
Blueprint
AI support system for therapists: documentation, clinical, billing and practice-growth AI.
By Blueprint · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Solo and small-group private practices in behavioral health that want AI-drafted progress notes, treatment plans and client letters.
- Therapists who want to keep their current EHR and layer Blueprint's AI alongside it rather than switching systems.
- Group practices and organizations that need customizable documentation templates, outcome measurement and payer-specific workflows.
- Clinicians who want insurance, billing and claim-denial questions answered in plain language inside the same tool.
Ideal size: 1–200 clinicians people · Solo practitioner to multi-site behavioral health organization
Not for
- Hospitals, health systems and medical or surgical specialty practices outside behavioral health.
- Buyers who need a heavy-touch, vendor-delivered enterprise implementation program.
- Organizations needing certifications beyond the vendor's stated HIPAA, PHIPA and SOC 2 posture, such as FedRAMP.
- Teams that want one flat per-seat subscription covering all users instead of usage-based session credits.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day (first session)
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$1,800/yr
Starts at $0 · Pay-per-session credits: $0.99/session (Alongside your EHR) or $1.49/session (All-in-one EHR); optional $69/seat/month for unlimited sessions. No subscription or monthly minimum.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat minimum; solo through enterprise; custom annual contracts at the enterprise tier
Add-on costs
- Card processing 3.15% + $0.30 per transaction (one FAQ says free until 2027; another says waived until February 2027)
- $0.30 per claim and $0.15 per eligibility check, listed as free until September 2026; a separate FAQ states claims and eligibility checks are included at no cost
Company & support
Who is behind Blueprint, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2019 · 7 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Self-serve product knowledge base plus a community and Help Center linked from the site. Enterprise plans list a dedicated success manager. No support phone line, support email SLA or 24/7 commitment is stated on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Blueprint sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Blueprint
- Freed
- ICANotes
- SimplePractice
- Practice Fusion
- Upheal
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Blueprint. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Blueprint ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Sources describe an AI scribe that drafts progress notes from live sessions, dictation or a typed summary; treatment plans, discharge and after-visit summaries; clinical letters; an AI chat for clinical, insurance and practice questions; and client email drafting. Provider, key-management and audit specifics are not stated.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Blueprint is an AI assistant for mental health professionals. It drafts progress notes, treatment plans and client letters, answers clinical and billing questions, and works alongside an existing EHR or as an all-in-one EHR with scheduling, telehealth, forms, a client portal and insurance billing. Pricing is usage-based per session ($0.99 alongside, $1.49 all-in-one) with no subscription, and enterprise plans add custom templates, API access and a dedicated success manager. The vendor reports 70,000+ professional users.
Frequently asked questions
How is Blueprint priced, and is there a minimum commitment?
Pricing is usage-based per session credit rather than a subscription. Alongside your EHR is $0.99 per session; the All-in-one EHR is $1.49 per session; an unlimited option is listed at $69 per seat per month. The vendor states there is no monthly minimum or contract, session credits never expire, and new signups get free sessions with no credit card. Enterprise is custom with annual contracts and volume discounts.
Do we have to replace our current EHR to use Blueprint?
No. Blueprint offers two modes. Alongside your EHR keeps your existing system and layers the AI on top, with notes and letters copied into the chart you already use; the vendor names SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Headway and Alma as examples. All-in-one EHR makes Blueprint the system of record, adding scheduling, telehealth, intake forms, a client portal, invoicing and insurance billing.
What security and compliance posture does Blueprint claim?
The vendor states HIPAA and PHIPA compliance and SOC 2 Type 2, audited annually, with AES-256 encryption in transit and at rest, automatic deletion of audio recordings after transcription, customer-controlled retention policies and a BAA available. These claims appear on the marketing and help pages rather than on a dedicated trust or security page, so procurement should request the current audit report, BAA and subprocessor list directly.
Does Blueprint train AI models on our client data?
The public privacy page reviewed describes AI processing as a service-provider activity but does not state whether customer data or content is used to train or improve models. Treat this as unconfirmed and get a written answer, plus the current BAA and subprocessor list, before deployment.
How long does it take to get value, and what implementation is required?
Signup is self-serve with a free trial and no credit card, and the AI scribe can produce a note from the first session, so first value typically arrives the same day. The all-in-one EHR can import existing clients, notes, forms and billing data when switching, and forms can be recreated by uploading a PDF. No mandatory implementation fee is published; enterprise engagements add custom templates, integrations and a dedicated success manager.
Which AI features are included in the plans?
AI documentation covers progress notes from recorded sessions, dictation or a typed summary, plus treatment plans, discharge summaries, after-visit summaries and clinical letters. AI clinical support adds session prep, case consultation, assessment and worksheet suggestions and progress tracking. AI billing and insurance explains EOBs and denials, drafts appeals and helps with credentialing. AI marketing drafts SEO guidance, profiles, website copy and referral outreach, and client communications can be drafted and sent in your voice.