
Hubstaff
Time tracking with productivity insights, project budgets, and automated global payments for distributed teams.
By Hubstaff · HQ Fishers, US · 4.6/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Distributed and hybrid teams that need verified hours and activity data
- Agencies, consultancies and staffing firms billing client hours
- Payroll and finance teams paying contractors in multiple currencies
- Operations leaders who want utilization, capacity and project-cost analytics
- Field teams needing GPS-based time capture
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up or distributed SMB with a remote or contractor-heavy workforce
Not for
- Teams that want a lightweight, no-monitoring timer only
- Organizations that object to activity rates, app/URL tracking or screenshots
- Businesses that only need fixed-fee project accounting
- Very small teams wanting a permanently free plan
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under 2 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,000/yr
Starts at $120 · Per seat, billed monthly or annually; 14-day free trial and 30-day money-back guarantee
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Per seat for anyone who tracks time; free Project Viewer role for report-only viewers
Add-on costs
- Add-ons can be attached to lower-tier plans and are automatically included on higher tiers (add-on pricing not published on the source pages)
Company & support
Who is behind Hubstaff, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Fishers, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The contact page lists support chat and [email protected] as support channels for product questions; plan-specific tiers and response times are not stated.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Hubstaff sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Hubstaff
- Canopy
- BILL
- Plane
- Productive
- Float
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Hubstaff. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Hubstaff ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The homepage states Hubstaff flags unusual activity patterns using machine learning that may indicate inaccurate time records, such as mouse jigglers or scripted activity. No assistant, model-key or AI audit-logging detail is published on the source pages.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Hubstaff is a time tracking and workforce analytics platform for distributed teams: desktop, web, mobile and GPS time capture, optional activity and screenshot monitoring, project budgets and profitability reporting, 20+ reports, and payroll or contractor payments via PayPal, Wise, Payoneer, Deel and Gusto. It is self-serve with a 14-day trial and 30+ integrations, priced per seat, and publishes SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA compliance claims.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free plan, and how long is the trial?
Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans. There is no ongoing free tier, but users who only need to view reports can be given the free Project Viewer role rather than a paid seat.
How does Hubstaff price seats?
Pricing is per seat. The Team plan is quoted at $10 per seat per month, and everyone who tracks time needs a seat. On annual plans, seats added mid-term are prorated; removed seats are not refunded but can be reassigned.
How much implementation effort should we plan for?
Rollout is mostly self-serve: create an account, invite the team, and connect the tools you already use. Hubstaff offers over 30 integrations plus 1-on-1 help and paid-plan onboarding, so most teams can start tracking within days rather than months.
What security and privacy commitments are published?
Hubstaff's security page lists encryption in transit and at rest, access controls, audit logs, continuous backups, a bug bounty program and a 24-hour breach notification procedure, and it references SOC-2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA compliance documentation. Confirm current scope and reports during procurement.
Does Hubstaff detect inaccurate or automated time records?
Yes. The vendor states that machine learning flags unusual activity patterns that may indicate inaccurate time records, such as mouse jigglers or scripted activity, alongside activity rates, app and URL tracking and optional screenshots.
Can Hubstaff pay international contractors directly?
Hubstaff converts approved tracked time into payments through integrations including Payoneer, Wise, PayPal, Deel, Bitwage and Gusto, with configurable pay frequencies and approval workflows from within the app.