Skip to main content
P
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2005 · 21 yrs

Practice Fusion

Cloud-based EHR and billing services platform for independent medical practices

By Practice Fusion · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Small, independent primary care and specialty practices
  • Practices that want charting, e-prescribing and labs in one browser-based system
  • Groups that want to outsource medical billing to a dedicated billing team
  • Teams with limited in-house IT that value automatic cloud updates

Ideal size: 1–10 providers people · Small independent practice, cloud-first, no in-house IT team

Not for

  • Hospitals and large health systems needing inpatient or enterprise EHR
  • Organizations requiring an on-premise deployment
  • Buyers who need publicly documented security certifications from the vendor site
  • Practices wanting transparent per-module pricing with published add-on rates

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

~1 month (cloud onboarding + free trial)

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$2,388/yr

Starts at $2,388 · Per provider, billed monthly at $199/provider/month with a required annual commitment; includes 3 signing staff licenses and unlimited non-signing staff.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

1 provider license includes 3 signing staff licenses and unlimited non-signing staff licenses.

Add-on costs

  • Fully integrated billing services (credentialing, claims scrubbing, payment posting, denial management) – priced separately, contact vendor

Company & support

Who is behind Practice Fusion, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2005 · 21 yrs in business
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Vendor states support is provided by trained, certified staff via phone, live chat and support tickets, with 24-hour access to a knowledge base of video tutorials; no plan tiers or SLA are published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Practice Fusion sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$15/yr$992/yr$4k/yr$19k/yr0d5d30d38d49dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyPractice FusionSimplePracticeElation HealthTebraSukiBlueprint

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Practice Fusion is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Practice Fusion
  • SimplePractice
  • Elation Health
  • Tebra
  • Suki
  • Blueprint
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Practice Fusion. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Practice Fusion ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for Practice Fusion yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Industry verdicts

How Practice Fusion speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

HealthcareMore patients, less paperwork.

Best for in Healthcare

  • Small independent primary care and specialty practices
  • Clinics that need e-prescribing including controlled substances (EPCS)
  • Practices wanting EHR plus outsourced revenue-cycle and billing services
  • Care teams that send lab and imaging orders and need structured results in-chart

Not for

  • Hospitals and large integrated delivery networks
  • Organizations that require on-premise or self-hosted clinical software
  • Buyers screening for published SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP attestations

Practice Fusion positions itself as the largest cloud-based ambulatory EHR in the U.S., citing 30,000 practices and 5 million patients a month. Its stated audience is small, independent practices, with a free library of customizable charting templates, e-prescribing (EPCS in the 50 states plus D.C.), lab and imaging ordering, and quality/clinical/practice-management reporting. Optional Billing Services add a dedicated billing team, payer enrollment, claims scrubbing, same-day submission, patient statements and denial management. Deployment is 100% cloud with automatic updates, so no server footprint is required.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Practice Fusion is a cloud-based ambulatory EHR aimed at small, independent US medical practices. It bundles customizable charting, e-prescribing (including controlled substances), lab and imaging ordering, and quality, clinical and practice-management reporting. Optional fully integrated Billing Services add a dedicated team for credentialing, claims and denial management. Pricing starts at $199 per provider per month with a required annual commitment, 3 signing staff licenses and a free trial; support covers phone, live chat, tickets and a knowledge base.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Practice Fusion cost?

Pricing starts at $199 per provider per month with a required annual commitment, billed monthly rather than as one large annual expense. That license includes 3 signing staff licenses and unlimited non-signing staff licenses. Taxes are not included. The vendor also offers a free trial with no upfront cost and no credit card required.

What is included in a provider license?

One provider license permits a provider to e-prescribe regular and controlled substances, sign charts and documents, report for MIPS, submit medical claims and perform all other EHR tasks. It comes with 3 signing staff licenses for users who can sign chart notes and documents, plus unlimited non-signing staff who can schedule, upload documents and handle other non-clinical work.

Can Practice Fusion handle medical billing for our practice?

Yes. Practice Fusion Billing Services is a separate offering described as a dedicated billing team with over 30 years of experience across 45+ specialties. It covers payer enrollment, payer compliance tools, claims scrubbing and same-day submission, patient statements and a patient call center, payment posting, A/R follow-up, refunds and denial management. Pricing for these services is not published.

What support is available and when?

The vendor states that trained and certified support staff can be reached by phone, live chat or a submitted support ticket, and that a knowledge base with video tutorials and step-by-step instructions is accessible 24 hours a day. One-on-one training sessions can also be scheduled. No support hours or response-time SLA is published.

How is the software deployed and updated?

Practice Fusion is a 100% cloud-based EHR. Update are applied automatically by the vendor, and the EHR and charting can be accessed from any device, so practices do not need to run or patch servers or install client software.

Does Practice Fusion publish AI or MCP capabilities?

The vendor pages reviewed for this profile do not describe AI features, model providers, AI audit logging or a Model Context Protocol server. This database therefore records no evidenced AI features, an unknown key model and no known MCP integration path.