
GovPilot
Cloud-based government management software that unifies 125+ local government processes on one platform
By GovPilot · HQ Brick, NJ, US · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small towns and mid-size cities digitising permitting, licensing, inspections and code enforcement
- County departments replacing paper forms and single-purpose software
- Clerk, building, planning, housing, IT and administration departments in local government
- Agencies that want unlimited user accounts without per-seat licence costs
- Governments wanting GIS parcel mapping and a resident report-a-concern portal
Ideal size: 5-500+ government staff people · Municipality, county or agency starting digital transformation
Not for
- Private-sector companies; GovPilot is purpose-built for local government in the US and Canada
- Federal or defence agencies that require FedRAMP authorisation
- Buyers who need published, self-serve list pricing before procurement
- Organisations seeking bespoke software development rather than templated modules
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Roughly 1-2 months with templated modules
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Annual subscription priced by population size and number of templated modules; unlimited users and support on every plan. No published list prices - quote via a 15-minute consultation.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Unlimited user login accounts on all plans; no per-seat fees
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind GovPilot, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2015 · 11 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Brick, NJ, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteEnterprise only
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Unlimited user support is bundled on every plan tier. A dedicated account manager and four days of in-person training appear on the Enterprise and Unlimited tiers; the GovPilot Academy is used for customer training and support.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where GovPilot sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- GovPilot
- GovWell
- Citibot
- Clariti
- Polco
- Cloudpermit
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including GovPilot. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What GovPilot ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
GovPilot is a cloud-based operating system for US and Canadian local governments, standardising 125+ templated modules across permitting, licensing, code enforcement, clerk and IT functions. Departments get digital forms, automated workflows, GIS mapping and the GovAlert and GovInspect mobile apps on one platform. Pricing scales by population and modules, with unlimited users. Founded 2015; a GovTech 100 company for eight consecutive years.
Frequently asked questions
How is GovPilot priced?
Pricing is based on two factors: the population size of your government and the number of templated modules you select. Plans range from Essentials (5 modules) through Professional (10), Enterprise (20) and Unlimited (125+). All plans include unlimited user accounts and support, and pricing references a five-year contract. Actual prices are not published - you request a quote through a short consultation.
Do we pay per user or per login seat?
No. Every plan includes unlimited user login accounts regardless of how many modules you buy, so each official and employee can have their own credentials at no additional cost.
What does implementation involve?
GovPilot does not publish a fixed implementation timeline. Deployments use pre-built templated modules, and the GIS map only requires a parcel shapefile from your engineering or GIS department. The Unlimited tier adds free legacy data importing and four days of in-person training; support is unlimited on all plans.
Is GovPilot secure and independently certified?
Yes. GovPilot states it is SOC 2 Type 2 certified, encrypts data in transit, uses role-based access controls, hosts on Microsoft Azure, runs at least annual third-party penetration tests and maintains geographically remote disaster recovery. Enterprise-grade security products and third-party assessments are used to keep the posture current.
Does GovPilot include AI features?
The vendor pages reviewed do not describe AI or machine-learning capabilities, model providers, or AI training practices. Automation in GovPilot refers to digital forms, rules-based workflows and reporting, so buyers should confirm any AI roadmap directly with the vendor.
Which governments already use GovPilot?
References include Trenton, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Newark, Atlantic City, East Orange, Hackensack, Camden County, Bergen County, Hudson County and Jackson County, plus Bexar County (TX), Curry County (OR), Harvey (IL), Hermiston (OR) and Ontario, Canada.