Skip to main content
Skwid Inc. (dba Salient) logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2023 · 3 yrs

Salient

AI agents for consumer lending collections, servicing and compliance.

By Skwid Inc. (dba Salient) · 4.0/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Consumer lenders and servicers running high-volume collections and servicing calls
  • Auto finance and captive lenders replacing manual dialer campaigns
  • Compliance and risk leaders who must evidence FDCPA, TCPA and CFPB adherence
  • Card issuers and lenders handling payment disputes and charge-offs
  • Insurers and lenders automating total-loss and GAP claim workflows

Ideal size: 100+ (servicing/collections orgs) people · Regulated US lender with an established compliance and servicing function

Not for

  • Wealth management, brokerage, or capital-markets firms
  • Commercial or SMB lenders with little consumer servicing volume
  • Teams that want a self-serve, no-touch tool with no vendor co-design
  • Lenders operating outside US federal and state supervision

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About 60 days to measurable results

~60 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Not published; enterprise agreements scoped per lender deployment. No public self-serve pricing or free tier.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.0

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not listed

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Salient, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2023 · 3 yrs in business
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsNot listed
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support page routes failures, incidents and complaints to a dedicated client support specialist and [email protected]. No plan tiers, support hours or response SLA are stated.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Salient sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$1/yr27d33d38d69d100dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceySalientEllipticLucinityClarity AIMiddeskRed Oak

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

Salient is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Salient
  • Elliptic
  • Lucinity
  • Clarity AI
  • Middesk
  • Red Oak
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Salient. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Salient ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI-native
Agentic workflowsNLP automationAI governance tooling

Salient ships named agents (Taylor for inbound/outbound collections calls, Marshall for automated audit, Flyn for insurance claims, Alex for payment disputes, Melanie for charge-offs). They are described as running whole workflows end to end, not as chat assistants, with borrower-level memory and FDCPA, TCPA and CFPB rules built into call flows. Marshall enforces controls against a live law…

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Never trains on your data
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Full audit trail

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Salient (Skwid Inc.) builds AI agents for US consumer lending: collections and servicing calls, compliance audit, insurance claims, payment disputes, and charge-offs. Founded Q3 2023 and backed by Andreessen Horowitz, Matrix and Y Combinator with $75M raised, it serves large lenders including Westlake Financial and American Credit Acceptance. Its agents run whole workflows rather than chat, with FDCPA, TCPA and CFPB compliance built in and exam-ready audit trails. Pricing is not published; deployments are co-designed enterprise pilots.

Frequently asked questions

What does Salient actually automate for a lender?

Salient ships several production agents. Taylor handles inbound and outbound collections and servicing calls, Marshall performs automated audit against a repository of state and federal law, Flyn automates insurance claims such as GAP and total-loss, Alex handles payment disputes, and Melanie covers charge-offs. The vendor describes them as workflow agents that gather data, check rules, update systems and produce documentation rather than as chat assistants.

How does Salient handle FDCPA, TCPA and CFPB compliance?

Compliance is the core positioning. Taylor 2.0 is marketed as handling collections calls with native FDCPA, TCPA and CFPB compliance built in, and Salient states no human review is required on every call. Marshall enforces controls at the LMS level against a live law repository and covers every interaction and account event rather than a manual sample, producing an exam-ready audit trail on demand. The company says deployments are co-designed with the customer's risk and compliance teams to be pilot- and exam-safe.

What does Salient cost and is there an implementation fee?

Salient does not publish pricing, seat tiers or implementation fees on its website. Commercials appear to be enterprise agreements scoped per lender and per deployment, so pricing, implementation fees and any usage-based components have to be obtained directly from the vendor or its sales team. Treat any budget figure as unverified until you have a written quote.

How long does it take to get to production value?

The published customer evidence points to roughly two months. Westlake Financial deployed Taylor across its outbound collections portfolio to replace manual dialer campaigns, and within 60 days right-party contact rates increased materially and cost per contact fell, without changes to its core servicing system. Salient's team includes forward-deployed engineers who work on customer rollouts, so early phases are vendor-assisted rather than self-serve.

Can auditors and examiners see what the AI did?

Yes, according to the vendor. Marshall enforces controls across every interaction and account event and produces an exam-ready audit trail on demand, which is the capability American Credit Acceptance cites for moving beyond a 3% manual sample rate ahead of a regulatory examination. Salient's public site also shows sessions being logged and an audit trail saved at the close of a call.