Skip to main content
HYCU, Inc. logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2018 · 8 yrs

HYCU

AI Resilience that brings your business back up — one platform to prevent, uncover and recover across 100+ workloads.

By HYCU, Inc. · HQ Boston, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Organizations protecting SaaS systems of record — Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Atlassian, Entra ID, Okta and Box — from one platform.
  • Nutanix, VMware, Dell and hybrid-cloud estates that want backup, migration and disaster recovery under a single console.
  • Teams that need ransomware resilience: WORM targets, air-gapped copies, anomaly and malware detection, and recoverability validation.
  • Buyers consolidating point backup tools to cut vendor count, agents and consoles, and to lower total cost of ownership.
  • Data and AI platform owners protecting DBaaS, data warehouses and vector databases such as BigQuery, RDS, Pinecone and Redis.

Ideal size: 100–5,000 employees people · Mid-market to enterprise with hybrid cloud, SaaS or multi-cloud workloads

Not for

  • Single-workload buyers shopping only for the cheapest endpoint or VM backup.
  • Prospects with no cloud, SaaS or virtualisation footprint — HYCU's value concentrates on hybrid, cloud and SaaS estates.
  • Organizations that need a fully self-serve, card-swipe purchase, since most non-SaaS editions are quote-based.
  • US federal buyers that require FedRAMP authorization today, which HYCU does not list among its certifications.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$24,000/yr

Starts at $27 · Per-user monthly subscription for SaaS apps (e.g. $2.25/user/month for Microsoft 365); annual workload-based quotes for hybrid, cloud, DBaaS and AI data.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.2

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Per-user pricing scales with user count; no minimum seat tier is published.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind HYCU, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2018 · 8 yrs in business
Headquarters
Boston, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support portal at support.hycu.com covers getting started, documentation, downloads, how-to and security advisories. Support line: USA +1-877-447-5774 toll free, international +353 1 264 7086.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where HYCU sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$2k/yr$6k/yr$24k/yr$31k/yr$42k/yr2d6d11d12d14dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyHYCUStrike GraphVirtruJosysBackblazeBlumira

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

HYCU is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • HYCU
  • Strike Graph
  • Virtru
  • Josys
  • Backblaze
  • Blumira
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including HYCU. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNative
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNative
Microsoft 365Native
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What HYCU ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Anomaly detectionAI search

aiR lets teams query their backup estate the way they query a data warehouse, surfacing risk and answers already stored there; anomaly detection is packaged in the upper R-Cloud tiers. No source states which models power these features, how AI activity is logged, or whether customer data is used for model training.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 GDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

HYCU R-Cloud is a data protection platform covering 100+ workloads across SaaS, cloud, on-prem and AI data. It natively backs up Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Atlassian, Entra ID and Okta, adds ransomware defence through WORM targets, air gaps and anomaly detection, and turns backups into a queryable record with aiR. Pricing is per user per month for SaaS apps and workload-based quotes for hybrid, database and vector-database estates.

Frequently asked questions

What does HYCU cost and how is it priced?

Pricing is workload-based. SaaS applications are sold per user per month at published rates such as $2.25 per user per month for Microsoft 365, $4 for the Atlassian and DevOps suites and $1.20 for workforce identity. Hybrid, cloud, DBaaS, data-warehouse and vector-database protection is quoted annually, with flexible workload-based pricing the vendor says lowers total cost of ownership.

How long does it take to get to first protected workload?

HYCU markets quick learning curves and easy operation, and its SaaS editions are deployed from the R-Cloud marketplace without new infrastructure. Customers describe setup as simple and low-maintenance once alerts are configured. Plan on roughly one to two weeks for the first workload and longer for a full multi-suite or hybrid estate rollout.

Which platforms and workloads can HYCU protect?

The R-Cloud marketplace lists 100+ workloads: SaaS systems such as Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Atlassian, Box, iManage and DocuSign; identity platforms including Entra ID, Okta and AWS IAM; cloud and on-prem infrastructure on Nutanix, VMware, Dell, AWS and Google Cloud; file shares and object storage; and DBaaS, data warehouses and vector databases such as BigQuery, Redis and Pinecone.

What security and compliance certifications does HYCU hold?

The compliance page lists SOC 2, ISO 27001:2022, Common Criteria NIAP, DISA STIG, FIPS 140-3, AWS Well Architected and GDPR, and the same page states alignment with PCI, HIPAA and Sarbanes-Oxley. HYCU also states 100 percent data sovereignty, meaning it does not store customer information, and supports WORM targets, air gaps and role-based access control. FedRAMP is not listed.

Does HYCU use AI, and does it train on our data?

HYCU ships aiR, which lets teams query their backup estate to find risk, patterns and answers, and anomaly detection is included in higher R-Cloud tiers. HYCU describes itself as an AI resilience company and protects AI workloads such as vector databases. No vendor page states which model providers are used, how AI activity is logged, or whether customer data is used to train models, so those questions should be put to HYCU directly.

HYCU Review: TTV, TCO & Best Fit (1–2 weeks to value) | Value-Position