
Time Doctor
Workforce visibility for distributed teams: see the work, trust the numbers, and let AI turn trusted hours into predictable performance.
By Time Doctor · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Remote, hybrid and offshore teams that need verified hours for payroll, client billing and audits.
- Operations, HR and finance leaders who want workload, capacity and cost visibility across people, projects and locations.
- BPO, outsourcing and contact-centre operators tracking agent productivity and client-billable time.
- IT and InfoSec teams that value role-based permissions, SSO, open API access and documented compliance.
Ideal size: 50–2,000 users people · Distributed or hybrid company with hourly, contractor or offshore staff and a payroll/HRIS stack
Not for
- Teams that want lightweight self-reported time tracking without activity, web/app usage or screenshot capture.
- Employees or works councils wary of monitoring software; verification of captured activity is core to the product.
- Buyers needing published AI audit trails or governance tooling; the MCP connection is read-only and AI logging detail is not documented.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under a day (minutes to set up)
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Per-user subscription billed monthly or annually; annual billing includes two months free (16.6% off). Basic, Standard and Premium self-serve tiers plus custom Enterprise; optional add-ons.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Basic, Standard and Premium self-serve with a 14-day trial; Enterprise custom. Dedicated account manager noted at 50+ users.
Add-on costs
- Software Cost Insights: $3 per user / month
- HRIS Native Integration: $200 per integration / month
- Payroll Native Integration: $200 per integration / month
- Benchmarks AI: per user / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Unusual Activity Reporting: per user / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Meeting Insights: per user / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Office vs Remote Report: per user / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Video Screen Recording: per user / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Single Sign-On (SSO): per account / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- Automated User Provisioning: per account / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
- BigQuery Access: per account / month add-on (Basic and Standard)
Company & support
Who is behind Time Doctor, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists ticket portal, knowledge base, live chat, email and callback under Support; the contact page advertises 24/7 customer support. A dedicated account manager is noted for 50+ users and a Dedicated Success Manager on Premium.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Time Doctor sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Time Doctor
- Stitchflow
- Docsumo
- monday.com
- Firstbase
- Spellbook
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Time Doctor. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Time Doctor ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Time Doctor AI answers plain-language questions about time, activity and records inside Time Doctor or connected AI assistants, and briefs managers on what needs attention with a next step drafted for approval. Benchmarks AI and Unusual Activity Reporting (mouse-jiggler and keyboard-simulator detection) are add-ons. The MCP connection is read-only.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Time Doctor is a workforce visibility and time-tracking platform for distributed teams. It captures hours, tasks, web and app usage and optional screenshots, ties each hour to the process behind it, and feeds payroll, client billing and audits. AI features include plain-language querying of workforce data and unusual-activity anomaly detection for mouse jigglers and keyboard simulators. A native, read-only MCP server is included on every plan and connects data to Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini. Founded in 2012, used by 10,000+ brands.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get Time Doctor into production?
Time Doctor says setup takes under 5 minutes and that most teams can get started within a day, with a 14-day trial on all Premium features and no credit card required. Its FAQ states implementation is quick for most teams and that guided onboarding is available for larger setups; Enterprise adds guided implementation and onboarding plus professional services. A dedicated account manager is noted for accounts of 50+ users.
How is Time Doctor priced and what are the hidden costs?
Pricing is per user per month, billed monthly or annually, with annual billing including two months free (16.6% off). There are four tiers: Basic, Standard, Premium and custom Enterprise. Optional add-ons are priced separately, for example Software Cost Insights at $3 per user per month and HRIS or Payroll native integrations at $200 per integration per month. Benchmarks AI, Unusual Activity Reporting, Meeting Insights, Office vs Remote, video screen recording, SSO, automated provisioning and BigQuery access are add-ons on lower tiers.
Is there an MCP server, and does it cost extra?
Yes. Time Doctor ships its own Model Context Protocol connection, included at no extra cost on every plan, including the free trial. It works with any MCP-compatible client such as Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and command-line tools; customers connect in about a minute from Settings to AI Connections. Owners, admins and managers can connect, admins can disable it company-wide or per user, and the connection is currently read-only.
Will Time Doctor monitor my employees' screens?
Verification features are configurable by role rather than always on. Options include screenshots, screenshot blurring, online/offline tracking, user-controlled or automatic tracking, and manual time entry, and employees see the same hours, activity and screenshots their manager sees. Optional detection covers mouse jigglers, keyboard simulators and irregular keyboard activity. Buyers should confirm local notification and consent requirements before enabling capture.
How does Time Doctor fit our existing stack?
Time Doctor connects to 60+ tools from the Chrome and Firefox extensions, covering project management, CRM, help desk, HRIS and payroll systems, including Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Asana, Workday, BambooHR, Rippling, ADP Workforce Now, Gusto and Xero AU Payroll. Premium adds Open API access and client login access, and BigQuery access is an add-on for warehouse-level analysis.