Double
AI-assisted month-end close management for accounting firms and finance teams, built on a two-way ledger sync.
By Double · HQ Austin, US · 4.8/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Accounting and bookkeeping firms running recurring month-end closes for dozens or hundreds of clients
- Internal finance teams that want to shorten close cycles with AI-assisted transaction handling and reconciliations
- Firms replacing spreadsheets, checklists and disconnected tools with a single close platform
- Practices whose clients' ledgers already sit in QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage or NetSuite
- Teams that need a branded client portal for document requests, questions and review sign-off
Ideal size: 5–500 users (unlimited seats) people · Established accounting practice or finance team with recurring close cycles
Not for
- Businesses looking for a general ledger or bookkeeping system, since Double syncs with QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and NetSuite rather than replacing them
- Companies with no client-facing or month-end close workflow to manage
- Firms unwilling to go through a demo-led sales, pilot and onboarding process
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 30 days (demo-led pilot)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$2,400/yr
Starts at $2,400 · Per connected client, billed monthly, with unlimited users on every plan; mix-and-match tiers plus an annual-commitment option for internal finance teams. Sold through a personalised demo and pilot.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Unlimited users on all plans; billed per connected client at the start of each monthly cycle, minimum one connected client; quarterly clients billed monthly.
Add-on costs
- The Tax Suite: included with a $200 per month annual commitment
- Emails: $10 per connected team email per month (one Practice Email included in Core)
Company & support
Who is behind Double, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2021 · 5 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Austin, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists priority support plus dedicated onboarding, data migration and a CSM on the Internal Finance annual plan, and a dedicated Customer Success member during pilot onboarding. No support hours, response SLA, help centre or support email is stated.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Double sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Double
- Karbon
- Uku
- Filevine
- Float
- Financial Cents
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Double. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Double ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Vendor pages describe AI-enabled automations that categorise and post transactions, draft complex journal entries and let reviewers focus on exceptions; an 'Ask Double' assistant appears in customer stories. No source states the model provider, whether customers can bring their own key, or whether AI actions are logged or exportable.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Industry verdicts
How Double speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.
Best for in Professional Services
- Bookkeeping firms closing books for many clients every month
- CAS and advisory practices scaling clients without adding admin headcount
- Mid-market and enterprise accounting firms standardising close workflows across teams
- Firms wanting client communication, document requests and review in one portal
Not for
- Non-accounting businesses looking for their own bookkeeping or accounting system
- Practices whose clients are not on QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage or NetSuite
- Teams that will not run a demo-led sales process before adopting
Double is purpose-built for accounting and bookkeeping practices and internal finance teams, which is where all of its published customer evidence sits. Firms use it to run month-end close across many client ledgers, track close progress, request documents through a branded client portal and route exceptions into review. Case studies span small bookkeeping shops through Top 100 firms and enterprise finance teams, reporting outcomes such as 10 days faster closes or hundreds of hours saved per month. It is not a ledger: the client's books stay in QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage or NetSuite, and Double keeps a two-way sync with them.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Double is month-end close management software for accounting firms and internal finance teams. It syncs two-way with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and NetSuite so close work stays tied to the ledger, then layers AI-enabled automations over transaction categorisation, journal entries and reconciliations. Practice tools cover task tracking, client communication, a branded client portal and file review. Pricing is per connected client per month with unlimited users, sold via demo, pilot and dedicated onboarding. Double reports SOC 2 accreditation.
Frequently asked questions
How long does implementation take and what does onboarding involve?
Double's pricing page says the first step is a personalised demo. If you sign a contract to pilot Double, a dedicated Customer Success team member supports onboarding, implementation and adoption, and your Account Executive agrees the pilot roadmap. Internal Finance plans include a full implementation and success programme with data migration. Treat it as a guided rollout measured in weeks, not a self-serve signup, and expect contract and demo steps before first production use.
How is Double priced?
Pricing is per connected client, billed monthly, with unlimited users on every plan. Firms mix and match tiers per client, so they only pay for the features each client needs; a client counts as connected once its QuickBooks Online or Xero ledger is imported. At least one connected client is required, and quarterly clients are billed monthly. Add-ons include the Tax Suite (included with a $200 per month annual commitment) and Emails at $10 per connected team email per month. Internal finance teams buy an annual flat-rate plan priced through sales.
Does Double replace QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite?
No. The client's accounting data stays in the ledger. Double is powered by two-way sync with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and NetSuite, so changes made in Double update in the ledger and close work stays grounded in real financial data. The vendor describes QuickBooks Online as the client's accounting software, with Double layered above it for practice management, review and reporting.
Is Double secure, and where is customer data stored?
Double publishes a security statement: SOC 2 accredited, SSL/TLS with 256-bit encryption in transit, AES-256 block-level encryption at rest, annual penetration testing, annual business continuity and disaster recovery tests, and DDoS mitigation via AWS. Credit card and direct debit details are never stored by Double, and payments run through Stripe. Servers housing customer data are located in the United States.
What AI features does Double actually ship?
Vendor pages describe AI-enabled automations that categorise and post transactions, draft complex journal entries, and let reviewers concentrate on exceptions during reconciliation, plus AI-driven transaction handling for internal finance teams. Customer stories reference an 'Ask Double' assistant. Double does not state which model provider it uses, whether customers can supply their own key, or whether AI actions are logged or exportable.
Which other tools does Double integrate with?
Beyond the two-way ledger sync with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and NetSuite, Double lists a Zapier integration for connecting thousands of other apps, and meeting-note integrations with Ping and Abacor that turn client conversations into structured notes, summaries and action items linked to the right client inside Double.