Float
Resource management and capacity planning software for professional services and in-house delivery teams
By Float · 4.4/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Professional services firms (agencies, consultancies, IT services) that bill by the hour and manage utilisation
- In-house creative and delivery teams of 11–1,000+ people scheduling a shared people pool
- Resource managers and delivery ops leads needing real-time availability and capacity views
- Finance and delivery leaders tracking project margin, budget burn and estimates vs. actuals
Ideal size: 11–1,000+ people · Scale-up or enterprise professional services / in-house delivery team
Not for
- Firms wanting a full PSA or ERP with invoicing, accounting and CRM in one system
- Very small teams or solo operators with no capacity planning need
- Engineering teams looking for sprint planning or software delivery tooling
- Organisations requiring FedRAMP or HIPAA-grade certifications
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2–4 weeks
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$7,200/yr
Starts at $84 · Per scheduled person, billed monthly or annually; guest users free; custom pricing on Enterprise
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Pay per scheduled person; unlimited free guests; Enterprise best for 100+ seats; 30-day free Pro trial
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Float, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2011 · 15 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Business hours
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists 24/7 AI chat plus Mon-Fri human support. Enterprise adds priority support, designated customer success contact, dedicated onboarding and SLAs; [email protected] is published on the security page.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Float sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Float
- Productive
- Uku
- MyCase
- Rocket Matter
- Canopy
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Float. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Float ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Industry verdicts
How Float speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.
Best for in Professional Services
- Agencies, consultancies and IT services firms billing time and materials
- In-house delivery teams managing a shared pool of 11–1,000+ people
- Resource managers tracking availability, utilisation and project margin
Not for
- Firms needing built-in invoicing and accounting (Float is not a PSA/ERP)
- Teams that do not schedule people against projects
- Buyers needing vertical-specific regulatory certification
Float's core market is professional services—marketing and advertising agencies, software and IT services firms, and consultancies—plus in-house creative and delivery teams, with 4,500+ customers and 220,000+ people scheduled. It replaces spreadsheets and lighter PM tools with capacity planning, scheduling, time tracking and margin reporting, and integrates alongside existing CRM, PM and finance stacks rather than replacing them. Enterprise plans add onboarding, SLAs and a designated customer success contact.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Float is resource management software for professional services and in-house delivery teams. It gives resource managers and delivery leaders a real-time view of who is doing what, at what cost, spanning scheduling, capacity planning, project budgets, time tracking and margin reporting. Plans start at $7 per scheduled person per month with a 30-day free trial; guests are free. Integrations cover Google Calendar, Outlook, Slack, Jira, Asana and Zapier, plus a public API and an MCP connector (beta).
Frequently asked questions
What does Float cost?
Float lists Starter at $7 and Pro at $12 USD per scheduled person per month, billed monthly or annually. Guest users who only need to view the schedule are free. All trials default to Pro for 30 days with no credit card, and Enterprise pricing for 100+ seat teams is custom.
How long does implementation take?
Float is cloud-based and self-serve: teams can start on a 30-day Pro trial and schedule work immediately. Enterprise plans include onboarding setup, rollout and training plus a technical consult on integrations and data imports, which is when larger firms usually formalise their rollout.
Which tools does Float integrate with?
Float syncs with Google Calendar and Outlook calendar and connects to Slack, Zapier, Jira, Asana, ClickUp, Basecamp, Aprimo and CRM/finance tools such as Karbon. A public API and iOS/Android mobile apps are available, so most stacks connect without replacing existing CRM, PM or finance systems.
Is Float secure and compliant?
Float states it is SOC 2 certified and GDPR compliant, with AES-256 encryption, TLS 1.2, one-way password encryption and hosting on Google Cloud Platform in the United States. GDPR rights including portability, rectification and erasure are documented, and a live system status page is published.
Does Float have AI features or an MCP server?
Float advertises AI-assisted staffing and AI people-experience profiles, and offers a beta Float MCP connector that lets users ask questions about their people and projects from Claude. The vendor does not publish which models it uses or whether customers can bring their own keys.
What support comes with each plan?
The pricing page lists 24/7 AI chat plus Mon-Fri human support, with a help centre, video guides and API documentation for self-service. Enterprise adds priority support, a designated customer success contact, dedicated onboarding, SLAs and workflow consults.