
Clover
Do what you do better with the world's smartest POS system.
By Clover Network, LLC (Fiserv) · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small and medium businesses that want POS hardware, payments and business apps from a single provider.
- Restaurants, cafes, bars and quick-service operators running menu, orders, KDS and online ordering on one system.
- Retail shops needing inventory, barcode scanning, gift cards and loyalty at the counter.
- Service businesses that take card payments in the field or by invoice (Clover Go, Virtual Terminal).
Ideal size: 1–50 people · Owner-operated SMB or small multi-location chain (1–10 sites)
Not for
- Merchants who need a processor-agnostic POS — Clover devices work only with Clover/Fiserv payment processing.
- Large enterprises needing deep ERP, warehouse or legacy-POS customisation without engaging an integration partner.
- Businesses unwilling to accept multi-year contracts or minimum processing volume commitments.
- Buyers outside Clover's supported countries (US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Germany, Austria, Argentina).
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Monthly software/hardware subscription per device or location plus per-transaction card processing fees; Starter, Standard and Advanced packages by business type. Published figures vary by partner,…
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Priced per device or location rather than per seat; promotional offers require a 3-year contract.
Add-on costs
- Card processing fees (percentage plus flat fee per transaction)
- Clover App Market apps and services
- Optional Clover Care hardware protection
- Third-party installation and support via SMB CompuCom (additional fees apply)
Company & support
Who is behind Clover, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page states the team is available 24/7/365 for troubleshooting and support; plan not specified. Support phone numbers vary by region and are listed on the contact page, with a direct number on each merchant statement. Clover Help provides self-serve articles; email is the primary support…
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Clover sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Clover
- Petpooja
- Payoneer
- Ottimate
- Bizimply
- Grubtech
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Clover. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Clover ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Clover is Fiserv's Android-based point-of-sale platform for small and medium businesses, combining countertop and handheld devices with built-in payments, reporting, loyalty and scheduling plus an App Market of third-party business apps. It is sold direct and through bank partners including Citi, PNC and Wells Fargo, on monthly software subscriptions plus per-transaction processing fees. Restaurants, retail and service businesses are the core segments; the vendor reports roughly 4 million devices shipped and $337B+ in annualised processing volume.
Frequently asked questions
What does Clover cost?
Clover merchants pay a monthly software and hardware subscription per device or location plus card processing rates made up of a percentage and a flat fee per transaction. Starter, Standard and Advanced packages are sold by business type, and pricing varies by partner, so the vendor recommends contacting sales for a quote. On promotional offers a three-year contract applies, and processing fees are billed separately from the subscription.
Can I use Clover devices with a different payment processor?
No. Clover states that while Clover POS devices may be purchased or leased from other entities, they cannot be used with other payment processors. Devices are also only shipped after the merchant application is approved, including credit approval, so the hardware and the Fiserv processing relationship are effectively one purchase.
How long does it take to get up and running?
Clover is designed for self-installation using its quick start guides, and most merchants are taking payments within days of receiving approved hardware. Hands-on installation and support is available through SMB CompuCom for an additional fee. Billing is forgiving: merchants typically have 30 to 60 days before the first subscription payment is due, with partial months pro-rated.
Is Clover suitable for multi-location or growing businesses?
Clover positions itself as scaling from a food truck to several brick-and-mortar locations and from no employees to a team of ten or more, with additional devices and apps added as needed. Each location runs on Clover devices attached to the same processor, and multi-location reporting is available, but consolidation and bespoke enterprise work typically go through a Clover integration partner.
What support is available?
Clover Help provides self-serve articles personalised to the merchant's devices and features, reachable from a browser, from the device home screen or from the Clover Go app. Live agents are available and the pricing page states the team is available 24/7/365 for troubleshooting, with direct support numbers on the merchant statement and regional support lines for Austria, Germany, Ireland, the UK, Canada and Argentina. Developer support is primarily by email.
Does Clover have an open API and app market for custom work?
Yes. Clover runs an open platform with a REST API, Android SDK, Android Payments API and Ecommerce API, so third parties can build Android apps on Clover devices or integrate external systems. Apps are published on the Clover App Market, where developers receive 70% of net subscription revenue, and a directory of integration services providers covers custom development, ERP, CRM and legacy POS integration.