ShipStation
Every parcel. Every pallet. One platform.
By ShipStation · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Ecommerce brands shipping a few hundred to tens of thousands of parcels a month
- Merchants who want parcel and LTL freight managed in a single dashboard
- Sellers on Shopify, Amazon, eBay, TikTok Shop and similar channels who need one fulfillment hub
- Ops teams that want automated rate shopping across 200+ parcel carriers and 50+ LTL carriers
- Businesses embedding shipping into existing systems via the ShipStation API and webhooks
Ideal size: 5–100 people · Growing ecommerce brand with a dedicated fulfillment or logistics owner
Not for
- Companies that do not ship physical goods
- Retailers that only need in-store POS or merchandising software
- Shippers needing customs brokerage or a full freight TMS
- Teams expecting compliance certifications to be published on the vendor site
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Set up in minutes; 30-day free trial
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,000/yr
Starts at $180 · Monthly subscription tiered by monthly shipment volume (50 to 100,000 shipments); annual billing saves 20%; postage and insurance billed separately
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Starter includes 3 users, Standard 10, Premium 15; additional users purchasable
Add-on costs
- 3PL Manager add-on (extra monthly fee)
- Dropship Manager add-on (extra monthly fee)
- Fulfillment provider add-on (extra monthly fee)
- Additional users beyond the plan seat limit
- Postage and shipping insurance billed separately
Company & support
Who is behind ShipStation, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPaid plans
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
24/7 Help Center cited for every plan. Per the pricing FAQ, free tier gets chatbot support, Starter adds email and chat, Standard adds phone, and Premium adds dedicated account management. Phone is therefore not available on every paid plan.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where ShipStation sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- ShipStation
- Sendcloud
- Starshipit
- Housecall Pro
- Skuad
- Parabola
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including ShipStation. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What ShipStation ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
ShipStation is a cloud fulfillment platform for ecommerce shippers that unifies parcel and LTL freight in one dashboard. It connects 400+ integrations and 200+ parcel carriers plus 50+ LTL carriers, with automated rate shopping, label automation, inventory and warehouse tools, returns and a shipping API. Plans run from Starter at $14.99/month to Premium at $349.99/month, tiered by monthly shipment volume, with a 30-day free trial, self-serve setup and no mandatory implementation fee.
Frequently asked questions
How quickly can ShipStation be deployed?
ShipStation is self-serve: the vendor says setup takes minutes and new accounts get a 30-day free trial with instant access to features. Stores, carriers and automations are configured in the dashboard, and the Premium plan adds dedicated implementation help. The pricing page lists no mandatory implementation fee.
What does ShipStation cost for a mid-market shipper?
Pricing is a subscription tiered by monthly shipment volume. Starter begins at $14.99/month for 50 shipments, Standard at $29.99/month, and Premium at $349.99/month; annual billing saves 20%. At 5,000 shipments a month, Standard lists at $249.99/month, roughly $3,000 a year, plus postage and insurance. Add-ons such as 3PL Manager and Dropship Manager cost extra.
Can ShipStation handle freight as well as parcels?
Yes. ShipStation supports parcel and LTL freight in one workflow, including LTL rate comparison, quoting and booking, BOL and freight document generation, tracking and voiding, cargo insurance, and use of your own Worldwide Express or Unishippers account. The vendor also states LTL capabilities are available through the API.
What support is included with each plan?
Support scales by tier. The free plan gets chatbot support, Starter adds email and chat, Standard adds phone support, and Premium adds dedicated account management. The vendor also cites a 24/7 Help Center and a 96% customer satisfaction score.
Does ShipStation offer an API and third-party integrations?
Yes. The pricing comparison lists Shipping API access from the Standard plan, along with webhooks and ODBC connectivity. The integrations page lists 400+ connectors spanning carriers, marketplaces and carts, plus ERP and accounting systems such as Oracle NetSuite and QuickBooks.
Does ShipStation publish security or privacy certifications?
The vendor pages reviewed here do not state compliance certifications such as SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA or FedRAMP. Buyers with regulated data should request current security documentation directly from the vendor before contracting.