Skip to main content
Shippo (Popout, Inc. DBA Shippo) logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2013 · 13 yrs

Shippo

Multi-carrier shipping software and API with discounted rates from 40+ carriers, built for e-commerce merchants, platforms and 3PLs.

By Shippo (Popout, Inc. DBA Shippo) · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • E-commerce SMBs that want discounted USPS, UPS, FedEx and DHL Express rates without negotiating carrier contracts
  • High-volume shippers and 3PLs needing bulk label generation, manifests, returns and a stable shipping API
  • Marketplaces, platforms and software providers embedding shipping into their own product via one REST API
  • Ops teams replacing manual post-office runs with rate shopping, branded tracking and automated notifications

Ideal size: 1-200+ (SMB through high volume) people · E-commerce merchant, marketplace, platform or 3PL scaling parcel volume

Not for

  • Businesses whose core need is freight, LTL or truckload brokerage rather than parcel shipping
  • Government or regulated buyers requiring FedRAMP or similar government-grade certifications
  • Companies wanting an ERP-native TMS with warehouse management and inventory built in

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Same day for app; days for API

~1 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$205/yr

Starts at $0 · Tiered subscription: Starter free, Pro from $17/mo ($205/year with 10% annual saving), Premier custom; carrier postage billed on top

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Starter: 1 user login; Pro: up to 5 user logins; Premier: 15+ user logins

Add-on costs

  • API calls not associated with Shippo labels (tracking, rating, address validation) and the Estimate API are billed separately at API Starter rates
  • Connecting your own carrier account costs 5 cents per label on Starter and is free on Pro and above

Company & support

Who is behind Shippo, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2013 · 13 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhonePaid plans
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatPaid plans
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Free Starter includes email support. Pro adds chat and phone support. Premier adds a dedicated account manager. No support hours or response-time SLA is published on the pages reviewed.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Shippo sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$130/yr$190/yr$293/yr$4k/yr$57k/yr1d2d3d12d45dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyShippoShipHeroMercuryAspireShipStationSkuad

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Shippo is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Shippo
  • ShipHero
  • Mercury
  • Aspire
  • ShipStation
  • Skuad
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Shippo. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Shippo ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Agentic workflowsPredictive analytics

Sources evidence AI-estimated delivery dates on the Pro plan and an official MCP server that lets external AI agents (Claude, ChatGPT, other frameworks) shop rates, buy labels, track shipments and run scheduled shipping workflows. No model configuration, model-provider choice or AI audit logging is documented.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Shippo is a multi-carrier shipping platform and API founded in 2013. Merchants, marketplaces, platforms and 3PLs connect their stores to 40+ carriers to compare rates, print labels, track shipments and handle returns. A free Starter app tier leads to Pro at $17/mo and a custom Premier plan; the REST API embeds shipping into other products, and an official MCP server lets AI agents buy labels and automate workflows. No security or compliance certifications are documented on the vendor pages reviewed.

Frequently asked questions

How is Shippo priced?

The shipping app has three tiers: Starter is free with up to 30 labels a month and one user login; Pro starts at $17 per month ($205 per year with the 10% annual discount) for up to 200 labels and five logins; Premier is custom with unlimited shipments and 15+ logins. Carrier postage is billed on top, and API calls not tied to Shippo labels are billed separately at API Starter rates.

How fast can we get shipping live?

Small merchants can connect a store, compare rates and print a first label the same day on the free Starter plan. API and platform integrations take longer, but customer evidence describes connecting the API in a weekend and launching carrier access without building individual carrier integrations.

Does Shippo support AI agents and MCP?

Yes. Shippo ships an official MCP server that connects in one click to Claude, ChatGPT or any MCP-compatible agent, or by installing mcp.shippo.com with OAuth. Agents can rate shop, buy labels, track shipments, validate addresses and run scheduled workflows such as daily delay checks with Slack summaries.

Can we keep our own carrier accounts?

Yes. You can connect your own carrier account: on Starter there is a 5 cent per-label charge for this, and on Pro and above it is free. Accounts and rates already in Shippo carry over when you connect the MCP, so there is no reconfiguration.

What certifications and compliance coverage does Shippo have?

None are documented on the vendor pages reviewed here: no SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, FedRAMP, ISO 42001 or IAPP AIGP claim appears on a security, trust or compliance page. Buyers with regulated shipping data should request current attestations and a data-processing agreement directly from Shippo before signing.

Is Shippo suitable for high-volume or platform-embedded shipping?

Yes. Shippo targets high-volume shippers, 3PLs, marketplaces and software providers, offering bulk label generation, manifests, analytics and a single API covering 40+ carriers. Customers report scaling to hundreds of millions of shipments and expanding carrier coverage without new integrations, with Premier and API/enterprise terms handled through sales.

Shippo Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (Same day for app; days for API to value) | Value-Position