people · Scale-up to enterprise with product, finance and billing engineering owners
Not for
- Startups wanting a free or transparent self-serve tier; every Orb plan is sales-quoted
- Pure seat-based SaaS with no consumption dimension and no pricing experimentation
- Teams looking for an all-in-one CRM, ERP or subscription storefront
- Buyers who need published list prices and a self-service sign-up flow
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~3 weeks (per Vercel case study)
~21 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Custom-quoted pricing based on billings volume and event volume ingested; Advanced and Enterprise add a platform fee. All plans sold through sales, no self-serve tier.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat tiers; priced on billings volume and event throughput.
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Orb, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Plan tiers carry Basic, Premium and Dedicated support, with Enterprise receiving dedicated support and enterprise-grade SLAs for accuracy, uptime and support.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Orb sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Orb
- impact.com
- Appcues
- ClientSuccess
- Pocus
- Jiminny
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Orb. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Orb ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The product navigation lists an 'AI contract ingest' capability; no other AI features, model sourcing or AI usage logging are documented on the pages reviewed. The pricing FAQ positions Orb as tooling for AI companies, not as an AI-native product.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Orb is a usage-based billing and revenue design platform. It ingests raw usage events at 250K+ events per second, models hybrid seat-plus-usage pricing, automates invoicing, dunning, tax and revenue recognition, and syncs usage and invoices to Snowflake, Salesforce and NetSuite. Plans are custom-quoted across Core, Advanced and Enterprise tiers. Customers include Vercel, LaunchDarkly, Supabase and Pinecone, and case studies report go-live in roughly three weeks to one month.
Frequently asked questions
How does Orb charge for its platform?
Orb quotes custom pricing for all three tiers. Pricing is based on two metrics: the billings you issue to your own customers and the volume of events ingested. Advanced and Enterprise tiers add a platform fee covering additional workflow features and support. There is no published list price or self-serve sign-up; you contact sales for a consultation and plan recommendation.
How long does it take to go live with Orb?
Vendor case studies report Vercel up and running in about three weeks and another customer implementing Orb in one month. Going live requires engineering work to stream usage events into Orb through the API or S3, then modelling plans and billable metrics.
What systems does Orb integrate with?
Every plan includes invoicing and accounting integrations such as QuickBooks, Bill.com and Stripe, plus tax engines including Avalara, Anrok, Numeral, Sphere, Stripe Tax and TaxJar. Advanced and Enterprise plans add NetSuite, Salesforce and one-click data warehouse sync to Snowflake and Redshift.
Is Orb secure and compliant enough for enterprise procurement?
Orb states it completes a third-party SOC 2 Type II audit annually and that the report is available to customers on request. Its security page documents encryption in transit and at rest, annual third-party penetration testing, IAM and role-based access controls, MFA, separate isolated environments, and a data processing addendum available on request.
Can Orb support AI and token-based pricing models?
Yes. Orb targets agentic AI and cloud infrastructure vendors, supporting prepaid credits, credit pools, token and per-action pricing, spend controls and threshold billing to prevent fraud-driven runaway costs. It also lists an AI contract ingest capability for loading negotiated contract terms.