Canopy
All-in-one accounting practice management with embedded AI for CPA and tax firms
By Canopy, Inc. · 4.6/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- CPA, tax and bookkeeping firms that want CRM, documents, workflow, billing and client portal in one login
- Firms trying to retire a 10+ app franken-stack and duplicate data entry
- Practices wanting AI automation (Coworker, Notetaker) inside the same secured system of record
- Solo through large multi-location firms that need role-based permissions and capacity planning
Ideal size: 1–200 users people · Growing accounting firm outgrowing spreadsheet-and-tool sprawl
Not for
- Non-accounting businesses looking for generic project management
- Firms outside the U.S. tax and IRS filing context
- Buyers wanting deep ERP, manufacturing cost accounting or GL replacement
- Teams unwilling to run beta AI features or paid consumption add-ons
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Days, not months
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$8,880/yr
Starts at $888 · Per user, per month, billed annually: Standard $74, Plus $109, Premium $149; Enterprise custom-quoted. Monthly billing available at roughly 20% more.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
All plans are per-user; no stated seat minimum. Enterprise is custom-quoted (vendor notes large, ~200-person firms).
Add-on costs
- Tax Workflow Automation: from $34 per credit/client, annual billing, volume discounts
- Close Automation: $10 per connected client/month (first 5 connections included)
- Tax Resolution: $50 per user/month, annual billing, volume discounts
- Knowledge-Based Authentication (KBA) credits: $1.25 each
- Payment processing: cards 3.30% + $0.20; ACH 1% capped at $10
- AI Notetaker included hours per plan: 8 (Standard), 12 (Plus), 16 (Premium) per user/month
Company & support
Who is behind Canopy, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneAll plans
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing FAQ states customers can chat in, call in to a support team member, or email; self-serve resources include knowledge base articles, in-app guides, video tutorials and Canopy University. Vendor also cites implementation teams and credentialed CPAs.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Canopy sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Canopy ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Canopy Coworker (described as everyehere AI, in beta) plans and executes work across tasks, workflows and clients with a review queue for approval; Notetaker turns client conversations into CRM records; AI renames documents, builds requests from prior-year returns, matches IRS notices, forecasts capacity and flags bookkeeping anomalies. Vendor states AI runs inside Canopy's secured environment.…
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Industry verdicts
How Canopy speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.
Best for in Professional Services
- CPA, tax and bookkeeping firms of roughly 1–200 people
- Practices consolidating client intake, proposals, documents, workflow, time and billing into one login
- Multi-location firms needing role-based permissions and firm-wide capacity reporting
Not for
- General professional-services firms without tax or engagement-letter workflows
- In-house corporate finance teams that do not serve external clients
- Firms needing industry-depth outside U.S. accounting (e.g. legal or consulting matter management)
Canopy is purpose-built for U.S. accounting, CPA, tax and bookkeeping practices, replacing standalone tools for intake, proposals and engagement letters, document collection, workflow tracking, time and billing, and client communication. The vendor claims firms average 12 fewer apps after consolidation and cites 15k+ practitioners and 250k+ invoices per month. Scaling is by plan tier (Standard to Enterprise), with paid add-ons for tax workflow, month-end close automation and IRS tax resolution, plus consumption credits for Smart Intake and KBA.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Canopy is a cloud-native, all-in-one practice management platform for U.S. accounting, CPA, tax and bookkeeping firms. It unifies CRM, client portal, documents, workflow, time and billing, payments and proposals under one login, replacing roughly a dozen disconnected apps. Plans run $74–$149 per user/month billed annually, with Enterprise custom-quoted; Tax Workflow, Close Automation and Tax Resolution are paid add-ons. Canopy Coworker (agentic AI, beta) and AI Notetaker are embedded, and most firms are operational in days.
Frequently asked questions
How long does Canopy take to implement?
The vendor says most firms are operational in Canopy within days, not months. Canopy provides assisted data migration, live onboarding sessions and a support team that includes credentialed CPAs, and states there is no lengthy implementation project, no dedicated IT resource required, and no rebuilding workflows from scratch. Migrations from Practice CS, CCH Axcess and similar platforms are handled by the onboarding team.
What does Canopy cost per year?
List pricing is per user, per month, billed annually: Standard $74, Plus $109, Premium $149. Monthly billing is available and annual billing saves about 20%. Enterprise is custom-quoted for large firms. Consumption add-ons include Tax Workflow Automation from $34 per credit/client, Close Automation at $10 per connected client/month, Tax Resolution at $50 per user/month, and KBA credits at $1.25 each.
Which tools can Canopy replace?
Canopy bundles CRM, client portal and secure messaging, document management and e-signature, workflow and task automation, time tracking, billing and payments, proposals and engagement letters, plus reporting. The vendor claims firms eliminate 12 disconnected tools on average. It integrates with QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Microsoft 365, Gmail and Outlook, tax software (UltraTax, Lacerte, Drake, ProConnect, CCH Axcess, TaxWise, ProSeries), Slack, Salesforce, Zapier and a public API for client data.
What AI does Canopy include, and where does the data live?
Canopy Coworker, described as its everywhere AI, plans and executes work across tasks, workflows and clients, drafts client email, summarises client histories, triggers handoffs, flags bookkeeping anomalies and forecasts capacity; a review queue lets staff approve AI-drafted items before they execute. AI Notetaker captures meetings into the CRM, and AI renames documents and builds request lists from prior-year work. Coworker is in beta and AI usage beyond plan allotments is metered. The vendor states AI operates within the secured Canopy environment. Model sourcing is not disclosed.
Is Canopy secure and compliant?
Canopy's security page states SOC 2 Type II compliance, bank-grade 256-bit encryption in transit and at rest, multi-factor authentication, SSO via Google and Microsoft Entra ID, advanced role-based permissions, an audit log, automated PII field masking for SSNs, birthdays and TINs, and 99.9% uptime. No ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 claims are made on that page.
What support is included?
The pricing FAQ says support and implementation teams can be reached by chat, phone or email, and self-serve resources include knowledge base articles, in-app guides, video tutorials and Canopy University. The vendor states its support team includes credentialed CPAs. Support hours and response-time SLAs are not published.