Uku
Accounting practice management software that gets work done on time, billed and paid.
By Uku · 4.7/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Accounting and bookkeeping firms that run recurring client work on deadlines, tasks and workflows.
- Firms that bill hourly or on fixed fees and want tracked time to become invoices without re-keying.
- Multi-office practices wanting one place for clients, documents, e-signing and workload cover.
- Elite-plan firms that want Claude or ChatGPT to operate their practice data through MCP.
Ideal size: 2-100 members people · Established accounting firm with recurring client workflows
Not for
- Businesses outside accounting; Uku is built around client engagements and firm billing.
- Teams looking to replace their general ledger; Uku integrates with QuickBooks, Xero and others.
- Solo accountants with well over 20 active clients, which is the Solo plan's cap.
- Buyers who need a permanently free plan; Uku offers a 14-day trial only.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2-6 weeks
~21 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$4,560/yr
Starts at $228 · Per member, per month, billed annually; clients use the portal free. Solo $19, Team $38, Elite $48, Enterprise $88 (annual USD).
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Solo: 1 member and 20 active clients. Team, Elite and Enterprise: unlimited members and clients; you pay only for active members.
Add-on costs
- Optional onboarding packages: Small $700 (up to 4 members), Medium $2,000 (up to 15 members), Big custom.
- The first 90 minutes of onboarding help are free for every new account.
Company & support
Who is behind Uku, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2017 · 9 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Business hours
- Response time
- Within one business day (contact form).
The support team is available Monday-Friday; the support chatbot runs 24/7. Every new account gets a free 90-minute onboarding session; the Medium onboarding package adds VIP support; Enterprise includes a dedicated account manager.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Uku sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Uku
- MyCase
- Float
- Financial Cents
- Productive
- Liscio
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Uku. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Uku ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Official MCP server on the Elite plan: 88 tools let Claude, ChatGPT or custom agents read and act on clients, tasks, time, invoices and BI, under the signed-in person's permissions, with previews before consequential writes and money behind its own consent. Native in-product AI agents (morning briefings, drafted client emails) are still listed as coming.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Full audit trail
Industry verdicts
How Uku speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.
Best for in Professional Services
- Accounting, bookkeeping and audit firms with recurring compliance deadlines.
- Firms that need time tracking tied to invoicing and client profitability.
- Multi-office or multi-country practices standardising workflows.
- Firms adopting AI assistants that need permission-scoped access to practice data.
Not for
- Non-accounting consultancies without recurring client compliance work.
- Firms wanting a full general ledger; Uku integrates with QuickBooks, Xero and similar tools.
- Practices unwilling to run client work through structured recurring workflows.
Uku is vertical software for accounting practices: the case-study page shows CPA and accounting firms from 5 to 300+ employees, across 25+ countries, using it for task management, time tracking, billing, documents, e-signing and a branded client portal. Depth comes from firm-specific constructs such as client agreements, monitoring, AML checks, flextime and per-client workflow templates, plus 21 accounting-software and registry integrations. It is not a general-purpose PSA: value depends on adopting recurring work plans and per-member pricing, and the Solo plan caps one member at 20 active clients.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Uku is accounting practice management software for accounting and bookkeeping firms. It runs tasks, recurring workflows, time tracking, documents, e-signing, billing and a branded client portal in one place, with 21 integrations including QuickBooks, Xero, Gmail and Microsoft 365. Per-member pricing starts at $19/month (Solo); Elite at $48 adds BI analytics, workforce management, public API v3 and an official MCP server so Claude or ChatGPT can work on firm data under the user's permissions.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get Uku live?
Uku says firms go live in 2-6 weeks with its onboarding team. Every new account gets a free 90-minute onboarding session, and paid packages ($700 Small, $2,000 Medium) cover client import, workflow setup and team training. Some customers report full team adoption within a week.
What does Uku cost for a mid-sized firm?
Team is $38 per member per month billed annually; the pricing page's example of 10 members on Team comes to $4,560 per year. Solo is $19, Elite $48 and Enterprise $88 per member on annual billing. Clients use the portal free, there are no long-term contracts, and every signup starts with a 14-day full Elite trial with no credit card.
Does Uku replace our accounting software?
No. Uku is practice management, not a ledger. It integrates with QuickBooks, Xero, e-conomic, Tripletex, Fortnox, Directo, 360 Ksiegowosc, SmartAccounts, FreeAgent, Scoro and Merit Aktiva to import clients and export generated invoices back.
Can our AI assistant work inside Uku?
Yes, on the Elite plan, via the official Uku MCP server. You sign in from Claude or ChatGPT and it reads and acts on clients, tasks, time, invoices and BI under your permissions. Consequential writes preview first, financial data needs a separate consent, and administration is out of reach entirely.
Is Uku secure and compliant?
Uku states it is SOC 2 Type I certified, with data hosted in EU data centers, encryption at rest and in transit, regular security audits and strict access controls. The product also runs automated anti-money-laundering checks with a client risk profile and status.
Who is Uku not for?
Firms outside accounting, teams wanting a general ledger replacement, and solo accountants with more than 20 active clients, which is the Solo plan's cap.