
Proofpoint
Human- and AI-centric cybersecurity: protect people, defend data, and govern AI across email, cloud, and collaboration.
By Proofpoint, Inc. · HQ Sunnyvale, US · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Large enterprises needing email, collaboration, data and AI security from one vendor (80+ of the Fortune 100 are customers)
- Security and risk teams that must discover and govern employee, agent and shadow-AI activity, including MCP servers
- Organizations that need a defensible audit trail of AI prompts and multi-step agent workflows for boards and regulators
- Firms protecting sensitive data and communications across storage, access, usage and movement
Ideal size: 500–10,000+ people · Enterprise or regulated organization with a dedicated security team
Not for
- Small teams wanting self-serve signup and published per-seat pricing
- Buyers looking for a single-purpose, low-cost email filter
- Companies without dedicated security staff to run and tune an enterprise platform
- Startups that need to evaluate and buy in days without a sales cycle
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Typically 2–6 weeks for first deployment
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
On request
Quote-based enterprise licensing; no public list pricing on the vendor site
Implementation Friction
4/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not published; negotiated per user or volume through sales
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Proofpoint, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Sunnyvale, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
The contact page routes new enquiries to chat, phone or a form handled by sales, and directs current customers to log in to the Product Support Portal. No support hours or response SLA are published on the pages reviewed.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Proofpoint sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Proofpoint
- Jumio
- Alloy
- Fenergo
- Abrigo
- Hawk
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Proofpoint. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Proofpoint ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The vendor pages describe AI security rather than a general copilot: unified discovery of AI apps, users, agents, MCP servers and shadow AI, context-aware runtime policy enforcement across prompts, agent actions and app behavior, and a full audit trail from single prompts to multi-step agent workflows. No page reviewed names the underlying models or key handling.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Full audit trail
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Proofpoint is an enterprise cybersecurity vendor focused on human- and AI-centric protection: email and collaboration security, data security, and AI security that discovers AI apps, agents and MCP servers, enforces runtime policy and produces an audit trail. It reports 3.4M+ customers and 80+ of the Fortune 100. Pricing is quote-based and not published, and deployments suit large, regulated organizations with dedicated security teams.
Frequently asked questions
What does Proofpoint actually cover?
The vendor describes three pillars: collaboration security for people and AI agents across email and other channels, data security with continuous visibility and control over storage, access, usage and movement of sensitive data, and AI security that discovers AI apps, agents, MCP servers and shadow AI, enforces runtime policy and produces an audit trail.
How is Proofpoint priced?
Pricing is not published. The site pushes buyers to request a demo and be contacted by a specialist, so expect a quote-based annual enterprise agreement sized by users or volume. Budget for a paid pilot and for internal deployment effort rather than a self-serve subscription.
Does Proofpoint use AI, and does it train on our data?
The reviewed pages describe AI security capabilities, but they do not state which model providers are used, whether customers can bring their own keys, or whether customer data is used to train models. Treat those as open questions and get written answers, plus the current data processing agreement, before signing.
What support will we get?
Current customers are directed to a Product Support Portal. The public contact page channels chat, phone and forms to sales for new enquiries. No public support hours or response-time SLA appear on the pages reviewed, so negotiate support tiers and escalation paths in the contract.
Can it help with our regulatory obligations?
The trust center publishes guidance on DORA, SEC Regulation S-P and global privacy frameworks, plus data processing agreements, subprocessor locations and technical and organizational measures. Those artifacts support audits, but confirm the specific certifications and contractual commitments your regulator expects directly with the vendor.