Skip to main content
Tenable Holdings, Inc. logo
Risk & ComplianceFounded 2002 · 24 yrs

Tenable

AI-powered exposure management platform that unifies visibility, insight and action across the entire attack surface.

By Tenable Holdings, Inc. · HQ Columbia, US · 4.4/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Large enterprises and government agencies that need one platform to find, prioritise and fix exposures across IT, cloud, identity, OT and AI.
  • Security teams consolidating point vulnerability scanners into risk-based, cross-domain exposure management.
  • Organisations with heavy audit and compliance obligations (TISAX/ENX, EU AI Act alignment) that need evidence-backed reporting.
  • Industrial and critical-infrastructure operators needing passive OT/IoT asset discovery and vulnerability detection.
  • Multi-cloud teams wanting agentless CNAPP/CSPM coverage alongside vulnerability management.

Ideal size: 500+ employees; security team of 5+ people · Mature security programme with a dedicated vulnerability or exposure management owner

Not for

  • Small businesses looking for a free or low-cost standalone vulnerability scanner.
  • Buyers who want instant self-serve signup with published per-seat pricing and no sales cycle.
  • Teams that only ever need a single-domain scanner and no platform consolidation.
  • Organisations unwilling to run agents or credentialed scans across their estate.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

2-4 weeks for platform rollout

~30 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$6,790/yr

Starts at $3,500 · Annual subscription priced by number of assets or FQDNs; multi-year Nessus licences also sold.

Implementation Friction

3/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.4

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Published entry tiers: 100 assets at $3,500/yr, or 5 FQDNs at $3,578/yr; larger estates quoted by Tenable or a partner.

Add-on costs

  • Advanced Support $400/yr: 24x365 phone, email, community and chat support
  • On-Demand Training $275/yr per person (Nessus Fundamentals)
  • Nessus Expert 1-year licence $6,790

Company & support

Who is behind Tenable, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2002 · 24 yrs in business
Headquarters
Columbia, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailPlan not stated
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Tenable says tech support is reachable 24/7 via phone, chat or the Tenable Connect community portal; the Advanced Support add-on ($400/yr) adds 24x365 phone, email, community and chat.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Tenable sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$5k/yr$6k/yr$9k/yr$35k/yr$140k/yr11d21d30d31d33dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyTenableTrend MicroSentinelOneSnykVComplyCohesity

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Tenable is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Tenable
  • Trend Micro
  • SentinelOne
  • Snyk
  • VComply
  • Cohesity
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Tenable. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNative
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Tenable ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Agentic workflowsAI governance tooling

Tenable Hexa AI, the agentic engine of Tenable One, applies Anthropic's Claude to risk prioritisation, remediation orchestration and exposure analysis. Tenable One AI Exposure gives visibility into LLM integrations, shadow AI and AI supply-chain misconfiguration.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Anthropic
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Vendor's key
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Tenable is The Exposure Management Company: one platform to find, prioritise and eliminate cyber exposures across IT, cloud, identity, OT and AI. Founded in 2002 and headquartered in Columbia, Maryland, Tenable serves more than 40,000 customers, including 65% of the Fortune 500. Tenable One unifies vulnerability management, cloud security, identity exposure, attack surface management and OT security, with the Hexa AI agentic engine applying Anthropic's Claude to prioritisation and remediation.

Frequently asked questions

What does Tenable cost?

Tenable publishes entry pricing rather than full list pricing. Tenable One Vulnerability Management starts at $3,500 per year for 100 assets (multi-year terms reduce the annual rate), Tenable One Web App Scanning starts at $3,578 per year for 5 FQDNs, Nessus Professional is $4,790 for one year and Nessus Expert is $6,790 for one year. Larger estates, Tenable One platform bundles and OT or identity modules are quoted by Tenable or a reseller. Advanced Support is a $400 per year add-on.

How long does it take to get value from Tenable?

Smaller deployments move quickly: Nessus and the cloud-based vulnerability management module are self-serve and can be running within days, and the vendor offers free trials of vulnerability management, web app scanning and Nessus. A full Tenable One rollout across IT, cloud, identity and OT typically takes several weeks to a couple of months, because it involves agent or credentialed scan deployment, connector setup and tuning of prioritisation before results are trusted in production.

Does Tenable use AI, and which models power it?

Yes. Tenable Hexa AI is described as an always-on agentic fleet and the agentic engine of Tenable One, used for risk prioritisation, remediation orchestration and exposure analysis. Tenable states it is powered in part by Anthropic's Claude under a strategic partnership. Tenable also sells Tenable One AI Exposure, which maps LLM integrations, shadow AI and AI supply-chain risk. The reviewed pages do not state whether customers can supply their own model keys or how AI features are billed.

Which security certifications does Tenable hold?

The pages reviewed do not itemise certifications. Tenable maintains a trust portal covering the security and compliance of its cloud products, publishes product security advisories with an advisory mailing list and RSS feed, runs a vulnerability disclosure programme with HackerOne, and notes FedRAMP relevance through partner listings such as ServiceNow. Buyers with SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or FedRAMP requirements should confirm current attestations directly with Tenable before contracting.

Is Tenable suitable for small organisations?

It can be, but the fit is narrow. Nessus Professional and Expert are priced and packaged for individual practitioners and small security teams, and the cloud vulnerability management entry tier starts at 100 assets. However, the strategic value of Tenable One, its connectors and its OT, identity and cloud modules shows up mainly at enterprise scale, and the reviewed pages do not publish per-seat self-serve pricing, so small buyers should expect an assisted purchase process.

What support does Tenable provide?

Tenable states that technical support is reachable 24/7 via phone, chat or the Tenable Connect community portal, which also hosts the knowledge base, Q&A discussions and product announcements. Product cases and account management run through account.tenable.com. The Advanced Support add-on, $400 per year on Nessus licences, adds 24x365 phone, email, community and chat support, and Tenable offers a Technical Account Management guide for larger accounts.