
Kaptio
Modern travel technology to simplify the selling and operating of multi-day travel experiences
By Kaptio · HQ Reykjavik, Iceland · 2.5–2.9/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Multi-day tour operators selling adventure, group and fixed-itinerary travel
- Cruise operators running large-scale voyages
- Rail and tailor-made travel specialists building custom itineraries
- Operators that need to send proposals, take deposits and process payments on one platform
Ideal size: Not stated people · Established multi-day travel operators, from scale-ups to large tour and cruise businesses
Not for
- Businesses that do not sell or operate multi-day travel experiences
- Buyers who need a self-serve, price-listed plan, since no public pricing is published
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2–4 weeks
A vendor-led onboarding program or customer-success-led setup, a paid onboarding package, or a migration of the buyer's existing data.
How to start: Through sales
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Est. $1k–$3k/yr from 11 comparable Hospitality & Restaurants tools that publish a price. An estimate, not a quote.
Not published; buyers start with a tech stack assessment
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · computed from our data · price on request
- Annual cost (25%)
- 27–64%
- Time-to-value (25%)
- 43%
- Ease of setup (25%)
- 47%
- Published pricing (13%)
- 25%
- Support (13%)
- 50%
No published price: ranked from the estimated cost range (est. $1k–$3k/yr).
Cost, time-to-value and ease of setup are ranked against other Hospitality & Restaurants tools. Anything not recorded counts as 50%. A cost nobody publishes cannot be known, so the score is a range; lists and charts use its low end.
How the score is builtFull cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Plan limits
Not listed
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Kaptio, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Reykjavik, Iceland
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Resource links in the site footer include an Onboarding Hub, Community and Knowledge Base and Developer Docs. No support hours or response times are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Kaptio sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown (on cost, of those that publish a price), so about half sit on each side of each line. The hatched "On request" strip holds 1 vendor that publishes no price, placed by Days to value only: never on the price scale, so never read as cheap. Not plotted (no values for these axes): Recurly, Triptease, Beds24, Campspot, Channex.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Kaptio
- Recurly
- Triptease
- Beds24
- Campspot
- Channex
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Kaptio. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Kaptio ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
AI Teammates are described as purpose-built AI agents for travel operations that work within defined guardrails, use approved sources and escalate to humans. The homepage links to an upcoming release. No model provider, data-use policy or pricing is stated.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Kaptio is a travel CRM and booking platform for multi-day travel operators, built on Salesforce. It covers selling (proposals, deposits and on-platform payments through Kaptio Pay) and operating (supplier content, availability and reservations) for tours, cruises, rail and tailor-made trips. Its AI Teammates are described as travel-operations agents with guardrails. Pricing is not published and access is sales-led.
Frequently asked questions
Is Kaptio built on Salesforce?
Yes. The homepage says Kaptio is designed to sit on top of Salesforce, and the company history states it started as a Salesforce partner.
What does Kaptio do for travel operators?
It supports selling and operating multi-day travel, including itinerary quoting, proposals, deposits, payments and supplier and availability management. Customer quotes describe faster quote creation and higher conversion.
How much does Kaptio cost?
The sources reviewed do not publish pricing. Buyers begin by requesting an assessment of their current tech stack through the contact form.
Does Kaptio offer AI features?
The homepage describes AI Teammates as purpose-built agents for travel operations, with guardrails and human escalation, and links to an upcoming release. The sources do not name the model provider or state how customer data is used.
Where is Kaptio based?
The company history states it was founded in Reykjavik, Iceland in 2012. Its listed offices are in London, Kopavogur (Iceland) and Vancouver.