
LoyaltyLion
Grow repeat purchases, increase lifetime value and unlock a new revenue stream.
By LoyaltyLion · HQ London, United Kingdom · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Shopify and Shopify Plus DTC brands that want more revenue from customers they already have
- Beauty, fashion, food & beverage and home brands running points, VIP tiers, challenges and referrals
- Teams that need loyalty data pushed into Klaviyo, HubSpot, Gorgias, Zendesk, Attentive and other martech tools
- Retailers selling online and in-store that need points earned and redeemed through Shopify POS
- Brands that want a strategic loyalty partner, with reviews and optimisation as they scale
Ideal size: 5–500 people · Growing DTC or omnichannel retail brand on Shopify with an existing retention, CRM or lifecycle-marketing function
Not for
- Merchants on non-Shopify platforms who want an out-of-the-box fit
- B2B or non-transactional businesses with no ecommerce order volume to reward
- Buyers who need marketplace-agnostic, app-native loyalty out of the box
- Small teams that cannot absorb volume-based pricing as order counts grow
- Commerce businesses with no repeat-purchase dynamic to optimise
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–3 weeks from Shopify app install
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$2,388/yr
Starts at $2,388 · Priced by average monthly order volume: Classic $199/month, Advanced and Plus custom-quoted, plus a free plan for stores under 400 orders/month.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat tiers — plans are tiered by monthly order volume, from 500 up to 1M+ orders per month.
Add-on costs
- Dynamic VIP tiers are an optional add-on on the Classic plan
- Loyalty Pass (Apple/Google Wallet) is an optional paid add-on on every plan
Company & support
Who is behind LoyaltyLion, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists 'fast live chat and email support' as a key feature with every plan; more advanced plans add access to dedicated CSMs and account managers.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where LoyaltyLion sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- LoyaltyLion
- Smile.io
- Omnisend
- Loop Returns
- Ecwid
- Rebuy
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including LoyaltyLion. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What LoyaltyLion ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
LoyaltyLion AI analyses Shopify sales patterns and recommends rewards, discounts and optimal campaign timing, drawing on 250m+ shopper insights. Programs can also be connected to Claude or another MCP-capable AI assistant to ask questions about program configuration and performance. AI Campaigns are only available on the Plus plan.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Anthropic
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
LoyaltyLion is a customer loyalty and rewards platform built for Shopify and Shopify Plus merchants. It combines points and rewards, referrals, VIP tiers, challenges, analytics and AI-driven campaign recommendations, with 100+ integrations into email, SMS, helpdesk and subscription tools. Pricing starts at $199/month on the Classic plan and scales with monthly order volume, with a free plan for smaller stores. Founded in 2012 and headquartered in London, the vendor reports 12,000+ active rewards programs and use by 250m+ loyalty members.
Frequently asked questions
How does LoyaltyLion price its plans, and what does 'custom' mean?
Pricing is based on the average number of orders your store processes each month, so cost scales with order volume rather than seats. Classic starts at $199/month for 500 orders per month. Advanced and Plus are custom-quoted: Advanced adds VIP tiers, product-page points, multilingual translations and Shopify POS across multiple locations; Plus adds AI Campaigns, automated Flows, advanced Klaviyo Events and quarterly strategic reviews. There is also a free plan for stores processing 400 orders or fewer per month, and a 14-day free trial via the Shopify App Store. Exceeding your contracted order threshold is only acted on if you go more than 25% over on a three-month average.
Is LoyaltyLion suitable for a business that is not on Shopify?
The platform is marketed as built exclusively for Shopify and Shopify Plus, and that is where the deepest features sit, including points on product pages, the Shopify Plus checkout extension for redeeming points at checkout, gift-card rewards, Shopify Flow connectors, metafield sync and Shopify POS for in-store earning and redemption. Installation guides also exist for Adobe Commerce 2 (formerly Magento 2) and for custom platforms using the LoyaltyLion API, SDK and Headless API. If your commerce stack is neither Shopify nor something you can build against with APIs, the out-of-the-box fit is weak.
How quickly can we launch, and what implementation effort is required?
LoyaltyLion is a Shopify app install, so a new programme can go live quickly, and every plan includes a dedicated onboarding specialist plus a branded loyalty page built for you. Website configuration typically requires theme edit access so LoyaltyLion can insert code snippets and scripts, and data can be pushed to Shopify customer metafields for Classic plans and above. Migration from another loyalty provider is handled with vendor assistance importing existing customer data; one published case study reports migrating a brand in 54 days. There is no mandatory implementation fee stated on the pricing page.
What AI does LoyaltyLion actually ship today?
LoyaltyLion AI analyses Shopify sales patterns and recommends which strategies, rewards and campaign timings will drive the greatest revenue impact, informed by the vendor's 250m+ shopper dataset. AI Campaigns recommend the events, reward discounts and birthday rewards most likely to accelerate revenue, and are available on the Plus plan. Separately, you can connect your loyalty programme to Claude or any other AI assistant that supports MCP and ask questions about programme configuration and performance; the pricing page lists this connection as a key feature with every plan. Pricing, model sourcing and AI audit detail beyond this are not stated on public vendor pages.
Is LoyaltyLion secure and compliant enough for enterprise procurement?
The vendor operates a public security page with a security overview, a responsible vulnerability disclosure programme, terms of service, a privacy and cookie policy and a published sub-processor list. LoyaltyLion states it holds a SOC 2 Type I attestation covering security, processing integrity, availability, confidentiality and privacy. Certification claims beyond SOC 2, such as ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP or AI-specific governance certifications, are not claimed on the security page, so buyers in regulated sectors should confirm requirements directly before signing.
What support is included after launch?
Every plan includes fast live chat and email support plus access to the LoyaltyLion help centre and technical documentation. All plans also get a dedicated onboarding specialist, and the vendor states it continues monitoring your programme and suggesting improvements regardless of plan. More advanced plans add access to dedicated customer success managers and account managers, with performance reviews twice yearly on Advanced (on request) and quarterly reviews and optimisation recommendations on Plus. Support hours and formal response-time SLAs are not published on the vendor's pages.