Skip to main content
Granicus logo
Ops EfficiencyFounded 1999 · 27 yrs

Granicus

Turn public sector digital experiences into proven impact

By Granicus · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Government agencies (local, state, federal) modernizing resident-facing digital service delivery
  • Public sector communications teams running high-volume email, SMS and web engagement programs
  • Clerks and records teams handling public meetings, agendas, video and records requests
  • Agencies with FedRAMP authorization or ISO 27001 requirements in procurement
  • Destination marketing organizations promoting tourism, events and visitor economy

Ideal size: Agency-wide (50+ digital/comms staff) people · Mid-to-large government agency with formal procurement and security review

Not for

  • Private-sector marketing or CRM teams — the platform is purpose-built for the public sector
  • Buyers needing published, self-serve pricing and instant signup
  • Teams wanting a lightweight point tool instead of a multi-cloud platform
  • Organizations without budget or appetite for vendor-led implementation services

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

3–6 months (typical agency rollout)

~90 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Enterprise, quote-based contracts; no public price list or free tier published

Implementation Friction

4/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not published

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Granicus, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
1999 · 27 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsNot listed
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Contact page points customers to a support portal, login help and product status pages; no support phone line, email address, or service hours are published.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Granicus sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr87d96d105d110d120dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyGranicusTyler TechnologiesActablKipu HealthSpringbrook SoftwareAccela

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Granicus is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Granicus
  • Tyler Technologies
  • Actabl
  • Kipu Health
  • Springbrook Software
  • Accela
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Granicus. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Granicus ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflowsNLP automation

Granicus markets GXA, an AI digital agent that answers resident questions and orchestrates service workflows, and GXI, an insight layer over constituent interactions. Its AI doctrine references an internal AI Governance Board and public AI documentation. No model provider, no per-action AI logging, and no AI pricing detail are published on the pages reviewed.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 GDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP CMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Granicus is a public-sector citizen experience platform serving more than 7,000 government organizations. Its Government Experience Cloud spans service delivery, operations, engagement and destination marketing, plus AI products GXA (a resident-facing agent) and GXI (an insight layer). The vendor is FedRAMP authorized and ISO 27001 certified, and counts 100% of US federal cabinet-level agencies among its customers. Pricing is quote-based and not published, and deployments include implementation services, so time-to-value is measured in months.

Frequently asked questions

What does Granicus do, and who is it for?

Granicus is a citizen experience platform for the public sector. It bundles service delivery, back-office operations, public engagement and destination marketing into cloud products used by more than 7,000 government organisations, including 100% of US federal cabinet-level agencies and 48 of the 50 largest US cities. It is sold to agencies, not to private-sector marketing teams.

Is Granicus FedRAMP authorized?

Yes. The security page states that the govDelivery Communications Cloud is FedRAMP authorized at the Joint Authorization level and describes the company as offering the first FedRAMP compliant digital communications solutions. The same page states that GovDelivery, GovService and EngagementHQ are ISO 27001 certified. No SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 42001 or CMMC claim appears on the pages reviewed.

How much does Granicus cost?

Granicus does not publish pricing. Contracts are quoted through a sales process, and no free tier, seat tiers or public price list are shown on the site. Because agencies typically bundle multiple cloud products plus implementation services, budget holders should treat any annual figure as site-specific and request a written quote before comparing vendors.

Does Granicus use AI, and does it train on our data?

Granicus ships AI products: GXA, a resident-facing digital agent that answers questions and routes requests, and GXI, which turns constituent interactions into insights. Its AI page states that anonymised learnings are used to inform AI development, while no customer or resident data is used directly in its models or solutions. The exact scope of anonymised data use is not fully spelled out, so buyers should confirm it in contract.

What support does Granicus provide?

Public information is limited. The contact page directs existing customers to a support portal, login help and product status pages. No support phone number, support email address, published service hours or contractual response time appears on the pages reviewed, so SLAs should be negotiated explicitly during procurement.

How long does it take to get value from Granicus?

No implementation timeline is published. Granicus sells multi-product government clouds with vendor professional services, and buyers usually complete procurement and security review first. Plan for a multi-month rollout rather than a same-week deployment, and ask the vendor for a reference timeline for the specific products you intend to buy.