
HourTimesheet
DCAA-compliant time and expense tracking for government contractors
By HourTimesheet · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Small to mid-size government contractors that must keep DCAA-compliant timesheets and stay audit-ready.
- Teams needing daily time-entry reminders, dual employee/supervisor signatures and a timestamped audit trail.
- Companies that want job costing and labor distribution joined to payroll via Gusto, ADP, Paychex or QuickBooks.
- Field and remote crews logging hours and leave from iOS and Android apps with GPS.
Ideal size: 5–500 employees people · Small to mid-size government contractor with DCAA obligations
Not for
- Commercial businesses with no DCAA, FAR/CAS or government cost-accounting obligations.
- Enterprises needing deep PSA/ERP project accounting or a full HCM suite.
- Buyers shopping for AI forecasting or agentic automation, which the vendor does not document as shipping.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–2 weeks with free setup and training
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$2,400/yr
Starts at $96 · Per user, per month, billed monthly, no contract. Basic $8/user/mo with no base fee; With Payroll $14/user/mo plus a $40/mo base fee.
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No minimum seat count stated; month-to-month, cancel any time
Add-on costs
- Expense tracking add-on: $4 / user / month
Company & support
Who is behind HourTimesheet, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneAll plans
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Free support, setup and training are included with every account. Basic plan lists email and phone support; the payroll plan adds priority support. Support email and phone line are published on the contact page.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where HourTimesheet sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- HourTimesheet
- Cenverity
- TimeRewards
- Termly
- Playroll
- FutureFeed
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including HourTimesheet. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What HourTimesheet ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Hour Timesheet is DCAA-compliant timekeeping software for small and mid-size government contractors. It covers daily time entry, leave management, job costing, supervisor approvals and audit trails, with iOS/Android apps and GPS, plus integrations to QuickBooks, ADP, Paychex and embedded Gusto payroll. Pricing is month-to-month at $8 per user per month (Basic) or $14 per user plus a $40 base fee with payroll, and free setup, training and support. The vendor reports 500+ clients and 8,000 users over eight-plus years.
Frequently asked questions
Is Hour Timesheet DCAA compliant?
The vendor describes the product as purpose-built for DCAA requirements, with daily time-entry reminders, employee and supervisor electronic signatures, a detailed audit trail capturing user activity with timestamps and IP addresses, indirect-cost coding (G&A, Overhead, B&P, Business Development) and audit-ready system documentation. DCAA compliance is a property of your configured system and internal controls rather than a certification held by the vendor, so confirm your auditor's expectations during evaluation.
How much does Hour Timesheet cost?
Two month-to-month plans, billed per user. Basic is $8 per user per month with no base fee (100% DCAA-compliant timekeeping, approvals, audit trail, mobile apps, expense tracking, email and phone support). With Payroll is $14 per user per month plus a $40 per month base fee, adding integrated payroll processing, direct deposit, tax filing, W-2s and labor-distribution reporting to the general ledger. Expense tracking is listed as a $4 per user per month add-on. There is no contract and no implementation fee; a 30-day free trial is offered.
What does implementation involve, and is there a setup fee?
The vendor states there is no implementation fee, no $50,000 implementation and no enterprise sales cycle. Every account includes free setup, free training and ongoing support, and the team helps configure job codes, approval workflows and compliance settings so the system is usable from day one. A 30-day free trial with no credit card is available, which keeps time to first value short for small teams.
Which payroll and accounting systems does it integrate with?
The vendor lists bi-directional sync with QuickBooks Online and Desktop, exports of approved timesheet data to ADP and Paychex payroll, and full embedded payroll processing through Gusto. Payroll integration and QuickBooks integration are included in the plans, which removes most double entry between timekeeping and payroll.
Does Hour Timesheet use AI, and does it train models on our data?
No shipped AI capability is documented. The vendor's AI page discusses AI and automation in accounting generally and says AI integration in its own offering is still evolving; it names no AI features, model providers or AI-specific controls. There is also no vendor statement about whether customer data is used to train or improve models, so this should be treated as unknown and confirmed directly with the vendor if AI or data-training terms matter to you.
What support is included?
Support is free on every account and includes email ([email protected]), a phone line (1-888-780-9961), user guides, and free setup and training. The payroll plan adds priority support. No specific support hours or response-time SLA are published, so buyers who need contractual uptime or response commitments should request them during evaluation.