
Workable
All-in-one HR software: a complete ATS and HR platform with a native, agentic recruiting AI
By Workable · HQ Boston, USA · 4.7/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- SMB and mid-market teams that want a complete ATS plus core HR — onboarding, time off, records and payroll reporting — in one platform without heavy configuration.
- Companies hiring across borders that need one-click posting to 200+ job boards and multilingual, mobile-friendly applications.
- Talent teams that want an agentic sourcing and screening layer inside the ATS system of record, with humans able to override any call.
- Organisations with their own AI strategy that want to run Workable headless or drive it from their own agents over MCP and REST APIs.
- Buyers who prioritise fast deployment and ease of adoption over deep bespoke customisation.
Ideal size: 20–500 people · SMB or scale-up with a dedicated talent/HR function; often their first or second recruiting system
Not for
- Enterprises that need heavily bespoke workflows or complex multi-entity, industry-specific configuration.
- Companies looking for a full HCM suite with native payroll processing, learning management and benefits administration.
- Buyers with strict data-residency requirements outside the US and EEA.
- Very small teams with little hiring volume: the entry plan lists at about $3,588 per year.
- Organisations that want a permanently free ATS — Workable is paid, with a 15-day trial.
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
2–4 weeks (after the 15-day trial)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$7,188/yr
Starts at $3,588 · Per-company subscription priced by employee band, billed monthly or annually (annual saves about 20%); the AI agent is billed separately by usage credits.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat minimum. Employee bands run from 1–20 up to 1000+. List prices shown: Standard $299/mo, Premier $599/mo, Enterprise $719/mo.
Add-on costs
- Workable Agent AI credits: 5,000 credits for $600 ($0.12/credit), 10,000 for $1,000, 50,000 for $4,750; 3,000 free credits included on paid accounts
- Texting add-on: +$89/mo (Standard plan)
- Video interviews add-on: +$109/mo (Standard plan)
- Assessments add-on: +$59/mo (Standard plan)
- Performance & Engagement add-on: +$39/mo (Standard plan)
Company & support
Who is behind Workable, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Boston, USA
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Homepage states award-winning 24/7 support plus video courses, in-product help and one-on-one training; the help centre hosts guides and Workable Academy. Response-time SLAs and per-plan support tiers beyond 'priority support' are not published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Workable sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Workable
- Factorial
- Veryfi
- Toggl
- FloQast
- Joan
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Workable. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Workable ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Workable describes a native recruiting agent that sources passive candidates from 400M+ profiles, screens every applicant against up to 14 criteria, chats to fill gaps and shortlists with visible reasoning; humans can override. Every agent action is logged, permissioned and reviewable. AI runs on credits bought on top of plan pricing.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Full audit trail
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Workable is a Boston-based all-in-one recruiting and HR platform used by 35,000+ companies. A complete ATS — posting to 200+ job boards, talent CRM, pipelines, interviews, offers and reporting — sits beneath a native agentic AI that sources, screens, chats to and shortlists candidates. Core HR covers onboarding, records, time off, attendance and payroll reporting. Workable is MCP-native and API-open, so customers can drive it headless with their own agents. Plans start at $299/month and the AI agent is billed by usage credits.
Frequently asked questions
What does Workable cost for a mid-market company?
Published list prices are $299/month ($3,588/year) for Standard, $599/month ($7,188/year) for Premier and $719/month ($8,628/year) for Enterprise, sold by employee band; annual billing saves about 20%. On Standard, texting costs +$89/mo, video interviews +$109/mo, assessments +$59/mo and Performance & Engagement +$39/mo; those are included in Premier. Paid accounts start with 3,000 free AI credits.
How is the Workable Agent priced?
AI is usage-based. The agent consumes credits per action: 1 credit each time a candidate is evaluated, 2 credits each time a passive candidate is sourced, and 10 credits each time a candidate interacts with the chat. Bundles are 5,000 credits for $600, 10,000 for $1,000 and 50,000 for $4,750, with larger volumes quoted by sales. Credits expire one year from purchase and are non-refundable; the free trial excludes the agent.
How long does implementation take?
Workable positions itself as fast to implement and easy to adopt, stating that it does not require hour-long training, and the 15-day trial covers the full Standard feature set with no credit card. Buyers should still allow a few weeks to configure pipelines, permissions, integrations and reporting before expecting production value, so a 2–4 week ramp is a reasonable planning assumption.
Can we use our own AI models with Workable?
Yes, at the agent level. Workable describes itself as MCP-native with a documented REST API and webhooks. You can run it headless as a system of record, connect the agentic frameworks you already operate, or point Claude, ChatGPT or your own agent at the MCP endpoints. Agents inherit the same permissions as the human user and every action is logged and reviewable.
What compliance certifications does Workable hold?
The security page lists ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3, with 24/7/365 monitoring of production resources, web application firewalls and CI/CD vulnerability scanning. It also provides GDPR, CCPA, EEO and OFCCP tooling to support customers' own obligations. FedRAMP, HIPAA, CMMC and ISO 42001 are not claimed.
Does Workable train AI models on our candidate data?
Not stated. Workable's privacy page covers storage locations, transfers and sub-processors but does not say whether customer or candidate data is used to train or improve models. Treat this as unconfirmed and settle it contractually, along with retention and deletion terms, before deploying the agent on live candidate pipelines.