Skip to main content
VTEX logo
Revenue VelocityEstablished · 20 yrs on market

VTEX

The AI-native commerce suite for CIOs and CEOs

By VTEX · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Enterprise retailers and DTC brands running high-volume D2C, B2B, or marketplace commerce across many countries and currencies
  • Manufacturers, distributors, and wholesalers that need self-service B2B portals, quotes, and order management
  • Retailers that want conversational commerce on WhatsApp plus AI agents handling customer service
  • CIOs consolidating a fragmented commerce stack onto one platform to cut total cost of ownership

Ideal size: 500+ employees people · Enterprise with a dedicated commerce engineering team or SI partner

Not for

  • Small merchants looking for transparent, self-serve, low-cost pricing
  • Teams without in-house engineering or a systems-integration partner, since rollouts are engineering-heavy
  • Companies that do not sell online and have no digital commerce roadmap
  • Buyers who require published AI model choice, BYOK, or audited AI data-governance guarantees

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

3–6 months for enterprise replatforms

~90 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Enterprise, quote-based pricing with no public list price. Deals are scoped by product line (Commerce, CX, Ads), GMV, geography, and channel mix.

Implementation Friction

4/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not published; requires a call with a VTEX Commerce Solution Engineer.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind VTEX, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

The Help Center provides documentation, tutorials, troubleshooting, and a support-request path, plus a community forum. A 'Support rules' page describes support plans by business tier; plan-level SLAs and support hours are not published on the pages reviewed.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where VTEX sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr21d48d75d84d93dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyVTEXAdyenVoltusSmartlyYextBrightEdge

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

VTEX is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • VTEX
  • Adyen
  • Voltus
  • Smartly
  • Yext
  • BrightEdge
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including VTEX. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What VTEX ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI-native
Agentic workflowsAI searchPredictive analyticsNLP automation

Vendor describes agentic WhatsApp storefronts, autonomous customer-service agents, AI search and recommendations, a GenAI CMS, an AI 'Data Insights Agent' for analytics, and a coming AI Workspace. The Search Optimizer Agent and AI Workspace are labeled coming soon. No model providers, model-key policy, or AI audit logging are documented on the vendor pages reviewed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

VTEX is an enterprise commerce platform for D2C, B2B, marketplace, and omnichannel operations, positioned by the vendor as an AI-native suite spanning commerce, customer experience, and retail media. It reports 3,500+ stores, 2,600 clients, and 43 countries, with ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, PCI-DSS, and GDPR claims on its Trust Center. Pricing is quote-only, so expect an enterprise sales cycle, a systems-integration partner, and a multi-month rollout.

Frequently asked questions

What does VTEX cost and how is it priced?

VTEX does not publish list pricing. Its pricing page routes buyers to a Commerce Solution Engineer who scopes the deal by product line (Commerce, CX, or Ads), GMV, regions, and channels. Budget for an enterprise contract plus implementation services, and treat any seat or GMV-tier figures you hear as quote-specific rather than standard.

How long does a VTEX implementation take?

No time-to-value figure is published. The vendor markets reduced complexity and accelerated time-to-value, but VTEX is a full commerce platform with APIs, ERP integration, catalog, and checkout work. Realistic planning for an enterprise replatform is several months of engineering and partner effort before first production value.

Which compliance certifications does VTEX hold?

The VTEX Trust Center lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2, PCI-DSS, PCI-DESV, and Data Privacy Framework recognition, and states compliance with GDPR, CCPA, CPRA, HIPAA, and several LATAM privacy regimes. No FedRAMP, ISO 42001, or CMMC claims appear on that page.

Does VTEX offer AI features, and are they included in the price?

Yes. VTEX describes agentic WhatsApp storefronts, autonomous customer-service agents, AI search and recommendations, a GenAI CMS, an analytics 'Data Insights Agent', and a coming AI Workspace. Several items are marked priority access or coming soon, and the vendor pages do not state whether AI is bundled, an add-on, or usage-billed, so confirm that commercially.

Which business models and regions does VTEX support?

VTEX supports B2C, B2B, marketplaces, omnichannel, and global commerce with multi-region, multi-language, and multi-currency operations from one platform. The vendor reports operations in 43 countries, with particular depth in Latin America, Europe, and the US, and 3,500+ active online stores.

Can VTEX connect to our existing stack and AI models?

VTEX documents a Developer Portal with integrations and public APIs, and its customer stories reference ERP integration, so custom connections are feasible. However, none of the vendor pages reviewed name specific platforms such as Salesforce, SAP, Snowflake, or MCP server support, and no AI model providers are named, so verify each integration during technical evaluation.