
OpenGov
The AI platform that connects every department for cities, counties and state agencies.
By OpenGov Inc. · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- US cities, counties, townships, special districts and state agencies replacing spreadsheets or disconnected legacy systems with one platform
- Finance and budget teams that want budgeting, financial management, reporting and transparency in one connected system
- Permitting, licensing and code enforcement departments moving paper processes online for residents and businesses
- Public works and utility teams coordinating asset management, inspections and work orders across departments
- Procurement and grants teams that need solicitation, contract and compliance workflows built for government rules
Ideal size: 50–1,000+ agency staff people · Multi-department agency with an IT/security review and annual budget cycle
Not for
- Private-sector companies; the platform is built exclusively for state and local government workflows
- Agencies that need only one narrow point solution rather than a connected multi-module platform
- Buyers wanting a free, self-serve or instant-signup product; deals run through sales and a formal implementation
- Teams that cannot commit staff time to a three-to-six-month phased implementation project
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
3–6 months, phased
~90 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Quote-based annual subscription; pricing is not published. Scope reflects modules, agency size and implementation services.
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; scoped per agency
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind OpenGov, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- San Francisco, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsPlan not stated
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-sitePlan not stated
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Support comes bundled with the engagement: professional services, customer success managers, on-site demos and training, plus an online community of local government peers. The Help Center and resource center handle self-serve questions; no support SLA or service hours are published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where OpenGov sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- OpenGov
- Submittable
- Skyward
- Edmunds GovTech
- Ellucian
- ClearGov
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including OpenGov. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What OpenGov ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
OG Assist is the documented AI assistant: it answers questions over the agency's own data, respects user permissions and returns citable sources (for example summarizing permit data or finding budget information). No model provider, billing model or training-data statement is published.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
OpenGov sells an AI-native public service platform built only for US state and local government: finance/ERP, budgeting, permitting, procurement, public works, HR, grants, utility billing and 311 in one connected system. It claims 2,000+ government customers and 4,500+ implementations, SOC 2 Type II plus GovRAMP/TX-RAMP, and AWS hosting. Deployments usually run three to six months through a phased professional-services rollout. Pricing is quote-based, not published. OG Assist is the embedded AI assistant.
Frequently asked questions
How long does an OpenGov implementation take?
OpenGov states that implementation timelines vary by product and organisational complexity and typically range from three to six months. The company uses a phased approach that delivers value at each stage rather than one big launch date, led by a dedicated Professional Services team working from a playbook built on 4,500+ government implementations. Milestones and expectations are set before work begins.
Is OpenGov's pricing published?
No. Pricing is quote-based and scoped to the modules, agency size and services you buy, so no list price or per-seat rate is published. OpenGov's public customer filters reference agency budget bands from under $10M to over $5B, but those describe customer budgets, not software cost. Expect a sales cycle and a custom proposal; treat third-party price figures as estimates rather than vendor quotes.
Does OpenGov meet government security and compliance requirements?
OpenGov publishes SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, GovRAMP, TX-RAMP, AZ-RAMP, GDPR, CCPA/CPRA and VPAT on its Trust Center. It follows the NIST Cybersecurity Framework with NIST 800-53-based policies, encrypts data with TLS 1.2+ in transit and AES-256 at rest, and supports SAML 2.0 identity providers. Hosting is AWS in US regions, inheriting AWS's FedRAMP-authorized physical controls. OpenGov does not claim FedRAMP authorisation for its own application layer, so federal buyers should verify separately.
What AI does OpenGov include?
The documented AI feature is OG Assist, an assistant that works over the agency's own data and permissions and returns answers with citable sources, for example summarising permit data or finding budget information. OpenGov markets the Public Service Platform as AI-native, with AI embedded across finance, permitting, budgeting and procurement. The vendor does not publish which model providers it uses, how AI is billed, whether AI actions are logged, or whether customer data trains models.
Which agencies use OpenGov?
OpenGov says 2,000+ governments run mission-critical operations on the platform, covering roughly one in three people in the US. Agency types include cities, counties, townships, towns, special districts, school districts, utilities and state agencies, from small towns to large counties. Named customer references include Austin, San Antonio, Phoenix, Los Angeles, Orlando, Kansas City and the State of Rhode Island.
Does OpenGov support single sign-on and enterprise identity?
Yes. OpenGov provides centralised identity and authentication across its cloud platform and supports integration with any SAML 2.0 compliant enterprise identity provider, including both IdP-initiated and SP-initiated flows. On OpenGov's side, remote administrative access is time-bound, fully audited and requires multi-factor authentication. Details are published on the vendor's security page.