
Zenchef
All-in-one restaurant management platform for reservations, table management and payments, with zero commission on guest bookings.
By Zenchef SAS · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Independent restaurants that want to take bookings online directly, without paying marketplace commission on every cover.
- Busy venues trying to cut no-shows and fill last-minute tables with deposits, credit-card holds, waitlists and a live seating plan.
- Restaurant groups and fine-dining operators that need a shared guest database, CRM, email campaigns and multi-venue management.
- European hospitality operators that need multi-language booking widgets, local payment methods and regional POS integrations.
Ideal size: 5–200 staff per venue people · Independent restaurants through to multi-venue groups, comfortable with online-first operations
Not for
- Non-hospitality businesses; the platform is purpose-built for restaurants and dining venues.
- Operators looking for a full POS, ERP or accounting suite from a single vendor; Zenchef integrates with POS rather than replacing it.
- Buyers who require published list pricing before a sales conversation; Zenchef plans are quoted after a demo.
- Delivery-only or counter-service concepts with no table-service reservation flow.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Tiered subscriptions (Reserve, Manage, Grow) quoted per venue after a demo, plus payment processing and SMS usage fees; self-serve sign-up, no commission on guest bookings.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not seat-based: plans are Reserve, Manage and Grow sold per restaurant or venue, with a Multi-Venue add-on for groups.
Add-on costs
- Gift Card Premium: €39/month on Manage and Grow
- AI Concierge: paid add-on; AI host answers calls and logs reservations, up to 500 minutes/month
- Marketing Suite: paid add-on for email/SMS campaigns and guest segmentation
- Multi-Venue: paid add-on giving one dashboard across every location
- Automatic SMS: paid add-on that turns missed calls into bookings
- Website: add-on booking website, no marketplace, no commission
- Meta Reserve: add-on to take bookings from Instagram and Facebook
- Payment processing: credit card 2–6% by plan, plus Bancontact, iDEAL and AMEX fees
- SMS: roughly €0.5–0.7 per message depending on country and plan
Company & support
Who is behind Zenchef, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Existing customers are routed to technical support via the vendor's Help Center. No support phone line, email address or live chat is published; '24/7 call assist' is a reservation-answering product feature, not a support channel.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Zenchef sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Zenchef
- Checkmate
- Thanx
- Incentivio
- Lunchbox
- Ovation
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Zenchef. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Zenchef ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
AI Concierge, sold as an add-on, answers phone calls and logs reservations automatically. AI-generated answers help respond to guest reviews, AI translation assist supports multi-language website popups, and Tag Assistant reads booking comments and auto-applies allergy and event tags. No AI model provider is named by the vendor.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Paid add-on
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Zenchef is an all-in-one restaurant management platform (ZenchefOS) covering reservations, table management, payments and guest loyalty. It sells to independent restaurants, busy venues and multi-venue groups in 20+ countries, claiming 36,000+ venues and 185M+ reservations a year. The pitch is zero commission on guest bookings, full ownership of guest data, and fewer no-shows through deposits, credit-card holds and waitlists. Plans (Reserve, Manage, Grow) are quote-based, with paid add-ons for AI Concierge, marketing, SMS, multi-venue and gift cards.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Zenchef cost?
Zenchef does not publish list prices. Plans are Reserve, Manage and Grow, priced per venue after a demo. On top of the subscription there are usage fees: credit-card processing of roughly 2–6% depending on plan, SMS at about €0.5–0.7 per message, and paid add-ons such as AI Concierge, Marketing Suite, Multi-Venue, Automatic SMS, Meta Reserve and Gift Card Premium (€39/month on Manage and Grow). The vendor claims zero commission on guest bookings.
What integrations does Zenchef support?
Booking channels include Google Reserve and Meta (Instagram/Facebook), with reservation channels such as Dorsia, Punkt, INSIDE Membership and MatchMyTable syncing into Zenchef. POS integrations cover Lightspeed, Trivec, APRO, Unitouch and Povis, plus hotel booking engines such as Namastay and loyalty/reputation tools such as Dokaa and Feedelity. Payments run through Adyen and Klarna, and Zenchef exposes an API used by partner booking flows.
Does Zenchef use AI, and is it included in the plan?
AI is present but is not the core of the product. AI Concierge is sold as an add-on and answers phone calls and logs reservations (up to 500 minutes per month). AI-generated answers help reply to guest reviews, AI translation assist supports multi-language website popups, and Tag Assistant auto-applies allergy and event tags from booking comments. The vendor does not name the AI model provider it uses, and does not publish AI audit or data-training terms.
How quickly can a restaurant go live?
Sign-up is self-serve ('Set up my account') and the vendor offers a 30-minute guided demo with a dedicated expert. Zenchef publishes no implementation timeline, onboarding fee or SLA, so time-to-value depends mainly on payment-processing setup and POS integration. Treat a couple of weeks as a planning assumption rather than a vendor commitment.
Do restaurants own their guest data?
Zenchef markets 'total data ownership' and a dedicated CRM with 100% owned guest data, and charges no commission on bookings made through its widget or app. Restaurants should review the vendor's data protection policy and legal terms for the specific processing, retention and export terms that apply to their contract.
Does Zenchef work for multi-venue groups?
Yes. The Grow plan and the Multi-Venue add-on cover groups with a centralised guest database across locations, one dashboard for every venue, and group booking widgets that recommend a sister venue when a restaurant is full or a slot is taken. Multi-venue branding, guest search and per-page restaurant displays are configurable in the widget embed.