
PagerDuty
AI-first operations platform for incident management, on-call response and automated remediation
By PagerDuty, Inc. · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Engineering and SRE teams running 24/7 on-call incident response
- Enterprises needing incident workflows across 750+ monitoring, ITSM and chat tools
- Teams wanting AI agents to detect, triage, diagnose and fix incidents
- Companies consolidating alerting, on-call scheduling and post-incident reviews
- Organizations needing SSO, audit trails and SOC 2 / ISO 27001 / FedRAMP evidence
Ideal size: 20-500+ engineers people · Scale-up or enterprise with formal on-call and incident processes
Not for
- Small teams with no production on-call or incident requirements
- Business teams looking for a general-purpose project or task manager
- Buyers wanting a fully free tool - the free tier caps at 5 users and 1 schedule
- Teams unwilling to buy credit packs for AI actions above plan limits
- Cost-sensitive buyers who only need simple email alerting
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under 30 days (14-day free trial)
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$12,000/yr
Starts at $2,800 · Platform fee with included seats, events and AI actions plus credit packs; per-user/month option on Incident Management plans
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free 5 users; Starter 10 seats; Essential 20; Plus 40; Ultimate 500; Professional sold per user
Add-on costs
- AIOps
- PagerDuty Advance (generative AI) credits
- Runbook Automation
- Status Pages
- Live Call Routing
- Gold Services and Expert Services
- PagerDuty University live trainings and certifications
Company & support
Who is behind PagerDuty, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- San Francisco, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPaid plans
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing lists Knowledge Base & Community on all plans; Standard Email & Chat Support starts on paid plans (not Free). Gold Services and Expert Services are paid add-ons, and Expert Services is required on Plus and Ultimate.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where PagerDuty sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- PagerDuty
- BetterCloud
- Hevo Data
- Notion
- Hex
- Templafy
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including PagerDuty. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What PagerDuty ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Sources describe agentic features (SRE, Scribe, Shift and Insights agents) plus AI-generated post-incident reviews and ML-based alert grouping. PagerDuty Advance generative AI and AIOps are sold separately: AI consumption is billed via credits on Professional and above.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Never trains on your data
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
PagerDuty is an AI-first operations platform for incident management: alerting, on-call scheduling, escalation, incident workflows, status communication and post-incident reviews, supported by SRE, Scribe, Shift and Insights agents. It integrates with 750+ tools including Slack, Teams, AWS, ServiceNow and Jira, and exposes open APIs and MCP. Entry pricing is a $2,800/year platform fee or $21 per user per month, with AI consumption sold as credit packs. About 30,000 organizations use it, including 70% of the Fortune 100.
Frequently asked questions
What does PagerDuty cost for a mid-size engineering team?
PagerDuty publishes a Starter platform fee of $2,800 per year and an Essential platform fee of $12,000 per year for its PD Reliability Platform, each with included seats, signal events and AI actions that can be topped up with credit packs. Incident Management is also sold per user: Free (up to 5 users) and Professional at $21 per user per month billed annually. Plus and Ultimate enterprise tiers are quoted by sales. Mid-market deals often land in the low five figures annually once AI credits and add-ons such as AIOps are included.
How quickly can we get value from PagerDuty?
Most teams can be alerting within days. PagerDuty advertises a 14-day free trial, a free tier for a single team, and immediate time-to-value with no training or new infrastructure for its AI. A customer story describes onboarding a team in 15-20 minutes. Full value, including 750+ integrations, automated incident workflows, AIOps noise reduction and analytics, generally takes a few weeks of configuration. Enterprise tiers may require Expert Services.
Does PagerDuty support MCP and AI agents?
Yes. PagerDuty documents an MCP (Model Context Protocol) integration, describing MCP as the preferred way to connect AI-enabled tools to PagerDuty data and actions, alongside open APIs and an Anthropic Claude connector. Its agents include the SRE Agent (detect, triage, diagnose, fix), Scribe Agent (documentation and postmortems), Shift Agent (on-call handoffs) and Insights Agent (trend analysis).
Is our data used to train PagerDuty's AI models?
PagerDuty's AI page states that customers get controls and choice over how their data is processed for generative AI features, and that currently no customer data is used for training purposes. It says it will offer customer choice on whether data may be used for training. Ask for the PagerDuty Advance AI Disclosure for details on the third-party models used.
What security and compliance certifications does PagerDuty hold?
The PagerDuty security page states SOC 2 Type II examinations, ISO 27001 certification and FedRAMP authorization at the Low baseline, plus third-party data centers complying with SOC 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS, mandatory annual information security training, and a documented security incident response process. HIPAA and ISO 42001 are not claimed on that page.
What support is included?
The pricing table lists Knowledge Base and Community on every plan, with Standard Email & Chat support starting on paid plans (not on Free). Gold Services, Expert Services and live training/certification are paid add-ons, and Expert Services is a required add-on on Plus and Ultimate. PagerDuty does not publish a 24/7 support SLA or response-time commitment, and its public phone number is for sales.