
Lumos
The autonomous identity platform: agents that continuously govern access for every human, machine and AI.
By Lumos · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Security and IT teams automating access reviews and SOX/SOC 2 evidence collection
- Organizations that must govern non-human identities, API keys and service accounts
- Companies moving from standing privileges to just-in-time access and lifecycle automation
- Enterprises adding AI agent and MCP server governance on top of an existing IGA stack
- Fast-scaling tech companies that want self-service app access for employees
Ideal size: 1,000+ employees people · Mid-market to enterprise with an existing IdP, HRIS and compliance program
Not for
- Very small businesses without dedicated IT or security staff
- Buyers who require published self-serve pricing before speaking to sales
- Teams looking for a pure SaaS-spend or procurement management tool
- Organizations unwilling to let agents act on identity systems
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under 90 days
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Quote-based; no public price list. The vendor promotes a free identity assessment and a demo, so pricing is scoped per deployment.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Lumos, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The site links to Docs and a Resources Library; no support plan, SLA or service-hours page was published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Lumos sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Lumos
- Taktile
- GitGuardian
- Island
- Clever
- Bugcrowd
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Lumos. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Lumos ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Albus, described as the AI core of Lumos, powers named agents: Access Review, Access Request, NHI Owner Hunter, Role Mining, Agent Ownership Finder and Entitlement Analyst. They run access reviews, grant and revoke time-bound access, find dormant or over-scoped machine identities, propose roles and translate permissions into plain English.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Lumos is an autonomous identity governance platform. Its Albus AI core and packaged agents run access reviews, just-in-time access, lifecycle (JML) automation, role mining, and non-human identity and MCP server governance, connecting to 300+ SaaS, identity, cloud, database and on-prem systems. Customers such as Pinterest, GitLab, Chegg and Netskope report large cuts in standing access and IT tickets. Pricing is quote-based and deployments are described as landing inside 90 days.
Frequently asked questions
What does Lumos actually do?
Lumos governs identity for humans, non-human identities and AI agents. Agents run access reviews, grant and revoke just-in-time access, handle joiner-mover-leaver lifecycle events, mine roles, and discover and own non-human identities and MCP servers. It can augment an existing identity system with a single use case or act as a full identity governance platform.
How is Lumos priced?
Lumos does not publish a price list. The pricing page instead offers a free identity assessment and a demo form, which suggests pricing is scoped to identity volume, connectors and modules. Buyers should expect a sales cycle and a custom quote rather than self-serve checkout.
How long does implementation take?
One published customer case study (Checkr) describes rapid deployment in less than 90 days. The integrations page claims apps can be connected 'in minutes, not months' and the vendor offers 300+ ready connectors plus a Connector SDK for custom and on-prem systems.
Does Lumos govern AI agents and MCP servers?
Yes. Lumos markets an MCP Governance capability that discovers MCP servers connected across the organization, catalogues the tools and data each exposes, flags unapproved servers and builds policy so agents cannot take unapproved actions. It also catalogs AI agents and assigns each a human owner.
Do we have to replace our existing IGA tool?
The vendor positions Lumos as either an augmentation or a modernization path: you can adopt one use case, such as access reviews or non-human identity governance, alongside your current system, or consolidate the whole identity program onto the platform.
What systems does Lumos integrate with?
The integrations library lists 300+ ready connectors across HRIS, SaaS applications, identity providers, developer tools, databases, and ticketing and messaging, including Active Directory, ADP Workforce Now and 1Password, plus a Connector SDK and an AI-assisted integration builder for anything not covered.