Skip to main content
Okta, Inc. logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2009 · 17 yrs

Okta

Secure identity for employees, customers, partners and AI agents from one platform

By Okta, Inc. · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Enterprises consolidating SSO, adaptive MFA and directory into one identity platform
  • Regulated organizations needing access reviews, privileged access and audit-ready governance
  • Companies securing customer-facing apps with Okta Customer Identity or Auth0
  • Teams bringing AI agents, service accounts and non-human identities under existing controls
  • Global organizations that need local support coverage across many countries

Ideal size: 500-10,000+ employees people · Mid-market to enterprise with a dedicated identity or security team

Not for

  • Very small teams that only want a basic SSO widget and want to avoid a $1,500 annual minimum
  • Buyers who require fully self-serve list pricing, since Professional and Enterprise suites are quote-only
  • Organizations unwilling to invest time in directory and application integration
  • Air-gapped or on-premises-only environments with no cloud identity dependency

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

30-day free trial; 2-6 weeks to first rollout

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$102,000/yr

Starts at $1,500 · Per user, per month, billed annually. Workforce Starter $6 and Essentials $17; $1,500 annual contract minimum. Customer Identity from $3,000/month plus usage-based add-ons.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.2

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Workforce Identity requires a $1,500 annual contract minimum; suite products share one subscription count.

Add-on costs

  • Adaptive MFA, Device Access, API Access Management, Secure Partner Access and Access Gateway are add-ons on lower suites.
  • Privileged Access is licensed by Resource Units; one Resource Unit covers two Privileged Access users.
  • Customer Identity Enterprise base platform from $3,000/month, plus usage-based add-ons such as DynamicScale.
  • Premier Success Plans are purchased separately for hands-on support and technical account management.

Company & support

Who is behind Okta, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2009 · 17 yrs in business
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

All suites include introductory training and online support, with the pricing FAQ stating availability of 24 hours per day, five days per week. Premier Success Plans (Gold) add technical account management and are sold separately.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Okta sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$19k/yr$22k/yr$24k/yr$57k/yr$130k/yr11d21d30d31d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyOktaSAI360JosysAkeylessSnykTrend Micro

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Okta is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Okta
  • SAI360
  • Josys
  • Akeyless
  • Snyk
  • Trend Micro
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Okta. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceIntegration
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotIntegration
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackIntegration

AI & MCP readiness

What Okta ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI governance toolingAnomaly detection

Okta for AI Agents provides a control plane to discover, onboard, protect and govern AI agents, including verifying agent identity, setting permissions and auditing automated actions. Identity Threat Protection uses Okta AI to detect and respond to identity-based threats in real time. No reviewed source states bundled or customer-supplied model keys, or exportable per-action AI logs.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Okta is an enterprise identity and access management platform covering workforce, customer, partner and AI agent identities. Suite plans bundle SSO, adaptive MFA, lifecycle management, identity governance, privileged access and identity threat protection, sold per user per month, billed annually, with a $1,500 contract minimum. The Okta Integration Network lists 8,000+ pre-built integrations, and customers include two-thirds of the Fortune 100.

Frequently asked questions

How is Okta priced?

Workforce Identity is sold as suites on a per-user, per-month basis billed annually: Starter from $6 per user per month and Essentials from $17 per user per month, with a $1,500 annual contract minimum. Professional and Enterprise suites require a custom quote. Customer Identity requires an annual contract starting with an Enterprise base platform from $3,000 per month plus usage-based add-ons. Enterprise and Professional tiers are quote-only, so budget a sales cycle.

How long does it take to get value from Okta?

Okta offers a 30-day free trial so teams can evaluate capabilities self-serve, and single sign-on is usually the first production workload. Full value depends on directory integration, application onboarding and how much governance and privileged access scope you add. Most organizations phase the rollout: SSO first, then MFA, then lifecycle management and identity governance.

What support is included with an Okta suite?

All suites include introductory training and online support, which Okta's pricing FAQ describes as available 24 hours per day, five days per week, plus the Help Center and the Okta Community. For more complex environments, Premier Success Plans and Gold Premier Success Plans add technical account management and are purchased separately.

Does Okta secure AI agents?

Yes. Okta for AI Agents is positioned as a control plane to discover, onboard, protect and govern AI agents, including verifying agent identity, establishing permissions and auditing automated actions. Identity Threat Protection uses Okta AI to detect and automatically respond to identity-based threats in real time. No reviewed source states whether customers supply their own model keys.

Can we buy individual Okta products instead of a full suite?

Yes. Okta states that almost all products can be purchased individually or added to any suite, and capabilities such as Adaptive MFA, Device Access, API Access Management and Access Gateway are sold as add-ons on lower suites. A few exceptions apply for Workflows, Privileged Access and machine-to-machine tokens, which are licensed differently.