Adyen
One platform for payments, data, and financial products, built to scale with the world's leading businesses.
By Adyen N.V. · HQ Amsterdam, Netherlands · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Large global enterprises processing high payment volumes across online, in-person, and platform channels
- Businesses that want payments, payouts, data insights, and financial products consolidated on a single API-driven stack
- Merchants needing broad reach, with 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods
- Platforms and marketplaces embedding payments, accounts, card issuing, and capital for their own customers
Ideal size: 500+ employees people · Global enterprise with in-house engineering and payments operations
Not for
- Small businesses looking for self-serve sign-up and published, off-the-shelf pricing
- Companies in business models that fall outside Adyen's eligibility criteria
- Teams without engineering capacity to run an API-first payments integration
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
6-8 weeks
~60 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · Per transaction: fixed $0.13 per payment plus a method-specific fee (e.g. cards $0.13 + Interchange++ + 0.60%). No setup, monthly, integration, or closure fees; custom pricing available.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not seat-based; contract and pricing scale with transaction volume.
Add-on costs
- Other Adyen products beyond payment methods are priced separately.
- A minimum invoice may apply depending on industry or business model; local payment methods and installments carry their own per-transaction rates.
Company & support
Who is behind Adyen, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2006 · 20 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Amsterdam, Netherlands
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The contact page routes technical questions to an Adyen support portal, but no support channels, plan tiers, hours, or response-time commitments are published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Adyen sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Adyen
- SevenRooms
- Finix
- Revinate
- NewStore
- Ventrata
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Adyen. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Adyen ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Adyen is a Dutch acquiring bank and financial technology platform aimed at large enterprises. A single API supports online, in-person and platform payments, payouts, embedded accounts, card issuing and capital, plus data insights. Adyen reports EUR 1.4T processed annually, 99.999% uptime, 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods, and says it is backed by US, UK and EU banking licenses. Pricing is per transaction with no setup, monthly or integration fees; custom pricing and a minimum invoice may apply.
Frequently asked questions
How does Adyen charge for its platform?
Adyen prices per transaction: a fixed $0.13 fee plus a fee determined by the payment method (for example cards at $0.13 + Interchange++ + 0.60%). The pricing page states there are no monthly, set-up, integration or closure fees, although a minimum invoice may apply depending on industry or business model, and fees shown are indicative with custom pricing available.
How long does it take to go live with Adyen?
Adyen does not publish an implementation timeline on the pages reviewed. It emphasises a single API covering multiple use cases and channels, and states there are no integration fees. As an enterprise, API-first platform, buyers should plan for engineering work, eligibility review and commercial contracting rather than instant self-serve activation.
Which currencies and payment methods does Adyen support?
Adyen states it supports 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods across online, in-person and platform use cases, with multiple bank accounts and currencies that can be linked so funds are not force-converted. The pricing page lists per-method rates by country and region.
Is Adyen suitable for small businesses?
Adyen targets enterprises and the world's leading brands. Pricing is transaction-based with custom quotes and a possible minimum invoice, and there is no self-serve plan or published monthly subscription, so smaller merchants may find commercial terms and the API-led integration hard to justify.
What compliance and licensing does Adyen hold?
Adyen states that it is backed by US, UK and EU banking licenses, and the vendor is described as an acquiring bank. The pages reviewed do not claim SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 certification, so buyers with specific certification requirements should request evidence directly.
Which industries does Adyen serve?
Adyen highlights retail, travel and hospitality, digital media and content, SaaS platforms and marketplaces, food and beverage, and financial services. It also notes that some business models and industries are outside its eligibility criteria, so prospective merchants should confirm eligibility during contracting.