
Zuora
Quote-to-cash and monetization platform for subscription, usage-based and hybrid revenue.
By Zuora, Inc. · HQ Redwood City, US · 4.3/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Subscription, usage-based or hybrid software businesses needing billing, rating and revenue recognition in one system
- Finance and RevOps teams replacing custom billing code with a configurable monetization catalog
- Companies that change pricing often and want CPQ-to-revenue consistency across channels
- Global multi-entity businesses needing multi-currency price lists, audit trails and close-ready data
- Firms monetizing AI or consumption events at high volume
Ideal size: Enterprise finance/RevOps (200+ employees) people · Scale-up or enterprise with a dedicated finance systems team
Not for
- Small businesses wanting cheap self-serve billing with published prices
- Companies with simple one-time invoicing and no recurring customer relationships
- Buyers who need FedRAMP, ISO 27001 or documented AI model controls today
- Teams without finance-systems or implementation resources to own a multi-month rollout
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Weeks (vendor: 'go live in weeks')
~45 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Custom enterprise pricing; no public list price. Sold through sales-led quotes, typically on annual contracts.
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; agreements are custom, typically multi-entity and multi-currency.
Add-on costs
- Paid Zuora University training subscriptions for intermediate/advanced courses, listed as available for purchase
Company & support
Who is behind Zuora, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Redwood City, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Only a training contact is published ([email protected] / [email protected] via Zuora University). The security page mentions follow-the-sun operations and support but states no hours, SLA or plan tiers. Office phone numbers on the contact page are sales/location lines, not support.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Zuora sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Zuora
- Finix
- Seismic
- CareCloud
- CPower
- ModMed
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Zuora. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Zuora ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Sources describe embedded quote-to-cash AI for billing, revenue recognition and payments insights, Milo as an implementation agent, AI Paywalls for personalized offers, predictive alerts, and 'governed intelligence' with human-in-the-loop, traceable actions. No source names a model provider, a bring-your-own-key option, or AI action logging/export.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Zuora is a sales-led quote-to-cash and monetization platform for subscription, usage-based and hybrid businesses. The suite covers CPQ, billing, payments, collections, revenue recognition, an AI-ready pricing catalog, Zuora AI and Milo, an implementation agent the vendor says shortens go-live to weeks. Zuora cites 1,000+ customers, 320 case studies and Gartner/Forrester leader placements. Pricing is not published: expect enterprise contracts, services and multi-month rollouts. Security page reports SOC 1/2/3, HIPAA and PCI DSS; MCP is not documented.
Frequently asked questions
How is Zuora priced, and what should we budget?
Zuora does not publish list pricing. The pricing page markets packaging and catalog capabilities but no rates, so expect a sales-led, custom-quoted enterprise contract with annual terms. The only publicly priced item found is optional Zuora University training, sold as paid intermediate/advanced subscriptions. Ask for a total cost of ownership that includes implementation services, integrations and training before signing.
How long until we see value from Zuora?
Zuora markets Milo, an implementation agent, and claims customers can 'go live in weeks', which is the only timing guidance the vendor publishes. Enterprise quote-to-cash projects still involve catalog design, data migration, ERP/CRM integration and revenue-recognition configuration, so plan for a multi-month programme and stage value: billing first, then revenue and collections.
Does Zuora integrate with our ERP, CRM and internal systems?
In principle yes. Zuora describes ERP/CRM connectors, APIs, webhooks, event-driven syncs and low-code workflows, and states it is ERP-agnostic so customers avoid re-platforming. Its integrations page walks through syncing CRM and accounting systems with order management. The pages reviewed do not name specific connector partners, so confirm your exact ERP, CRM and data-warehouse targets during evaluation.
What security and compliance certifications does Zuora hold?
Zuora's security page states it meets PCI DSS, HHS HIPAA and SOC 1, 2 and 3 standards, supported by audit trails, granular permissions, OneID single sign-on and data-residency controls. The pages reviewed do not claim ISO 27001, FedRAMP, ISO 42001 or GDPR certification, so request the current trust report and any HIPAA business associate agreement directly.
What AI capabilities are included, and who controls the model?
Zuora markets embedded quote-to-cash AI for billing, revenue recognition and payments insights, Milo as an implementation agent, AI Paywalls for personalized offers, predictive alerts, and 'governed intelligence' with human-in-the-loop, traceable actions. No source states which model provider is used, whether customers can supply their own model keys, or whether AI actions are logged and exportable.
Which industries and company sizes does Zuora target?
Zuora cites 1,000+ customers and 320 case studies spanning software and SaaS, media and entertainment, telecommunications, finance, healthcare, manufacturing and IoT, retail and corporate services. It is built for finance teams running recurring, usage-based or hybrid revenue at scale, and is generally a poor fit for small businesses wanting cheap self-serve billing or simple one-time invoicing.