Skip to main content
S
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 10 yrs on market

SimplePractice

EHR and practice management software for health and wellness professionals

By SimplePractice, LLC · HQ Santa Monica, US · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Solo and small-group therapists, counselors, and psychologists running private practices
  • Speech-language pathologists and occupational therapists delivering in-person and virtual sessions
  • Psychiatrists who need ePrescribe plus customizable rate tables and treatment plans
  • Practices that want scheduling, telehealth, documentation, billing, and insurance tools in one system
  • Small groups seeking built-in claims tools and optional free credentialing with payers

Ideal size: 1-50 practitioners people · Solo to mid-size private practice, newly licensed or established

Not for

  • Large hospital systems or enterprise health networks needing deep custom configuration
  • Inpatient, residential, or facility-based care organizations outside outpatient private practice
  • Non-clinical businesses looking for general-purpose scheduling or CRM software

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About 30 days (30-day free trial)

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$1,188/yr

Starts at $588 · Monthly subscription per practitioner; free 30-day trial with no credit card; 50% off for the first 3 months

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Starter $49, Essential $79, Plus $99 per month for solo practitioners; group plans add practitioners at $74/mo each; 6+ practitioners get custom pricing

Add-on costs

  • Care Aide AI suite: $59/mo for the account owner, $49/mo per additional clinician (Note Taker, Session Sidekick, Treatment Planner, Client Summaries)
  • Note Taker (AI documentation): $35/mo, included with Care Aide
  • ePrescribe: $49/mo plus a one-time $89 setup fee
  • Insurance Navigator: free for 30 days, then filed at $1.79 per claim (coming soon)

Company & support

Who is behind SimplePractice, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Santa Monica, US

How you get support

  • PhonePaid plans
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Plus group plans list a premium support phone line; groups with 6+ practitioners are offered white-glove support and personalized onboarding. Help Center, FAQs, and product tutorials are available to all users.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where SimplePractice sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$263k/yr$525k/yr$788k/yr$1050k/yr0d71d142d213d283dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value ↑ betterQuick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceySimplePractice
SimplePractice is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What SimplePractice ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Document processingCopilot / assistant

Care Aide is an AI add-on suite: Note Taker transcribes and drafts progress notes, Session Sidekick provides live support and insights during telehealth sessions, Treatment Planner (Beta) creates and updates treatment plans, and Client Summaries produces client-ready recaps. The pricing page does not state which model provider is used or whether AI activity is logged or exportable.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Industry verdicts

How SimplePractice speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

HealthcareMore patients, less paperwork.

Best for in Healthcare

  • Private-practice therapists, counselors, psychologists, and psychiatrists
  • Speech-language pathologists and occupational therapists
  • Solo and small group practices needing telehealth plus insurance billing

Not for

  • Hospital systems and large integrated delivery networks
  • Inpatient, residential, or facility-based care settings
  • Non-clinical organizations needing general-purpose scheduling

SimplePractice is built specifically for health and wellness private practices, with template libraries, integrated telehealth, and insurance tools for therapists, SLPs, OTs, and psychiatrists. It advertises HIPAA-compliant software and a BAA, and reports over 20M clients and 250k practitioners on the platform. Buyers in regulated enterprise health settings, or facilities requiring heavy customization, should evaluate other options.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA FedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

SimplePractice is an EHR and practice-management platform for health and wellness professionals, covering scheduling, telehealth, documentation, billing, and insurance claims. It offers a 30-day free trial and paid plans from $49/month, with AI add-ons such as Care Aide and Note Taker. The vendor reports over 20M clients and 250k practitioners, and highlights HIPAA-focused security and a free BAA.

Frequently asked questions

How much does SimplePractice cost?

Solo plans are Starter at $49, Essential at $79, and Plus at $99 per month, with a free 30-day trial and 50% off the first three months. Group practices add practitioners at $74 per month each, and groups with 6+ practitioners receive custom pricing. AI add-ons such as Care Aide ($59/mo) and Note Taker ($35/mo) cost extra.

Is SimplePractice HIPAA compliant?

Yes. SimplePractice states its software is HIPAA-compliant, offers a business associate agreement (BAA) in its site footer, and maintains a security page and trust center covering data protection and payment security.

How long does implementation take?

The product is self-serve: you can start a free 30-day trial without a credit card, and the support page addresses switching or migrating from another EHR and the onboarding support available. Expect first value within roughly a month for a small practice.

Does SimplePractice offer phone support?

The pricing page lists a premium support phone line as a Plus group plan highlight, and 6+ practitioner groups are offered white-glove support and personalized onboarding. Help Center articles, FAQs, and product tutorials are available to everyone.

Does SimplePractice have AI features?

Yes, through the paid Care Aide add-on: Note Taker transcribes and drafts progress notes, Session Sidekick provides live support and insights during telehealth sessions, Treatment Planner (Beta) creates and updates treatment plans, and Client Summaries produces client-ready recaps.

Who is SimplePractice designed for?

Health and wellness private practices: therapists, counselors, psychologists, speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists, and psychiatrists, including solo practitioners and small groups that need telehealth, documentation, and insurance billing in one system.