Skip to main content
R
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2018 · 8 yrs

Runn

Resource management and capacity planning software for professional services teams

By Runn · HQ Aotearoa, New Zealand · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Consultancies and advisory firms forecasting billable capacity across engagements
  • Marketing, design and software agencies scheduling people across client projects
  • IT and engineering services teams tracking utilization and billability
  • PMOs replacing disconnected spreadsheets with one view of capacity and demand
  • Services leaders who need data-backed answers before committing to new work or hiring

Ideal size: 20–500+ people · Scale-up or enterprise services firm with a dedicated resourcing or PMO function

Not for

  • Product or engineering teams wanting sprint and backlog management instead of capacity planning
  • Companies looking for a full ERP, accounting or HR suite
  • Very small teams below the 20 resource-seat minimum
  • Businesses that do not bill or forecast their people's time

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Under 1 week

~7 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$6,600/yr

Starts at $1,680 · Per resource seat, billed monthly or annually (Lite $7, Standard $11 per resource seat/month), 20-seat minimum

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.0

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Minimum 20 resource seats; volume discounts available above 100 resources

Add-on costs

  • Optional implementation services and training, available on eligible plans
  • Dedicated CSM and custom SLAs on eligible/Advanced plans

Company & support

Who is behind Runn, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2018 · 8 yrs in business
Headquarters
Aotearoa, New Zealand

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatAll plans
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Pricing page lists a 24/7 AI agent, in-app human support and a Help Center on all plans; the 24/7 figure refers to the AI agent, not confirmed human hours. Dedicated CSM, implementation services and custom SLAs are 'eligible' add-ons, not automatically included. [email protected] is a general contact.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Runn sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$6k/yr$7k/yr$8k/yr$10k/yr$12k/yr6d10d14d15dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyRunnLiscioRocket MatterMyCaseProductiveCanopy

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Runn is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Runn
  • Liscio
  • Rocket Matter
  • MyCase
  • Productive
  • Canopy
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Runn. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceCustom build
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Runn ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for Runn yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Industry verdicts

How Runn speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.

Best for in Professional Services

  • Consultancies, advisory and professional services firms planning billable capacity
  • Marketing, design and software agencies scheduling people across client projects
  • IT, cloud and engineering services teams tracking utilization and billability
  • PMOs replacing spreadsheets with real-time capacity and demand visibility
  • Firms that need forecasts to justify hiring and pipeline commitments

Not for

  • Product companies planning by roadmap rather than by person
  • Firms that do not bill or forecast time
  • Teams below the 20 resource-seat minimum
  • Organizations wanting a full ERP or accounting system

Runn's case studies are dominated by consultancies, agencies and IT/engineering services firms, including advisory (EisnerAmper), cloud consultancy (Ollion), IT services (Smartmatic, TPG Telecom), design and software agencies, and a clinical research organization. The product is built around billable capacity, utilization, rate cards and planned-vs-actual financials, so it fits firms that sell people's time and need forward visibility. It is less suited to product organizations that plan by roadmap. Plans start at 20 resource seats, so very small firms should look elsewhere.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not heldGDPR HIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Runn is resource management and capacity planning software for professional services organisations. It replaces spreadsheets with a real-time view of capacity, demand, utilization and project financials so teams can decide what work to take on and when to hire. Founded in 2018 in New Zealand, Runn is used by 500+ customers and 15,000+ professionals, with a 20-resource-seat minimum, per-seat pricing from $7/month and SOC 2 Type II certification.

Frequently asked questions

How is Runn priced?

Runn charges per resource seat, not per user: Lite is $7 and Standard is $11 per resource seat per month, with a 20-resource-seat minimum. Advanced is custom-priced. Annual billing is cheaper than monthly, and volume discounts start above 100 resources.

How long does implementation take?

Runn is largely self-serve: the vendor says you can start scheduling in under 10 minutes on a 30-day free trial with no credit card. Optional implementation services and training are available on eligible plans for more complex rollouts.

What does Runn integrate with?

Out-of-the-box integrations cover HR and time-tracking systems such as BambooHR, HiBob, Workday, ADP, Harvest and Clockify, plus Jira, Zapier and n8n. A public API and CSV bulk importer are available for custom integrations.

Is Runn secure and compliant?

Yes. Runn states it is SOC 2 Type II certified and supports GDPR and CCPA/CPRA compliance. Data is encrypted in transit (TLS 1.2+) and at rest (AES-256), hosted on Salesforce Heroku in US or EU data centres, with SSO/MFA and role-based access control.

Does Runn fit enterprise-sized teams?

Yes. Runn says it scales as organizations grow, and offers SAML SSO, unlimited custom fields and reports, workstreams, custom insights dashboards, a dedicated CSM and custom SLAs on eligible plans.