
Backbar
The easiest path to inventory control for bars and restaurants
By Backbar · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Bars and restaurants that need tighter control of liquor, wine and beer inventory, pour costs and COGS.
- Multi-location restaurant and hospitality groups that want per-location pricing and unlimited users.
- Beverage directors and bar managers replacing spreadsheets with fast mobile counts and automated ordering.
- Hotels, casinos and private clubs running several beverage outlets and storage areas.
- Operators on Toast, Square, Shift4 (Skytab) or Clover who want POS-driven depletions and variance reporting.
Ideal size: 2–500 (per location: 2–50) people · Independent bars through multi-unit hospitality groups
Not for
- Businesses with no on-premise beverage program (retail, manufacturing, logistics, field services).
- Teams that want a full ERP, payroll or general accounting suite rather than a beverage back-of-house tool.
- Fine-dining groups whose priority is deep food-cost and kitchen production control over beverage.
- Buyers who require 24/7 phone support or a named implementation partner before adopting.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same-day setup; days to first full count
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$1,548/yr
Starts at $0 · Per location, billed monthly or annually; free Basic tier plus paid Essential and Professional plans
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Unlimited users on every plan; free Basic tier limited to one location
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Backbar, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2011 · 15 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Basic accounts receive email support only; Essential and Professional get priority support with faster response times. A support ticket form, onboarding articles and video tutorials are available to all users.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Backbar sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Backbar
- Loaded
- meez
- Sculpture Hospitality
- MarketMan
- Orbisk
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Backbar. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Backbar ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Backbar is a beverage inventory and bar-operations platform for bars, restaurants, hotels and clubs. It combines web and mobile inventory counts, POS-driven depletion (Toast, Square, Shift4/Skytab), invoice capture, one-click distributor ordering, recipe and pour-cost pricing, and reporting on usage, variance and COGS. Plans are priced per location: a free Basic tier, Essential at $79/mo and Professional at $129/mo billed yearly, with a one-month free trial. Setup takes minutes by importing a single invoice.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Backbar cost per location?
Backbar is priced per location. Basic is free, Essential is $79/month and Professional $129/month when billed yearly ($99 and $149 month-to-month). A one-month free trial of Essential or Professional is offered, and paid plans allow unlimited locations and unlimited users.
How long does it take to get up and running?
Backbar says setup takes five minutes or less: upload one invoice and it imports your products, costs and vendors, and an import wizard handles existing spreadsheets. Onboarding articles and video tutorials cover counting, ordering and POS setup. Budget roughly one inventory cycle of a few days before counts, ordering and reporting are fully live.
Which point-of-sale systems does Backbar integrate with?
Backbar lists Toast, Square and Shift4 (Skytab) integrations, with Clover also covered in its help centre. POS integration drives real-time depletions for perpetual inventory and unlocks sales, variance, profit and COGS reporting. If your POS is not integrated, sales data can be entered manually.
Is Backbar suitable for multi-location groups?
Yes. Paid plans allow unlimited locations and are charged per location, with unlimited users and per-user permissions. Multiple inventory locations (storage areas) can be set up and reported on separately, and organisations can invite staff, managers and additional admins across venues.
What support is included?
Basic accounts get email support only, while Essential and Professional receive priority support with faster response times. All users can submit a support ticket and use the Backbar help centre with onboarding articles and video tutorials. No 24/7 phone line or specific response-time SLA is published.