Skip to main content
Flock Safety logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2017 · 9 yrs

Flock Safety

Better tools for safer communities

By Flock Safety · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Law enforcement agencies and cities that want plate readers, video, audio detection and drones in one platform
  • School districts and campuses adding parking-lot, roadway and perimeter coverage
  • Retail and grocery chains investigating organized retail crime across many stores
  • HOAs, multifamily communities and places of worship sharing a neighborhood camera network
  • Corporate security and logistics teams protecting yards, gates and fleet lanes

Ideal size: Any size; most value at 5+ sites people · Public agency or multi-site operator with a security budget

Not for

  • Buyers who need facial recognition or identity matching, which the vendor states it does not provide
  • Teams that want self-serve signup and published per-seat pricing
  • Organizations that cannot run a hardware install or a community privacy review
  • Software-only buyers with no exterior sites to cover

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

~4 weeks (install + onboarding)

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Custom annual subscription quoted by coverage area, sensor types and software package; installation, onboarding, maintenance, repairs and upgrades included.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No published seat tiers; priced per deployment, not per user.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Flock Safety, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2017 · 9 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support line +1 (866) 901-1781 and [email protected] are published on the contact page, alongside a Help Center and FAQ. Sales and media contacts are separate and were not counted as support channels.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Flock Safety sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr27d29d30d31d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyFlock SafetyTriNetHeimdalEthicoCoroConvera

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Flock Safety is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Flock Safety
  • TriNet
  • Heimdal
  • Ethico
  • Coro
  • Convera
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Flock Safety. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Flock Safety ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

No AI features recorded for this product.

Flock describes machine learning used to recognise vehicles, objects and descriptions, and states its cameras do not use facial recognition. No assistant, agentic, AI-search, predictive or AI-governance features are described on the pages reviewed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Flock Safety combines cameras and software for public safety: license plate readers, video cameras, mobile security trailers, audio detection and drones, managed through the FlockOS platform with search, real-time alerts and an audit trail. Agencies, schools, retailers, HOAs and businesses buy annual subscriptions quoted by coverage area and sensor mix, with professional installation and maintenance included. The vendor reports 6,000+ communities and 5,000+ law enforcement agencies.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Flock Safety cost, and what is included?

Flock does not publish a list price. Its pricing page states pricing is based on coverage area, sensor types and software package, and that every deployment includes professional installation and onboarding, ongoing maintenance, repairs and automatic upgrades, plus platform access with search, real-time alerts and a mobile app. Expect an annual subscription scoped by a solutions team rather than a self-serve plan.

Does Flock use facial recognition or track individuals?

No. Flock's trust page states cameras do not use facial recognition and that searches are based on vehicle characteristics, not identity, so the system cannot recognise, identify or track individuals. It also states the platform is built for specific, case-based investigations rather than continuous monitoring of people.

Who can see the data, and is it shared with other agencies?

Customers control their own data. Access is limited by role-based permissions set by the agency, every search is tied to a named user and recorded, and there is no anonymous browsing. Data is not pooled in a national database; sharing with other agencies is opt-in under defined agreements. Recommended default retention was cut to 7 days and multi-factor authentication is mandatory for all customers.

Does Flock train AI models on customer data?

Flock's privacy policy states the company may use a small fraction (less than 1%) of images captured by Flock services, stripped of metadata and identifying information, to improve its products through machine learning. Training data is used internally and never sold or shared with third parties. The policy does not describe an opt-out for customers.

How long does implementation take?

The available pages do not publish a timeline. Flock says professional installation and full onboarding are included in every deployment, and the product mix (plate readers, video, trailers, drones) varies by site, so plan for a scheduled install and configuration phase with the vendor's team before first value.

Can Flock integrate with our existing systems?

The site links to API documentation and a Developer Portal, and pricing notes optional integration with local law enforcement for real-time collaboration. Integration scope is not detailed on the pages reviewed here, so buyers should confirm specific systems with Flock before committing.