
Klarna
Flexible consumer payments, buy-now-pay-later, cards and a money app, plus merchant checkout tools for online and in-store commerce.
By Klarna · HQ Stockholm, Sweden · 4.2/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Retail and ecommerce merchants adding BNPL, pay-in-full or pay-over-time options at checkout
- Brands targeting mobile-first shoppers who want a recognised, trusted payment brand
- Omnichannel retailers wanting one payment brand for online and physical stores
- Consumer-facing teams that want spend insights, cashback and a companion money app
Ideal size: Any size; 1-1,000+ (merchant or consumer) people · Established online or omnichannel retailer
Not for
- B2B or invoice-based sellers that bill on net terms rather than consumer checkout
- Merchants that cannot absorb undisclosed per-transaction payment fees
- Buyers that need a self-hosted or on-premises payment stack
- Procurement teams that require a published, transparent price list before purchase
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Not published; est. weeks for merchant setup
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$0/yr
Starts at $0 · No public platform price list. Consumer app is free, paid consumer memberships (Premium, Max) exist, and merchants pay per-transaction fees under commercial agreements.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not seat-based; merchants are charged per transaction.
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Klarna, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2005 · 21 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Stockholm, Sweden
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Klarna states '24/7 support' on its security page and points customers to a customer service page, but names no specific support channel (phone, email, live chat or portal). The AI assistant is not counted as live chat.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Klarna sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Klarna
- PrestaShop
- Lightspeed Retail
- Manago AI
- Omnisend
- BrightEdge
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Klarna. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Klarna ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Klarna's site states a 24/7 AI assistant that gives instant answers, with human support as a fallback. Its security page describes real-time fraud monitoring powered by machine learning. Both are consumer- and fraud-facing; no source documents a bring-your-own model key or per-action AI audit logging, so keyModel and auditLevel remain unknown.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Klarna is a Swedish fintech and digital bank best known for buy-now-pay-later. Founded in 2005 and NYSE-listed, it serves 120m+ consumers and 1.2m+ merchants with flexible payments, cards, savings, cashback and a money app. For buyers it is a checkout and payments platform rather than seat-based SaaS: no public price list is published, revenue comes from per-transaction merchant fees, and trust posture is documented on its security pages.
Frequently asked questions
What does Klarna cost a merchant?
Klarna publishes no merchant price list on the pages reviewed. The consumer app is free, paid consumer memberships (Premium, Max) exist, and merchants are charged per transaction under commercial agreements. Buyers must contact Klarna for rates, and no implementation fee or seat tier is published.
Is Klarna secure and compliant?
Klarna's security page cites top-level encryption, two-factor authentication, real-time machine-learning fraud monitoring, 150+ fraud prevention specialists and 24/7 support, and says it complies with global data protection standards. It does not name SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or ISO 42001 on the pages reviewed, so those flags are unset.
Does Klarna use AI?
Yes, on its own terms. The site describes a 24/7 AI assistant providing instant answers with human support as a fallback, and the security page describes real-time fraud monitoring powered by machine learning. Neither source documents a customer-supplied model key, a bundled model choice, or per-action AI audit logging.
How long does it take to get value?
Klarna does not publish an implementation timeline. The consumer app works as soon as it is downloaded. Merchant checkout integration effort is not disclosed on the reviewed pages, so time-to-value here is an estimate and should be confirmed during commercial discussions.
Who should choose Klarna?
Retail and ecommerce merchants selling to consumers in Klarna's supported markets, especially those wanting BNPL and mobile-first checkout, or a single payment brand across online and physical stores. It is a poor fit for B2B invoicing, net-terms sales, or buyers who need a published per-seat price list before purchase.
Which platforms does Klarna integrate with?
No integrations with Salesforce, AWS, Snowflake, HubSpot, Microsoft 365, Slack or SAP are documented on the pages reviewed, and no MCP server or public developer API is described there. Klarna is best understood as a payments acceptance layer at checkout rather than an app that lives inside those platforms.