Skip to main content
Commvault Systems, Inc. logo
Risk & ComplianceEstablished · 25 yrs on market

Commvault

Unified security, identity and recovery with continuous AI-enabled cyber resilience for enterprise data

By Commvault Systems, Inc. · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Large enterprises protecting hybrid, multi-cloud and on-premises workloads from one platform
  • Organizations that need immutable, air-gapped backup copies to recover from ransomware
  • Regulated firms that must evidence data protection controls for GDPR, HIPAA, DORA or NIS2
  • IT teams consolidating several backup and recovery tools onto a single platform
  • Companies extending resilience to cloud-native AWS and Google Cloud workloads

Ideal size: 250+ employees, IT-led people · Enterprise or scale-up with a dedicated infrastructure, security or resilience function

Not for

  • Small teams wanting low-touch, self-serve backup with published per-seat pricing
  • Businesses with no compliance, resilience or ransomware exposure
  • Buyers who want to evaluate and deploy without vendor sales contact
  • Startups whose only requirement is basic SaaS application backup

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2-3 months for enterprise rollout

~60 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Quote-based enterprise licensing; no list price published, pricing page routes to Contact Us

Implementation Friction

4/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not listed

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Commvault, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Commvault lists a self-hosted support line (+1 877-780-3077), a login-based ticket portal, documentation and knowledge base, and an open customer community. Support is packaged in tiers (Commvault Support Offering), so SLAs should be confirmed in the contract.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Commvault sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$170/yr$30k/yr18d28d38d51d64dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyCommvaultDarktraceKiteworksArena PLMKnowBe4Worksuite

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Commvault is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Commvault
  • Darktrace
  • Kiteworks
  • Arena PLM
  • KnowBe4
  • Worksuite
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Commvault. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNative
Microsoft 365Native
SAPIntegration
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Commvault ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistant

Commvault's privacy policy describes Arlie, an in-product AI assistant for troubleshooting, automation assistance and context-sensitive guidance. AI is also referenced for anomaly detection and threat insight, but sources do not label those capabilities as AI explicitly.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Never trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Commvault is an enterprise data protection and cyber-resilience platform combining backup, recovery, data security and identity resilience in one cloud-native stack. It serves more than 100,000 organizations and has been a Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for Backup and Data Protection Platforms 15 times. Its focus is restoring clean data after ransomware or AI-driven attacks using air-gapped immutable copies, cleanroom recovery testing and controls that support GDPR, HIPAA, DORA and NIS2 programmes. Pricing is quote-based and deployments are IT-led.

Frequently asked questions

How is Commvault priced?

Commvault does not publish list prices. Its public pricing page routes buyers to Contact Us, and engagements are scoped by protected workloads, data volume and support level. Expect a quote-based enterprise contract rather than self-serve checkout, so budget for a sales cycle and an annual subscription or term licence.

What regulations does Commvault Cloud help with?

Commvault states that Commvault Cloud assists with regulatory compliance around data security, privacy and resilience, and names GDPR, HIPAA, PCI DSS, NIS2, NYCRR 500, CCPA and DORA as drivers. Product capabilities include sensitive-data discovery and classification, RBAC and 2FA, immutable air-gapped storage, anomaly and threat detection, and audit views that support compliance evidence.

Does Commvault use customer data to train AI models?

No. Commvault's privacy policy states that it does not use customer data to train Generative AI models, and that data processed within its AI-powered capabilities is handled under its data protection policies and applicable privacy regulations. Note that the same policy allows use of anonymised and aggregated data for analytics, benchmarking and machine learning.

What support does Commvault provide?

The support page lists a self-hosted software support line, a login-based support case portal, documentation, a knowledge base with release notes, and a customer community. Support is offered at packaged levels (Commvault Support Offering) and as-a-service customers have separate policies, so response-time commitments should be confirmed in the contract.

How long does implementation take?

Commvault does not publish a time-to-value figure. Rollouts typically require workload assessment, storage and air-gap design, policy configuration and recovery testing, so plan for a phased deployment measured in weeks to months rather than days. Connectors exist for major clouds, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace and SAP workloads.

Commvault Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (2-3 months for enterprise rollout to value) | Value-Position