Skip to main content
AWeber logo
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 28 yrs on market

AWeber

Email marketing, automation and lightweight ecommerce for small businesses, with a free plan and an official MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude

By AWeber · 4.5/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Small businesses and creator-led brands running email marketing to lists up to the low tens of thousands
  • Teams that want a permanent free plan (up to 500 subscribers) with no credit card and no time limit
  • Sellers who want signup forms, landing pages, automation and a simple storefront in one tool
  • Marketers who want to analyse campaigns and draft emails from ChatGPT or Claude via AWeber's MCP server

Ideal size: 1–50 people · Small business, solo marketer or creator with an existing email list

Not for

  • Enterprises needing deep CRM, multi-touch attribution or marketing operations suites
  • Teams that require a named account manager or on-site implementation
  • Buyers who must see vendor-published SOC 2 or ISO 27001 evidence before adopting
  • High-volume transactional or deliverability-engineering use cases

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 days

~2 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$360/yr

Starts at $0 · Free plan up to 500 subscribers; paid plans start at $15/mo (Lite) and $30/mo (Plus), with price rising as subscriber count grows.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.5

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No seat minimum; pricing is based on subscriber count (free covers up to 500 subscribers and 3,000 emails/month).

Add-on costs

  • AWeber charges a fee on each transaction made through its ecommerce and payment-plan features (rate not stated).

Company & support

Who is behind AWeber, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Homepage states 24/7 support by phone, live chat or email with in-house specialists, but does not name which plans include it. The support centre also links to a community, knowledge base, video tutorials, virtual events and certified experts.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where AWeber sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$90/yr$260/yr$414/yr$970/yr$2k/yr1d2d3d5d8dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyAWeberUnbounceMailerLiteMadgicxLandbotIgnition

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

AWeber is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • AWeber
  • Unbounce
  • MailerLite
  • Madgicx
  • Landbot
  • Ignition
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including AWeber. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What AWeber ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Copilot / assistantNLP automation

The MCP page states AWeber ships an official MCP server so ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Claude Code can read lists, subscribers, broadcasts, Workflow per-message stats and forms, then add, tag or move subscribers and save broadcast drafts. The homepage advertises an AI writing and Subject Line Assistant. No model-provider or AI logging detail is stated.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

AWeber is a small-business email marketing platform with a permanent free plan for up to 500 subscribers and paid plans from $15/month. It bundles signup forms, landing pages, email automation, lightweight ecommerce pages and web push notifications, connects to 750+ tools including Shopify, WordPress, PayPal, Salesforce and HubSpot, and includes free migration plus 24/7 phone, chat and email support. Since December 2025 its official MCP server lets ChatGPT and Claude read campaign, list and automation data and draft emails.

Frequently asked questions

How much does AWeber cost for a small business?

You can start at $0. The free plan covers up to 500 subscribers and 3,000 emails a month with no time limit. Paid plans start at $15/month for Lite and $30/month for Plus, and the price rises with your subscriber count. Free sends carry AWeber branding; paid plans remove it.

How quickly can we get live on AWeber?

Fast. The free plan needs no credit card, and AWeber positions the product as something a small business can learn in an afternoon. Migrations from Mailchimp or another platform are handled by AWeber's team at no cost: you schedule it and they move the account.

Does AWeber have an MCP server for ChatGPT or Claude?

Yes. AWeber MCP is AWeber's official MCP server, launched December 2025, and it is listed in the ChatGPT App Directory and Claude's connector directory. Developers can add https://mcp.aweber.com/mcp as a remote MCP server (Streamable HTTP, OAuth 2.1). Access is included on all plans, and you can revoke it at any time.

What can we actually do through the AWeber MCP server?

Ask questions in plain language and get back charts and tables built from your own account: broadcast performance, the workflow step where engagement drops, and list health. You can also add, tag and move subscribers, build segments, and have an email drafted from your top performers' voice and saved as a draft for review.

Which tools does AWeber integrate with?

AWeber says it connects to 750+ tools, including Shopify, WordPress, PayPal, Facebook and Zapier. Its integration directory also lists Salesforce, HubSpot CRM, Pipedrive, BigCommerce and Calendly. Where a direct integration is missing, Zapier, Microsoft Flow, Apiant or Integromat can bridge it.

What support is included?

AWeber advertises 24/7 support by phone, live chat or email with in-house specialists, and free migrations handled by its team. Self-serve resources include a knowledge base, community, video tutorials, virtual events and a directory of certified experts.